Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Filled German Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Filled German Chocolate Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2011

      Absolutely awesome cupcakes! I poured a bit of the batter in each cup, then added 1 T of filling before adding more batter. Iced them while warm, then topped each cupcake with another tablespoon of the wonderful filling. I was able to find some art-deco brown & white cupcake liners, and the plate of these cupcakes was pretty enough to be a centerpiece. Warning: The batter is runny, but I had no problem with it solidifying during baking. No runny issues as mentioned in another review. Be sure to wipe any drops of batter from cupcake pan before baking, b/c the batter does burn easily on the pan. Keeper recipe, thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2006

      I would give this more than 5 stars if I could. I made these for a bake sale and was a little leery because I had not made this before. I followed the directions exactly and ended up with the best cupcake I have ever made. I did have to let them sit in the cupcake tins a little longer than 10 minutes, the first two I tried to take out stuck a little, and darn it all, I had to leave them at home. My hubby ate them and said 5 stars. My boss also said 5 stars. Make these cupcakes, you won't be disappointed!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2013

      These turned out okay. I think it would be better if the coconut filling was added at the end as part of the icing. I'd alos love to puree the pecans a bit more the next time I do it or incorporate some caramel flavours. Still really tasty though, just a little difficult to eat because all the sticky coconut-pecan filling sunk to the bottom for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      I read some of the reviews, and yes the batter is runny. But that helped the cupcakes stay moist and they baked up fine. I also let them sit longer in the pan. Don't push the filling down, as it will cause it to sink to the bottom, causing them to fall apart.
      I took them to work and everyone raved!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2012

      This recipe was so good, I actually registered so I could give it 5 stars. I followed the recipe very, very closely and benefited a lot from the reviews. Instead of the all-purpose flour, I made a gluten-free substition which worked out well. I also used cup-cake liners to good effect; I did have quite a bit of filling left over and followed the suggestion of one of the reviewers and used it to place on top of the chocolate icing (which was FABULOUS, btw). The filling stayed right in the center. The cake batter was very thin as previously noted. Since I made these gluten-free, I added another 1/2 cup of the gluten-free flour to firm up the batter just a bit. A big thank you to Sandy and to those who took the time to offer suggestions. I'll be making these again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2012

      I do think this recipe has great potential! The icing & filling are both fabulous! I found the cake to be a little coarse, though. And, the filling sunk to the bottom & made them stick to the cupcake papers. I'm not quite sure what the solution would be to get the filling to stay "centred" in the cupcake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      This recipe produced the moistest, most tender chocolate cake I have ever had. It was simply delicious! Truly "simply" because the recipe could not have been easier to follow. While the batter was very runny, a fool-proof way to get it in the tins without getting the batter everywhere is by using an ice cream scoop to "scoop" the batter into cupcake liners. I had minimal mess and a whole bunch of delicious cupcakes to show off to my family and friends. All were quite impressed, and I will definitely use this recipe again and again.

      Thanks a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      Probably the best german chocolate anything that I have ever had. Also, I think I have the solution to some of the runny-ness problems that some people encountered. I baked most of mine in regular sturdy cupcake trays and about 6 in one of those aluminum throw away cupcake tins. The ones in the aluminum tin were runnier (still delicious) and did not pop out of the tin cleanly and beautifully like the others did.
      So - dont use aluminum and that should solve the runniness problem. At least it did for me. My non-aluminum cupcakes from this recipe were perfect and AMAZING. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      I love to bake ,but I had to throw away half of these.this recipe created a big mess .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      My husband said these were the best thing he has ever had in his life. These were delicious and easy. I followed the directions to a T and yes, the batter was runny, but cooked up just fine. I did not use cups and when I pulled them out they kind of fell apart, but that didn't really matter. After I iced them, I used the left over filling to spinkle on top and also sprinkled extra pecans. I actually took a photo, but can't upload it bc I am not a premium member, you can see it here on my flickr - flickr.com/photos/kelliehatcher/4276041486/ They were absolutely wonderful and amazing and several friends have already asked for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      This recipe gets NO stars. I, like everyone else, followed the recipe to a T and also ended up with completely thinned out liquidy batter (if you can call it batter). I thought it might bake up and I now have a house that smells like burned liquid "batter" even though the timer hadn't even gone off yet, it had bubbled up onto the muffin tin and burned. Yay. The one plus is the filling, I've got to figure out somewhere else to use it, glad I had some leftover. DOn't waste your time with these cupcakes...there must be a typo in the recipe somewhere.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      haven't made these, but i do have a tip for the filly. bake the cupcakes without the filling, and add the filling after they bake. you can use a melon-baller to get a little well inside the cupcake, and use a baggie or piping bag to the the filling inside, then replace a bit of the top of the cupcake. once you frost it, you won't be able to tell there was a hole. i guess maybe the filling needs to be cooked, too. but maybe you could do that on the stove top, or come up with a different filling. these look good though! can't wait to try them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      I followed the recipe exactly to the T and it was very watery, like thinned out chocolate milk. Was that the way it was supposed to come out? I am going to bake up three cupcakes and see if they bake up like they should, (don't want to waste baking cups, or filling) never had a recipe for a cake to come out watery before I am a career baker, If they bake up I will leave another review. side note I would cut the amount of filling to 1 tablespoon not 2.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2006

      I followed the recipe exactly except for the icing which I left out. The cupcakes were rich and moist and tasty enough that I felt they didn't need the icing, although I'm sure that would have put them over the top. The only drawback was that I had about half of the filling left over. Also, part of the filling was left sticking out of the cake when it was baked - I thought it sink into the dough but it didn't. So next time I will put in half the cake dough, then the filling, then the other half of the cake dough on top of the filling. Thanks for a very tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2006

      Sandy these are just wonderful. My family, my neighbours & I all really enjoyed them. The instructions were clear and easy to follow. The batter was a little thin and I was concerned but the result was a perfect tasty little gem. My dh doesn't eat nuts so I subed with chocolate chips, it worked really well. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Filled German Chocolate Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (1880 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 346.2
     
    Calories from Fat 159
    46%
    Total Fat 17.7 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 48.3 mg
    16%
    Sodium 234.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.9 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 34.2 g
    137%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chocolate pieces

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites