Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fillet of Beef (Beef Tenderloin Whole) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fillet of Beef (Beef Tenderloin Whole)

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2003

      perfect! this is the easiest way to cook a rare tenderloin. i followed the recipe exactly and roasted our 5 pound tenderloin for 25 minutes and let it rest for 20 minutes. it was cooked to perfection...pink and juicy. thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2003

      Cool - this worked perfectly! We usually cook tenderloins on the grill outside, but a rainy cold night forced me to try this. Not sure I'll ever fire up the grill again for a whole tenderloin! This takes the guesswork out of doneness - it just comes out perfectly cooked and tender and tasty - what more is there to say?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      This is definitely a Barefoot Contessa recipe!!! I used this recipe as the star dish for my Valentine's menu and it was terrific. I bought 2.5 pd filet of beef, lathered it with butter and used plenty of salt and pepper to cover all surfaces. I cooked it exactly to 22 minutes and covered as directed. The filet was expensive, but well worth it. Quick, easy and great tasting. I served it with Mean Chef's Mushroom Gravy, Barefoot Contessa's Garlic Roasted Potatoes and Sharlene W's Spinach, Apple and Pecan Salad. The whole menu, including the beef was awesome!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Perfect! I used sea salt instead of kosher, and added two cloves of garlic (put through the garlic press) to the rub. The rave reviews made me feel like a Christmas Eve Dinner rockstar! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      This recipe is AWESOME! I cooked a 6.5# tenderloin, but first let it sit at room temperature for 1.5 hours, then rubbed with butter, chopped garlic and dill, and topped with sea salt and coarse ground pepper. I roasted in a preheated 500 degree oven for exactly 28 minutes, tented and let set for 20, and sliced. The thin end of the tenderloin was medium for about 4 inches, then med to med rare for the next 80% of the roast, and rare for the thickest portion. Perfect for everyone! I served it with Lobster Hollandaise, and the rave reviews were wonderful! I will definitely make this every Christmas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      This is the EXACT recipe that the Barefoot Contessa has on her "Parties" website. Be careful, as others have said on her site, if your oven isn't clean it will be very smokey. For those of you trying this in the Northeast, put on an extra fleese as you'll open the window's and crack the doors. Other than than. It's Fab. and enjoy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      Oh My Goodness that was so good. The only thing different that I did was used Sea Salt instead of kosher Salt. My company and family loved it! Thank You so very much for this recipe, it will be made again : )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      Wow!!! This was the easiest and best way I have ever cooked this. I feed 100 people a day and they just absolutly loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      PERFECT! Needed a good recipe for some tenderloin I found at our store for 3.98/lb if you can believe it. Added onion and garlic powder to the butter and rubbed it on. A rule of thumb to get the perfect results with any large piece of roasted meat is to bring it to room temperature before going into the oven. A 1/2 hr to an hr is usually what it takes. Oh, and the "aujus" in the foil after this had sat for 1/2 hr was perfect as well. No other toppings or sauces needed. Served with baked sweet potatoes and roasted asparagus.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      This was absolutely perfect. It was the first time I've ever cooked a whole tenderloin and I couldn't have been happier with the results. The only thing I did different was added some garlic powder. Fantastic. It was cooked perfectly medium rare. Thank you so much for a great way to cook this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      Perfection! We cooked our 5lb beef tenderloin for 25 minutes and it came out looking just like Laryofvt's posted photo - - I would say a perfect medium-rare. We also let the roast rest on the counter for about 2 hours to get it to room temperature before cooking, as Laryofvt had suggested. One last note, this did come out a hair on the rare side for some of our guests (not us, we thought it was perfect). However, next year, we're going to do 2 tenderloins and take ours out after the 25 minute mark and take the other one out at the 30 minute mark. This is now my go-to Christmas dinner recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2003

      Oh! We had this on mother's day and it was so good! Maybe it was just because we got really good meat (very tender- perfect) or because the recipe is so good! It is so simple. Simplicity has its way with recipes sometimes...its crazy! Well, thank you for posting-I hope that I get to have this treat again soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      NEVER COOK BEEF AT 500 degrees!!!!!<br/><br/>It is unhealthy and dangerous to cook food this high. It causes cancer causing chemicals to be created by the chemical reaction at such a high temperature.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      We made this for Christmas dinner - I have no idea how anyone gets the tenderloin done. We roasted a four pound tenderloin for 25 minutes at 500 degrees, tightly rapped with foil and rested for 20 minutes. It was raw inside. It took an additional 40 minutes after all that to get the meat to medium rare. It was finally delicious, but what am I missing on this recipe? My oven thermometer confirmed the temp was correct.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      I made this today for our Christmas dinner with my party potatoes & brocolli, what a feast!
      Never made a whole tenderloin before & followed directions to a T. I was afraid it was going to be too rare for us because I like mine just pink, the ends were well enough done for my husband who likes his meat well done. I almost left it in for another 5 minutes but didn't want to ruin a almost $70 piece of meat. This way the leftovers can be warmed up without being over done. All I can say is perfect, tender & juicy!!! A meal for a King & Queen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      I don't know why I've not rated this earler! We've used this recipe with our own little twist several times. Into the softened butter, we add a few handfuls of crushed garlic, a bit of finely minced rosemary and fine minced thyme. Salt and pepper after trimming and before the butter. Follow cooking directions as written and it's perfect. Thank you for posting this. It's really easy and comes out perfectly every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      We love to use this cooking method but we did change the order slightly- I used a prime rib rub first and then gave it a good coating with olive oil spray. After putting the beef in the roasting pan on a rack, I put slices of chilled unsalted butter on top (like stepping stones). I then cooked it exactly to the time and temp in the recipe. After letting it rest wrapped in foil for 45 minutes, I put it in the fridge and chilled it several hours before slicing. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2011

      Quick, easy and wonderful. Served it with a mushroom gravy, garlic roasted rice pilaf and broccoli. Family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      This is too easy. I make it about 6 times a year. Has turned out perfect each time I follow the time. Which, yes says there have been times I missed the timing boat and not as wonderful results. TRUST the time. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      This was a very delicious tenderloin. I cooked it exactly as instructed except for adding some garlic to the butter. I did a 2 1/2 lb tenderloin. It was perfectly medium rare, tender and juicy; not to mention, EASY! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fillet of Beef (Beef Tenderloin Whole)

    Serving Size: 1 (5 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 27.6
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    94%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 872.6 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    filet of beef

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites