13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have never cooked eggplant before. I read the reviews and one said it was too salty, so I didn't put on the optional salt and used reduced sodium soy sauce. It turned out perfect! I love how it tastes - great recipe for a novice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Philip F. May 20, 2014

It was very good but way salty. I had to squirt some lemon to mine, probably better with calamansi. It paired nicely with tomato and shallot salad with a touch to patis and little of kosher salt. I threw in some green onion at the end to give some color and additional flavor. I will make this again but use low-sodium soy sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hello Eater! August 10, 2012

So good and easy! I'm keeping this recipe in my book. I love when a good simple sauce transforms the basic eggplant into a dish that everyone wants second helpings of!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wish I Could Cook June 07, 2012

Yummy eggplant! I decreased to oil to about 3 tbsp and really that was plenty. I did add maybe a tsp of honey just to balance the vinegar. If you love eggplant (like I do), you'll love this. I garnished with chopped scallions. I think chopped cilantro would be a nice garnish as well. Thanx !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* March 19, 2012

I enjoyed this--though I must say it was better the second day when the flavors had developed more (too bad there was so little left). I did roast the eggplant rather than fry it, using significantly less oil. At first taste, I found the vinegar to be a bit harsh, but overall and excellent dish. Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate July 30, 2011

This was very good, but didn't make much. The eggplant really shrinks when you cook it, so I would say it makes 2-3 servings at most. Made for Veggie Swap 22

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeri Roth Lande May 04, 2010

Yum, yum! I love Filipino eggplant, though it's not very common where I live in the Philippines. My Filipino friend that comes from another island where this dish is common told me that the only difference between this recipe and how she's used to it is that it generally doesn't have vinegar and it usually does have onions. I've tried it her way also and both of us agreed that this recipe tastes just as good! In fact, I think my kids ate it better this way. ;) Made for vege*n swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enjolinfam December 12, 2008

I really like this recipe. My dh is Filipino and he likes it too. I chopped up some tomato and sweet onion and added it to the finished dish. Very good! I served it with grilled fish and rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary A. July 24, 2008

This eggplant dish is really, really good! Loved the vinegar flavor, with the soy mellowing it out! Gorgeous! Because it's so flavorful, it would be great with a plain grilled meat, and maybe some raita... I'll be making this a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A la Carte September 19, 2006
Filipino Eggplant (Aubergine) Adobo