57 Reviews

perfect! this is the easiest way to cook a rare tenderloin. i followed the recipe exactly and roasted our 5 pound tenderloin for 25 minutes and let it rest for 20 minutes. it was cooked to perfection...pink and juicy. thank you for the recipe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taylortwo April 20, 2003

Cool - this worked perfectly! We usually cook tenderloins on the grill outside, but a rainy cold night forced me to try this. Not sure I'll ever fire up the grill again for a whole tenderloin! This takes the guesswork out of doneness - it just comes out perfectly cooked and tender and tasty - what more is there to say?

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue April 15, 2003

This is definitely a Barefoot Contessa recipe!!! I used this recipe as the star dish for my Valentine's menu and it was terrific. I bought 2.5 pd filet of beef, lathered it with butter and used plenty of salt and pepper to cover all surfaces. I cooked it exactly to 22 minutes and covered as directed. The filet was expensive, but well worth it. Quick, easy and great tasting. I served it with Mean Chef's Mushroom Gravy, Barefoot Contessa's Garlic Roasted Potatoes and Sharlene W's Spinach, Apple and Pecan Salad. The whole menu, including the beef was awesome!!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristina Barry February 13, 2011

Perfect! I used sea salt instead of kosher, and added two cloves of garlic (put through the garlic press) to the rub. The rave reviews made me feel like a Christmas Eve Dinner rockstar! Thanks for the great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarlaP January 02, 2010

This recipe is AWESOME! I cooked a 6.5# tenderloin, but first let it sit at room temperature for 1.5 hours, then rubbed with butter, chopped garlic and dill, and topped with sea salt and coarse ground pepper. I roasted in a preheated 500 degree oven for exactly 28 minutes, tented and let set for 20, and sliced. The thin end of the tenderloin was medium for about 4 inches, then med to med rare for the next 80% of the roast, and rare for the thickest portion. Perfect for everyone! I served it with Lobster Hollandaise, and the rave reviews were wonderful! I will definitely make this every Christmas!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TallGoodCook! December 26, 2009

This is the EXACT recipe that the Barefoot Contessa has on her "Parties" website. Be careful, as others have said on her site, if your oven isn't clean it will be very smokey. For those of you trying this in the Northeast, put on an extra fleese as you'll open the window's and crack the doors. Other than than. It's Fab. and enjoy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebDebR1 December 22, 2010

Oh My Goodness that was so good. The only thing different that I did was used Sea Salt instead of kosher Salt. My company and family loved it! Thank You so very much for this recipe, it will be made again : )

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nascar#88Fan October 26, 2009

Wow!!! This was the easiest and best way I have ever cooked this. I feed 100 people a day and they just absolutly loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisas@MMC May 13, 2009

PERFECT! Needed a good recipe for some tenderloin I found at our store for 3.98/lb if you can believe it. Added onion and garlic powder to the butter and rubbed it on. A rule of thumb to get the perfect results with any large piece of roasted meat is to bring it to room temperature before going into the oven. A 1/2 hr to an hr is usually what it takes. Oh, and the "aujus" in the foil after this had sat for 1/2 hr was perfect as well. No other toppings or sauces needed. Served with baked sweet potatoes and roasted asparagus.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamaindakitchen April 16, 2009

This was absolutely perfect. It was the first time I've ever cooked a whole tenderloin and I couldn't have been happier with the results. The only thing I did different was added some garlic powder. Fantastic. It was cooked perfectly medium rare. Thank you so much for a great way to cook this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa R #2 February 09, 2009
Fillet of Beef (Beef Tenderloin Whole)