Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Filet Mignon With Goat Cheese and Balsamic Reduction Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Filet Mignon With Goat Cheese and Balsamic Reduction

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2011

      Fantastic! Loved it. Word of advice: you can't make the sauce in advance because it gets hard when it cools.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2014

      Just an FYI..if you look for it a lot of markets nw sell Balsamic Reductions already pre packaged in the isle with vinegars or condiments. Its delish on vanilla ice cream as well..which I know sounds gross but believe me its YUMMAY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      Absolutely delicious! The grocery had top sirloin steaks on sale, and I had goat cheese to use and ran across your recipe. I grilled the steaks to medium rare, topped with goat cheese and placed under the broiler for 1 minute ... perfection! I will definiltely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      Pretty good. Had pretty thin filet's, so I pan fried for 3 mins on each side and were perfect 'medium'. I broiled them for about 5 minutes on a low broil. Do be careful with the balsamic reduction, as it can easily burn. This is definitely a quick and easy, but gourmet tasting recipe, thank you for posting it Chia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      I made this for Valentine's Day to save us a bit of money. You would have thought we were eating at a 4-5 star restaurant. Such a GREAT and easy recipe. I didn't have any goat cheese so I made a compound butter with some garlic and fresh rosemary. It actually worked out perfectly with the meal. Thanks so much for posting this. I know we were definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      Amazing! I made this with a rib eye, could have maybe done without the butter, but was fantastic regardless! One of the best meals I've eaten in a long time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      These were very good and tender. Had a great flavor. Mine needed to be cooked about 10 minutes longer though. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      One word.... Yummy!!!! I followed the directions and it turned out great. Loved the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      AWESOME! I added a little red wine vinegar to the sauce, and used gorgonzola cheese. DELICIOUS, we'll never make filet on a grill ever again :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      My mouth is watering!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      We didn't have goat cheese, but had blue cheese. The combination of the blue cheese with the sweet balsamic reduction was very nice and I recommend this if you can't get or don't care for goat cheese. The filets cooked perfectly. Everyone enjoyed these, even the fussy kids. I prefer a less sweet sauce and will probably use less sugar next time, but everyone enjoyed it, so 5 stars. Thanks for the delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      My husband loved it! He's not a goat cheese fan, but maybe now he'll be one lol Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      This really is worth all of the positive reviews! Very good. One word of caution as read from other reviews, do NOT put the balsamic reduction directly on the meat! Only use it as a compleiment to the meat, it's not a steak sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      This was ok. I wasn't expecting the sauce to be so sweet. I think if I make it next time I won't add any sugar. To my husband and I, the sauce really overpowered the steak.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      This was very good! The sauce especially! It reminded us of the sauce over the filet at one of our favorite restaurants. The only difference is that they cut the filet halfway and stuff it with cheese. This would save the broiler step. I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      Absolutely gorgeous, really thought this would be way to much vinegar, sounded great but was skeptical. No need, absolutely perfect, it complimented the steak so well and really was just delicious. I have to say this is not just me, everybody said, wow, yummy. So if you make this really don't worry about the amount of vinegar, but I would suggest follow the recipe and leave it for a good 18 minutes as suggested, I left mine for a little bit longer. Wonderful and I will definitely be making agiain, such a lovely recipe, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      A really nice and unexpected combination of flavors. Thank you, Chia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2005

      This makes a very flavorful, rich tasting steak. The goat cheese and drizzled vinegar glaze blend beautifully together. I grilled this in my cast iron pan and then transferred the whole thing to the broiler. No additional pans to wash and a nice easy recipe to follow. Thanks for sharing this delicious alternative to a plain steak done on the bbq.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Filet Mignon With Goat Cheese and Balsamic Reduction

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 139.7
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    37%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 14.5 mg
    4%
    Sodium 83.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 15.9 g
    63%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    filet mignon steaks

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites