11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The first time I tried this recipe, the blondies turned out gooey and delicious, but didn't rise at all and came out flat and very difficult to remove from the pan. Almost had to use a spoon to eat them, although I admit that they were still pretty tasty! It occurred to me that every recipe I've ever used that calls for baking powder also needs a small amount of salt. So the second time, I added 1/4 tsp. of salt, and also used softened instead of melted margarine, creaming it together with the sugar before proceeding. This second batch rose just enough, and they were still gooey and delicious. Another substitution I made was using peanut butter chips instead of chocolate. Thanks for the recipe--I will definitely keep this one on hand!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMama January 21, 2007

These are very rich, gooey, divinely decadent blondies. I, too, added a pinch of salt, and I used Heath bits in place of the mini chips and they turned out exactly as I like them! Very easy and very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs February 04, 2012

YUMMMMMM -- but too sweet. Next time I make these, I will cut the brown sugar to 1 1/4 or 1 1/2 cups and see how that works. I added Valentine M&Ms instead of the chocolate chips. Nice gooey texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sisty Gin February 14, 2013

Very good! I used dark brown sugar and white chocolate chips!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linzi Jordan August 09, 2011

I have to revise my review because they were perfect the next day! It did take 10 extra minutes for mine to bake though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amento March 20, 2011

Fabulous, simply fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IrishEyes.NYC February 16, 2010

Very good and sweet! We will likely cut back on the sugar to at least 1.5 cups next time. A little goes a long way!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klkscanner August 10, 2009

Mmmmmm so very yummy!!! I made these the other day to put into care packages. Thankfully there was one left over that my son and I shared...needless to say I am about to make another batch! :-) I am looking forward to trying some of the other varieties as well as maybe trying some of my own. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dlsarmywife September 13, 2008

These are really good! Chalk-full of chocolate chips and super sweet. I even cut back on the brown sugar. I baked these even less than the directions said to because when I say I like gooey, i mean gooey:)! Will definitely keep this recipe on hand! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christineyy! May 27, 2008

We really enjoyed these. I used brummel & brown for the margarine and white wheat flour. I used just under a cup of regular brown sugar and just under a 1/2 cup splenda brown. These were easy to put together and made a wonderful lunch box addition. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit January 07, 2008
Finally! Blondies Like They Should Be