Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Filipino Sinigang (Tamarind Soup) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Filipino Sinigang (Tamarind Soup)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 21, 2005

      this recipe is ok except that authentic sinigang has no potatoes but taro roots, and you can also add snake/string beans, kangkong (water spinach), and eggplant. also, for a much easier process, just dump all the ingredients into the pot except for sinigang mix, which you add after the meat (or seafood) is cooked and tender. much time and effort saved this way with the exact same result. you can also add green chile for some heat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      I usually make a simpler version with just fresh veggies, cod, petise(fish sauce), tamarind and tomatoes. But this was a great dish... more original too :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2012

      I alwAys make this dish and its always a hit. I'm full Filipino and I'm of ilocano decent and we always put fresh slices of ginger. I usually put 3-4 thick pieces depending on how much you like ginger. It gives a nice fresh spice to your soup. Also like in another review fish sauce also tastes good in this dish. Asian eggplant, baby bok Choy and daikon are my fave trio of veggies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      I am half filipina ... this recipe made my mouth water and I immediately ran to the store to make it. Mom always added string beans, and some kind of dark green - mustard or turnip ... this was really good, but just not Mom's, you know? :) Can't wait to get home and beg Mom to make me a huge pot! It's a bit of chopping and prep, but once you get it all in the pot it's just waiting, ever so impatiently, for the timer to go off!!! Yummy - will definitely keep this recipe handy! Thanks for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      LOVE sinigang. i'm filipina so i grew up with this and make it myself at home. i normally don't saute anything tho? usually we boil the meat (choice of pork ribs, beef w/ bone for flavor or shrimp w/ heads still intact for flavor) till it is tender...then add the vegetables and tamarind soup. never put in potatoes or garlic tho. usually only bok choy...string beans..onion..and 1 small tomato. o and we sometimes put in spinach instead or eggplant and daikon radish is pretty good too..but i prefer bok choy and string beans. onion and tomato is a must since it's always in an authentic sinigang. oh and instead of salt...authentic sinigang usually uses "patis" in other words "fish sauce" found in asian markets.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2005

      This recipe is one of our favorite dish, I don't sautee it. Instead I put all together the meat(you could use shrimp, pork, beef or chicken)pepper,tomatoe and onion. When the meat is tender, then i add the veggies (but no garlic and potato)i put okra, kangkong, eggplant, banana blossom (in the can) and taro root if meat but in seafood i don't put the taro root

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2004

      i grew up with my mother putting in small taro roots instead of potatoes and she would also add a little bit of shrimp as well...very delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      Yummy...just substituted the bok choy for kale and fresh string beans -- and some red pepper for heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

    • on November 01, 2007

      Awesome recipe! Tasted even better than my mom's! -thumbs up Dan Ho says thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2006

      I'd like to know who's cooking so I can come to your house. I'll bring the lumpia. I have to travel far to have my Filipino food. There are no Filipino restaurants where I live, and very few Filipinos. Your comments make me miss home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2006

      my mom always put potatoes in beef sinigang so this recipe brings back culinary memories for me ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2004

      yummy! My mouth is watering at the sight of this recipe. Totally deeelish! I usually sub pork with salmon and use spinach....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2004

      Made this soup today and it's fantastic-very easy to make. The soup base can be used with different ingrediants and one thought was to add seafood (shrimp/scallops/fish) in place of pork, or even in addition to pork. ENJOY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2004

      Delicious. Thanks for providing this wonderful recipe. I had to make it in two batches since I didn't have a big enough pot. Also, I didn't add any salt. For me the flavoring was just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Filipino Sinigang (Tamarind Soup)

    Serving Size: 1 (574 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 463.8
     
    Calories from Fat 311
    67%
    Total Fat 34.6 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 12.5 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 125.1 mg
    41%
    Sodium 137.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 33.3 g
    66%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tamarind soup mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes