15 Reviews

I would give this more than 5 stars if I could. I made these for a bake sale and was a little leery because I had not made this before. I followed the directions exactly and ended up with the best cupcake I have ever made. I did have to let them sit in the cupcake tins a little longer than 10 minutes, the first two I tried to take out stuck a little, and darn it all, I had to leave them at home. My hubby ate them and said 5 stars. My boss also said 5 stars. Make these cupcakes, you won't be disappointed!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetSueAl April 03, 2006

This recipe was so good, I actually registered so I could give it 5 stars. I followed the recipe very, very closely and benefited a lot from the reviews. Instead of the all-purpose flour, I made a gluten-free substition which worked out well. I also used cup-cake liners to good effect; I did have quite a bit of filling left over and followed the suggestion of one of the reviewers and used it to place on top of the chocolate icing (which was FABULOUS, btw). The filling stayed right in the center. The cake batter was very thin as previously noted. Since I made these gluten-free, I added another 1/2 cup of the gluten-free flour to firm up the batter just a bit. A big thank you to Sandy and to those who took the time to offer suggestions. I'll be making these again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gmazzei June 20, 2012

Absolutely awesome cupcakes! I poured a bit of the batter in each cup, then added 1 T of filling before adding more batter. Iced them while warm, then topped each cupcake with another tablespoon of the wonderful filling. I was able to find some art-deco brown & white cupcake liners, and the plate of these cupcakes was pretty enough to be a centerpiece. Warning: The batter is runny, but I had no problem with it solidifying during baking. No runny issues as mentioned in another review. Be sure to wipe any drops of batter from cupcake pan before baking, b/c the batter does burn easily on the pan. Keeper recipe, thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bugz56 January 10, 2011

These turned out okay. I think it would be better if the coconut filling was added at the end as part of the icing. I'd alos love to puree the pecans a bit more the next time I do it or incorporate some caramel flavours. Still really tasty though, just a little difficult to eat because all the sticky coconut-pecan filling sunk to the bottom for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kahht May 09, 2013

I read some of the reviews, and yes the batter is runny. But that helped the cupcakes stay moist and they baked up fine. I also let them sit longer in the pan. Don't push the filling down, as it will cause it to sink to the bottom, causing them to fall apart.
I took them to work and everyone raved!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef JillieB January 30, 2013

I do think this recipe has great potential! The icing & filling are both fabulous! I found the cake to be a little coarse, though. And, the filling sunk to the bottom & made them stick to the cupcake papers. I'm not quite sure what the solution would be to get the filling to stay "centred" in the cupcake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb April 07, 2012

This recipe produced the moistest, most tender chocolate cake I have ever had. It was simply delicious! Truly "simply" because the recipe could not have been easier to follow. While the batter was very runny, a fool-proof way to get it in the tins without getting the batter everywhere is by using an ice cream scoop to "scoop" the batter into cupcake liners. I had minimal mess and a whole bunch of delicious cupcakes to show off to my family and friends. All were quite impressed, and I will definitely use this recipe again and again.

Thanks a bunch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chautamaki April 11, 2011

Probably the best german chocolate anything that I have ever had. Also, I think I have the solution to some of the runny-ness problems that some people encountered. I baked most of mine in regular sturdy cupcake trays and about 6 in one of those aluminum throw away cupcake tins. The ones in the aluminum tin were runnier (still delicious) and did not pop out of the tin cleanly and beautifully like the others did.
So - dont use aluminum and that should solve the runniness problem. At least it did for me. My non-aluminum cupcakes from this recipe were perfect and AMAZING. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melheartsfood October 14, 2010

I love to bake ,but I had to throw away half of these.this recipe created a big mess .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mexicorufus January 29, 2010

My husband said these were the best thing he has ever had in his life. These were delicious and easy. I followed the directions to a T and yes, the batter was runny, but cooked up just fine. I did not use cups and when I pulled them out they kind of fell apart, but that didn't really matter. After I iced them, I used the left over filling to spinkle on top and also sprinkled extra pecans. I actually took a photo, but can't upload it bc I am not a premium member, you can see it here on my flickr - flickr.com/photos/kelliehatcher/4276041486/ They were absolutely wonderful and amazing and several friends have already asked for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
khatcher January 15, 2010
Filled German Chocolate Cupcakes