Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Filipino Chicken Adobo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Filipino Chicken Adobo

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2003

      This is very much like a recipie I clipped from a magazine years ago. It was lost in a move several years later. Yes, I know, I should have put it on a card in my box. It is now. I'm thrilled to have it back. DH loves it, DD has negative comments every time I fix it. It's O.K. She gets sausage and eggs when we have it. I fix this usually once a week. I stock up on pork shoulder when it's on sale, but chicken is delicious too. I serve it with fruit salad and steamed rice with cilantro.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2002

      Took a little longer than what the recipe said. The time probably will drop some with familiarity with the recipe though. It was good and filling and reminded me of some of the dishes that I had when I was in the Phillipines while in the U.S. Marine Corps. I missed the food, the people, and the customs. If you get the chance, visit the country. If you can't do that, enjoy the food. This would be an excellent first dish! Just count on about 15-20 more minutes than is listed for the first time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

      awesome.exact to filipino adobo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2001

      Very Good! This was my first try at it, and it came out great! It wasn't hard at all. Being raised in a half filipino family - it tastes very much like my mom's recipe! Next time, I'll cook it for my mom too and see what she thinks of it. =) Note: Adobo is better with a sweet flavor, so I added brown sugar to mine as a variation and it worked out very well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2001

      Variation, instead of vinegar use freshly squeezed lemon juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2003

      I was disappointed with this. I felt the directions were a little vague, and the meat tasted bland to me. I added both the salt and potatoes. I browned the meat after cooking it. But, after cooking in water "to cover" the consistency was soup rather than "sauce," and the recipe didn't specify how to remedy this. It just wasn't what I was expecting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      I just used this Chicken Adobo recipe tonight and wow 2 thumbs up! tasted exactly like my grandma's! yes, browning "raw" meat is a must for extra flavor, to the simmering pot you can also add a tsp. of patis (fish sauce) and a pinch of sugar adds balance. Thanks for the delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      Very good thank you...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      This is a good and easy recipe. I marinated the chicken in the ingredients the night before and it came out tender and juicy. It is easy to make, I made with steamed rice, it turned out to be a very nice and filling meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      This dish was delicous! I marinated the chicken in the sauce for 2 hours before cooking it. Oh yeah, and i only added an inch of water in my Dutch Oven first. I cooked it for a total of 50 minutes. Everyone ate it up! I did not add the potatoes, b/c we served it over rice. Nor did i brown the chicken at all. It was tender and delicous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      Thanks Mercedes--my husband is Filipino and taught me to make adobo but I never knew to fry it towards the end. We finally got the taste that he has been hoping for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      i did it! it was my first time to cook adobo ever! the result did not come out spectacular but it sure was edible and filling. i agree with some of the commenters. the recipe is a bit vague. thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      Fabulous Mercedes! This is just like the Adobo that my Filipino friend Angelita makes. Thanks so much for sharing! Oh and I don't do the potatos but instead serve it on some Jasmine rice:) My favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

    • on September 21, 2007

      Water and potatoes ruin the recipe. Typical adobo calls for about 3 or 4 times the amount of soy sauce, so in this case just a tablespoon or 2 of soy would be fine. The chicken should only be dark meat, I like skinless thighs and/or drums, and this makes a good amount of juice. Simmer a LONG time, anything less than an hour will not be that flavorful. Also, my mother-in-law adds a healthy sprinkle of paprika which is quite tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      I usually buy a packet from the commissary to make this but I was craving it one night and didn't have any so I tried Zaar and found yours. This tasted just like what I was craving. Nice and tangy. I too brown the meat first and it came out perfect. Easy to make with on-hand ingredients. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      Tried this, forgot to rate it. I also left out the potatoes. I was serving it over rice, it only made sense not to use two carbs. Nice tangy flavor. The amount of garlic was not overwhelming. Made this in the crockpot using boneless, skinless chicken thighs. Extremely easy and tasty. My coworkers mistaken thought one of our Filipino coworkers brought this in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2006

      this was SOOOO easy and SOO delish. i boiled and simmered it the night before i wanted to serve it, and reheated. no pan frying and it was fine... i tripled the recipe for guests so i had to makeshift some of the proportions but i dont think you can mess up this one. i didnt add extra salt, and i did add some potatos...i also added about a half of an onion very thinly sliced toward the end and just mixed them it. YUMMY. oh, i used half white vinegar, half apple cider just because i wanted to experiment. i saved all the extra broth and froze it for the future. thanks delish and simple

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2006

      Loved the amounts suggested in the ingredients. Left out the potatoes though, my Filipino Lolas never put potato in their adobo but that was a regional choice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      the best way to get a really good flavor out of any meat that you put into this is to leave the meat in the soup while it is cooking. i know that it says to take it out, but if you leave it in there until the soup is almost half gone, then the flavor really gets into the meat. coming from a filipino background and growing up with this dish, i love it. that was how my mother used to make it. and over white rice, it is so good. hopefully this will help some of you who were disappointed with the dish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Filipino Chicken Adobo

    Serving Size: 1 (253 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 314.2
     
    Calories from Fat 187
    59%
    Total Fat 20.8 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 103.5 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1517.9 mg
    63%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 27.8 g
    55%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites