Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Filets, How to Do Filets (Or Other Steaks) in the Oven Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Filets, How to Do Filets (Or Other Steaks) in the Oven

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2007

      Jezski (Janet), Thanks for rescuing me with this cooking method. I had heard steaks could be browned and finished off in the oven -- but had no clue what the steps were. Your instructions were perfect -- and our filets were the best EVER!!!! I had very, very thick steaks and just knew I couldn't cook them the way we liked if I tried to do it all on the stove top. The steaks were a nice rich brown on the outside, but still pink and oh, so moist on the inside. I did use unsalted butter to brown the steaks in -- because that's what the recipe called for. There is also a sauce that is cooked after the steaks are done to serve over the meat. The skillet had such wonderful drippings and made the sauce better than it's ever been before. Thank you again for answering my "cry for help" in the Forum -- and a huge thank you for posting your cooking method for others to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2014

      Great steak! Hey, I hear that cigars pair well with a proper steak and fine cognac. But I'm thinking more along the lines of a Snicker's bars and a Margarita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2014

      Excellent! I used butter. When it was done, I sauteed garlic in the pan drippings and put on top of steak. So delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2013

      Really good rib-eye's for us tonight! And so easy! Next time I will be a little braver and raise the heat in the skillet for a deeper brown before it goes into the oven. Delicious! Thank you:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      I have always followed the magazine Cuisine At Home's recommendation of searing just one steak side (for about 4 min), flipping it over and finishing off in a 425 oven. No more--I like Jezki's method of searing BOTH sides first (for shorter times). It comes out looking much better. My husband likes a rare steak, and this is an easy way to achieve a nicely browned steak while still retaining meat flavor and texture. Thanks, Jezski--I'm embarrassed to say that one simple step made a big difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2011

      This is a great method to cook the steak in oven. Mine was not very thick so I cooked it 1 minute per side like you said. And then only 3 minutes in the oven. It was tender. I'll have to try with a thick steak. Thanks Jezski :) Made for I Recommend tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2011

      This is certainly an easy way to make steaks. I followed the directions exactly using my NuWave oven. I should have cooked it a couple minutes less on each side because I ended up with more of a medium steak, but I am sure it is due to the oven I used. The steak turned out very juicy and tasty. I can't wait to try this again using less cooking time. Made for Best of 2010 Cookbooks Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      Just had some yummy filet for lunch!!! Thanks for posting this technique Jezski!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      Can I add more stars???! After reading the reviews, I combined the Ina Garten recipe and yours....fabulous! I thought I had died and gone to steak heaven!!! :D I've been searching for a recipe that equaled the fabulous taste I found at Ruth Chris Steak House, and I can now stop my search. This is it! I used sea salt and cracked black pepper to season my steaks, and rubbed them with a little olive oil. I used a cast iron skillet to sear the steaks and finish them in the oven. I added the butter in the Ina Garten recipe. Served these medium rare with the pan juices poured over the steaks. I made sauteed mushrooms to accompany these steaks, but it would be a sacrilege to put anything on the fork with these amazing steaks. This is a keeper recipe for me! Thanks so much for posting this "method", as this is what I have been looking for for about 15 years! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      Jeszju thanks for the info. The Barefoot Contessa also had the same method a couple of weeks ago and she cooked them for 2 min per side and put them in the oven for 8 min. Almost exactly like you did. I tried this method and it was absolutely delicous. This is a really easy method, good for beginner cooks to know. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Jezski Just a thanks,for this info. I live in very cold climate and while i will grill, during the winter sometimes its just to dang cold, and this is just the ticket to do these beautiful steaks i just got today. Let you know how they turn out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      I have never cooked steak before tonight as my husband always does it on the grill. Well tonight was dinner for 1, so I thought I'd give it a go. It turned out fantastic! My steak cooked quickly and was juicy and flavorful. I'll never be afraid to cook steak again. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Filets, How to Do Filets (Or Other Steaks) in the Oven

    Serving Size: 1 (109 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 238.1
     
    Calories from Fat 113
    47%
    Total Fat 12.6 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 79.0 mg
    26%
    Sodium 61.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 29.4 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites