Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Filipino Pandesal Bread ( Bread Machine ) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Filipino Pandesal Bread ( Bread Machine )

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2010

      Hello, this is the first time I ever rated anything online but felt inspired today. I just made this pandesal recipe exactly as written and they came out perfect and authentic! My parents are Filipino and I grew up with my father making pandesal from scratch. Especially during the holidays. My father passed away this year and I wanted to honor him by making his favorite pandesal. I have never made them before and I came across this recipe from Najwa. I'm excited and surprised that they taste "just like my Dad's pandesal." My mother, brother and sister are coming to my home for Christmas and they will be surprised! Thank you Najwa for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      My grandma used to own a bakery here in San Diego and I was deeply saddened when she was too old to make bread again. Anyways, since I've been craving my grandma's delicious and non-substitutable pandesal, I had to find a way I can eat it again. And fortunately, this recipe is almost as good as my grandma's (with a few suggestions). Instead of 1/2 cup of flour, I made it to 1 cup (to get that sweeter taste out of the bread). Also, for those of you who are NON-BAKERS/beginners, I recommend mixing all of the wet ingredients (WARM milk/evap and water) with the yeast and letting it sit for about 20-30 minutes. This allows the yeast to activate. All I can say for this recipe is MMM SARAP! Haha

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      I made this recipe by hand [why ] not sure my bread machine would mix the amount , to my satisfaction , excellent result I also cooked the rolls in my `Baby Q`` [webber] have frozen the left over rolls for friends visiting at the w/end

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      My wife and her friends can not believe this recipe. I made this for my wife because we can not get Pandesal here in Utah. My wife had the most amazed look in her eyes when she tasted it. It took me several test batches to perfect for high elevation and cook time. I change nothing in the ingredients. I let it fully rise in the bread machine and then made 24 small balls. I preheated the oven to 170 for about 10 min. then shut it off. I covered the dough balls with a cloth and placed in the oven for a 2nd rise for 50 min. At this point my dough doubled and I pre heated the oven to 350 and placed the cookie sheet back in the oven for 9 min. To prevent the bottoms from browning too much I use parchment paper and it comes out real nice. The first batch always comes out darker than the 2nd batch. I should wait longer after the pre heating to let the temp become stable.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      deffinately a five-star recipe.I made a couple health changes: I did 1/2 ww white flour and I used 1/3 cup honey in place of the sugar, and reduced butter to 3 Tbs. They came out perfect! Thanks for a keeper- (made for 'Everday is a Holiday' tag)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      I grew up in philippines, always looking for good pandesal recipes . Everytime my brother visit me from Vancouver, I always ask him to buy me pandesal from Filipino stores since we dont have one here in Vancouver Island my hubby's who is not a Filipino made it for the first time and it turned out excellent, currently making 2 more batches to share with friends tomorrow . Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2012

      We miss Pan de sal since leaving CA, this is such a wonderful thing to be able to make & have it taste just like the ones from the bakery!!!! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2011

      Great recipe. Soft and flavorful rolls. In a word: Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2011

      I made this recipe as is and it was great!! Rich sweet and delicious. They cooked up good and brown while being tender and moist. The flavor was great and I will definitely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      Fantastic!!! Have made these many times. They don't even last one day around our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      Excellent recipe! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      Oh, man! I love these! I can't wait to make them. Thank you for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      These breads have a really good taste and great light texture. I didn't have to add flour to it. It was sticky but it was working perfectly in the bread machine. Thanks Najwa :) Made for Cookbook tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      These were excellent najwa. I can't believe that I made these delicious little treats. Quick and easy to make, but best of all they tasted like the ones my filipino friends make. Thanks for making me look good. They were impressed and best of all it was so easy. Thanks for sharing a recipe that I will make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      Very good buns! Loved the bread crumbs on the tops! Will make over and over again...this went into my keepers file...for sure. Made for the Farm Cooking with Andi of Longmeadow Farm Event. Jelly :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Great recipe! I love pandesal and so do my boys. I am so glad I found this and that it really gives you pandesal taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      OMG these are so good will be making these again and again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      This is the first time i've ever made pan de sal and it was great!! It was definitely authentic!! I did change a few things...I had to reconstitute my evaporated milk to fresh milk because I didn't have any regular milk. (i did this by mixing 4oz evaporated milk & 6oz water) I used the amount called for in recipe and I also used this reconstituted milk in place of the water as another member suggested...also, instead of vegetable oil, I used olive oil. ***note to all non-bakers like myself...and beginner bakers...the flour i used was plain flour. I don't know if there's some understood thing on that or not, but I didn't know, so I figured there are probably others who might not know either. Thanks najwa for posting this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      My mother is filipino but sadly passed away when I was 13 years old. I love my culture but only get "home cooking" when in Cali at my mom's sisters. I learned at an early age to cook the food we ate on a regular basis. This recipe was very easy to follow and tasted just like the rolls my mom use to make. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      These were excellent rolls. They rose beautifully and were very light. They reminded us of the rolls served at many restaurants. Thanks najwa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Filipino Pandesal Bread ( Bread Machine )

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 129.5
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    26%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 102.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites