10 Reviews

OMG! Crazy good! We made it for Valentine's day and again two days later. We used top sirloin the second time and the sauce made it taste like the filet. I think we could eat the sauce on hamburger and it would rock. We are addicted. Be sure to give a looong time to simmer to reduce, like 30-40 minutes. Mashed potatoes and asparagus rounded it out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ohcarie February 16, 2011

Very GOOD! I didn't make a filet, but some other cut of steak. In the sauce I added a small amount of slivered onion and minced garlic. Plates were actually LICKED clean! Can't wait to make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patty9901 January 30, 2011

I made this last night for hubby using the toasted fennel option. I'm sorry to say we thought it didn't at all go well with the steak. The sauce by itself was not bad, but we didn't much like it on steak. I used Jack Daniels and would have liked the whiskey flavor to come through more. If you like very savory tastes then this recipe is great. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dimpi April 10, 2009

This is soooooo good! I love the sauce. Next time I will thinly slice the FIlet so the sauce can soak in. I have to admit I was a little worried about the sauce but I was very wrong. Great recipe!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waffles823 November 20, 2008

FANTASTIC!! DH and I loved this easy to prepare, flavorful dish. The only modification we made was to use fresh rosemary, hence doubling to 2 tsp. We served the steaks whole rather than thinly slicing them. They were tender and done to perfection and the whisky sauce was really delicious. We served with mashed potatoes and a side of asparagus. We would definitely make this dish again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny October 28, 2008

Wow!! This was delicious!! My BF actually licked his plate! Very very good...whiskey flavor comes through nicely. Absolutely delicious! Will definitely make again and again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karabea August 29, 2008

Terrific taste! I ran out of gas for the grill and had to come up with a last minute substitute on the stove. Rave reviews all around! Brianna, you made me look like a true chef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynmoz August 28, 2008

Fantastic, quick meal! For the small amount of whisky, the taste really comes through in the sauce. I accompanied this with Gratin Dauphinoise potatoes, and the Gruyere really complimented the whisky cream sauce well. Yum! Thanks for posting. Made for PAC Spring 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz April 27, 2008

Very easy and tasty recipe for filet mignon. I especially like the taste of rosemary with beef. I usually use fresh rosemary with pork chops but never tried with beef filet and they turned out great. As was suggested by another review, I also toasted bread slices with mixture of butter and mustard for filet to sit and that turned out really nice for presentation as well as taste. One additional ingredient I added was sliced scallion for color to the sauce. Thank you Brianna Waggoner for posting this delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rinshinomori January 14, 2008

This is very close to the one I was about to submit:) If I may add a footnote, I always melt butter and mix in some mustard, then brush this on to thick bread, (crust removed) and put in the oven for 20 mins, turning once. Sit the steak on the crouton, and pour the sauce over. Because I HATE cold steak, I usually add a little butter and flour to the pan, helps the thickening process. This is truly an elegant dinner party recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills November 27, 2006
Filet Mignon With Whiskey Cream Sauce