12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Jezski (Janet), Thanks for rescuing me with this cooking method. I had heard steaks could be browned and finished off in the oven -- but had no clue what the steps were. Your instructions were perfect -- and our filets were the best EVER!!!! I had very, very thick steaks and just knew I couldn't cook them the way we liked if I tried to do it all on the stove top. The steaks were a nice rich brown on the outside, but still pink and oh, so moist on the inside. I did use unsalted butter to brown the steaks in -- because that's what the recipe called for. There is also a sauce that is cooked after the steaks are done to serve over the meat. The skillet had such wonderful drippings and made the sauce better than it's ever been before. Thank you again for answering my "cry for help" in the Forum -- and a huge thank you for posting your cooking method for others to try.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie November 01, 2007

Great steak! Hey, I hear that cigars pair well with a proper steak and fine cognac. But I'm thinking more along the lines of a Snicker's bars and a Margarita.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng May 09, 2014

Excellent! I used butter. When it was done, I sauteed garlic in the pan drippings and put on top of steak. So delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MWYATT March 30, 2014

Really good rib-eye's for us tonight! And so easy! Next time I will be a little braver and raise the heat in the skillet for a deeper brown before it goes into the oven. Delicious! Thank you:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fox Hollow February 06, 2013

I have always followed the magazine Cuisine At Home's recommendation of searing just one steak side (for about 4 min), flipping it over and finishing off in a 425 oven. No more--I like Jezki's method of searing BOTH sides first (for shorter times). It comes out looking much better. My husband likes a rare steak, and this is an easy way to achieve a nicely browned steak while still retaining meat flavor and texture. Thanks, Jezski--I'm embarrassed to say that one simple step made a big difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers January 07, 2012

This is a great method to cook the steak in oven. Mine was not very thick so I cooked it 1 minute per side like you said. And then only 3 minutes in the oven. It was tender. I'll have to try with a thick steak. Thanks Jezski :) Made for I Recommend tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 02, 2011

This is certainly an easy way to make steaks. I followed the directions exactly using my NuWave oven. I should have cooked it a couple minutes less on each side because I ended up with more of a medium steak, but I am sure it is due to the oven I used. The steak turned out very juicy and tasty. I can't wait to try this again using less cooking time. Made for Best of 2010 Cookbooks Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 February 18, 2011

Just had some yummy filet for lunch!!! Thanks for posting this technique Jezski!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Za'atar October 23, 2010

Can I add more stars???! After reading the reviews, I combined the Ina Garten recipe and yours....fabulous! I thought I had died and gone to steak heaven!!! :D I've been searching for a recipe that equaled the fabulous taste I found at Ruth Chris Steak House, and I can now stop my search. This is it! I used sea salt and cracked black pepper to season my steaks, and rubbed them with a little olive oil. I used a cast iron skillet to sear the steaks and finish them in the oven. I added the butter in the Ina Garten recipe. Served these medium rare with the pan juices poured over the steaks. I made sauteed mushrooms to accompany these steaks, but it would be a sacrilege to put anything on the fork with these amazing steaks. This is a keeper recipe for me! Thanks so much for posting this "method", as this is what I have been looking for for about 15 years! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom September 19, 2010

Jeszju thanks for the info. The Barefoot Contessa also had the same method a couple of weeks ago and she cooked them for 2 min per side and put them in the oven for 8 min. Almost exactly like you did. I tried this method and it was absolutely delicous. This is a really easy method, good for beginner cooks to know. Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOTS777 May 18, 2009
Filets, How to Do Filets (Or Other Steaks) in the Oven