Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Filet Mignon With Mushroom-Wine Sauce - Light Version Weight Wat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Filet Mignon With Mushroom-Wine Sauce - Light Version Weight Wat

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on July 25, 2011

      LOVE! I bought filet mignon at our farmers market to make for my husband, and this recipe looked perfect for my first time with filet mignon. I realized I only had canned straw mushrooms after i had made up my mind, I was nervous, but the meal was delicious. Also I used trader joe's beef soup base instead of consomme. I served with Green Beans To Impress Green Beans To Impress. My husband gave this 6 stars out of five! Sauce had a very decadent flavor. Thanks Mimi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

    • on February 03, 2011

      Yep. This is dang good. Dang good! Nice succulent way to cook this piece of meat ~ the mushrooms with wine sauce sends this way over the moon. Didn't change anything, used a cast iron to make the meat caramelized, added the mushroom, made the sauce. Heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      This was quite good. Definitely had lots of flavor. I used sliced button mushrooms instead and it tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      Easy, simple, and delicious. I use any red wine and it still tastes wonderful all the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      This is a wonderful recipe! My son, an aspiring chef, made this tonight for his own birthday dinner. The sauce was wonderful and the steaks were delicious. Will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      Excellent! Made this for our anniversary, and it was amazing. I haven't made it since only because I haven't found an occaision special enough! Best steak I have EVER had,and that's a lot coming from a girl who grew up on a ranch in Alberta, Canad :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Fantastic! We just got back from some fabulous restaurants in the French Quarter of New Orleans and wanted to continue the birthday celebration with a special meal. Sorry Emeril, but this is better than yours! I also cooked in a cast iron skillet, rare was about 3-4 minutes per side. I got a special 2" cut from the butcher and served the filets with roasted asparagus and hollandaise. I've never tried cooking shitake mushrooms, but they are very exotic. Beautiful and romantic dinner, garnished the plate with a tomato slice and 1/2 roll. Life is good!! Thanks for the great recipe, Mimi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      I made this for V-day for my honey... just forgot to post the review! It went over very well and made such an elegant display.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      This review is for the mushroom sauce which I loved! I did halve the recipe and used Haak Cabernet Sauvignon. Wonderful flavor and very easy. Thank you for a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      We have made his twice and love it! Give it a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      OMG! I thought I heard La Boheme while eating this it was so fantastic. I would give this more stars if I could!!!!! I made it exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. Served this with roasted asparagus and french bread. What an elegant meal! Thank you for posting this awesome recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      Love this! Definitely a dinner with which to impress others.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      Thank you for posting this. This has been in my recipe box for years. What makes this an excellent dish is the sauce. The first time I made it, I tasted the sauce while cooking, and "wow" popped out of my mouth. Highly recommended recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      Excellent meal with excellent gravy! I felt like a chef! Thanks Mimi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      This is an awesome Cooking Light recipe. I used 8 oz. shiitake mushrooms and 1 tablespoon fresh thyme per the original recipe. The flavor of the sauce is incredible and the steak was very tender and cooked to perfection. An excellent romantic meal and something a novice cook can handle. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      I made this for a special occasion for my girlfriend. Now all of a sudden she thinks I am this great cook because this was so easy to make yet so delicious and beautiful on the plate. I got the two best filets I could at the butcher and trust me, they did not not go to waste. Only problem is now my girl thinks I can cook and I have to do it more often. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      This is the best sauce for beef! I didn't change a thing to the recipe and it was wonderful. I did find that if you have larger steaks, you will need to cook them for longer than the recipe states to get them to a nice rare, medium-rar. I had left over sauce and put it in a beef stew with egg noodles the next day. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      Had this for Thanksgiving this year, and it was GREAT. We used a little too much wine so the sauce didn't thicken as expected, but it didn't matter a bit -- it was still so flavorful. We did find that we had to cook the steaks much longer than the recipe stated, and that still left them quite rare (which was just fine with us!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2006

      Fantastic! We loved it, and I could not get enough of the sauce!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Filet Mignon With Mushroom-Wine Sauce - Light Version Weight Wat

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 135.2
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    19%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 647.2 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    filet mignon steaks

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes