29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

LOVE! I bought filet mignon at our farmers market to make for my husband, and this recipe looked perfect for my first time with filet mignon. I realized I only had canned straw mushrooms after i had made up my mind, I was nervous, but the meal was delicious. Also I used trader joe's beef soup base instead of consomme. I served with Green Beans To Impress Green Beans To Impress. My husband gave this 6 stars out of five! Sauce had a very decadent flavor. Thanks Mimi!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Magalicious July 25, 2011

Yep. This is dang good. Dang good! Nice succulent way to cook this piece of meat ~ the mushrooms with wine sauce sends this way over the moon. Didn't change anything, used a cast iron to make the meat caramelized, added the mushroom, made the sauce. Heaven!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm February 03, 2011

This was quite good. Definitely had lots of flavor. I used sliced button mushrooms instead and it tasted great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wyndechyme August 10, 2010

Easy, simple, and delicious. I use any red wine and it still tastes wonderful all the time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sanlyn.bird June 30, 2010

This is a wonderful recipe! My son, an aspiring chef, made this tonight for his own birthday dinner. The sauce was wonderful and the steaks were delicious. Will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Good Cook Wanda June 11, 2010

Excellent! Made this for our anniversary, and it was amazing. I haven't made it since only because I haven't found an occaision special enough! Best steak I have EVER had,and that's a lot coming from a girl who grew up on a ranch in Alberta, Canad :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katybaby December 15, 2009

Fantastic! We just got back from some fabulous restaurants in the French Quarter of New Orleans and wanted to continue the birthday celebration with a special meal. Sorry Emeril, but this is better than yours! I also cooked in a cast iron skillet, rare was about 3-4 minutes per side. I got a special 2" cut from the butcher and served the filets with roasted asparagus and hollandaise. I've never tried cooking shitake mushrooms, but they are very exotic. Beautiful and romantic dinner, garnished the plate with a tomato slice and 1/2 roll. Life is good!! Thanks for the great recipe, Mimi.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurita May 22, 2009

I made this for V-day for my honey... just forgot to post the review! It went over very well and made such an elegant display.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker April 11, 2009

This review is for the mushroom sauce which I loved! I did halve the recipe and used Haak Cabernet Sauvignon. Wonderful flavor and very easy. Thank you for a great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Jack July 22, 2008
Filet Mignon With Mushroom-Wine Sauce - Light Version Weight Wat