Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Filet De Boeuf En Croute Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Filet De Boeuf En Croute

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on May 31, 2006

      update on my previous review - I had a couple of these left over (can you believe it?) from my party, since they were large some people shared. So I put them in Ziploc's in the freezer. Today I popped one out and after about 35 min at 350, 95% as good as the first time! Long story short, these freeze surprisingly well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      This is scrumptious and the lads thought it was well worth the wait. Doubled the recipe and made for our New Year's Eve dinner. Used swiss cheese as that's what I had on hand. Did not use the dijon mustard in the sauce. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      This is fancy and it looks cool, but I agree with the reviews saying this is bland. Also, it is easy to undercook because you can't actually see the meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      Very bland. Sauce helps. Very filling. Filet would have tasted better on the grill. Maybe use Swiss instead of Jack for more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      Made this for our first Valentines as a married couple. This was wonderful. I was even amazed that I could make something this good. Very simple as well. I served with Baked Beets. I did not use the horseradish sauce because I did not have horseradish. It was wonderful and moist without it. I also used Mozerella cheese because its all I had on hand. This was amazing. I am definetly going to make for guests sometimes to show off :) thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      There was no filet mignon at my grocer so I picked up veal instead. This recipe works just as well for it. Veal doesn't have as much marbled fat as filet mignon does so I didn't cut off the extra. It turned out wonderfully! Thank you so much for posting this recipe. p.s. I marinaded the veal in white wine and pineapple juice then used that liquid to make a mustard sauce. MMMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      Loved it!!!! A definite for Valentine's, Anniversary...or hoping for a proposal dinner. I love garlic, but didn't mince mine finely enough. My future technique shall be....smash, then mince the garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      This was really really amazing! I made it for my parents for thier anniversary, and it ended up working out beautifully. I ran out of puff pastry, a shortsighting on my part, so I ended up wrapping one steak in frozen pie crust and it worked fairly well...the flaky buttery texture of puff pastry is preffered, but in a pinch the frozen pie crust worked well. Also because of the high price of food I ended up using thick flatiron steaks, and they cooked perfectly with the times listed here. Fabulous! will use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      TY Zaar for making it so easy to be a hero on Valentine's Day! This was a big hit with presentation, it looked like I slaved for hours and hours and was a wonderful steak. I used provolone cheese 'cuz I had some on hand and it was excellent. Beutifully browned very impressive yet quite simple to make. Thanks Wildflour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      I have been hungering to make this recipe ever since I saw McMystery Shopper's photo several months ago and now I finally did. It is so delicious (even though I forgot to make the sauce!). I had my husband's birthday dinner all planned (see Dave's Birthday Menu) and yesterday he said "I will be happy with roast beef, mashed potatoes and gravy". Oops. I guess he saw the look on my face as he mentioned at dinner that he wondered what was up and he absolutely had no regrets about this dinner. I couldn't find any puff pastry so used phyllo dough and it came out great. The only thing better than filet mignon is filet mignon soaked in butter!! This is not a diet food but it is a good one. Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      I made these for Easter dinner and they were very good! Granted, it would be hard to ruin a filet, but this recipe had them cooked perfectly. My only dislike is not really with the recipe, but just that it is very RICH and a little too decadent tasting for us to have a filet wrapped in pastry. I made half of the filets as specified, the other half I spread with roasted garlic and then crumbled bleu cheese on top. Wow, they were beautiful and tasted wonderful. I did notice that once most people got through half of it, the pastry was scraped away and the filet was eaten. The sauce was a lovely compliment for an altogether easy (if not a little time consuming) elegant, and tasty recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      Wildflour thanks for making Valentine's Day easy and special. Did exactly as posted - next time, and there definetely will be a next time, I will replace the cheese with fresh sliced mushrooms. Let's see - when is the next special occasion. Did not fix the sauce - I actually forgot about it until now when posting the review. I guess we didn't miss it but will try to remember next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      Excellent and far easier than I would have thought. We enjoyed this. I would make a few changes next time. We used the garlic and monterey jack slices. I would suggest a sharper cheese and maybe asparagus instead of garlic. I will definitely use this method again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      This was a very impressive presentation. If I had a slightly better cut of meat I would give it a five, so it wasn't the recipe's fault and DH gives it a 10 so a 5 it is! I cooked mine the first time as I like it a little more well done. I used Havarti cheese and a little more garlic. Beautiful dish for our Christmas dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      Definatly outstanding, I followed the recipe EXACTLY and it was cooked to perfection. Oh one exception was I used a strong cheddar cheese because I couldn't get the ones stated, but it wouldn't have made it any better if i had!! Thank you wildflower, I will be making this again soon. Wanted to edit this to add that i have made this recipe again using English stilton cheese and it was out of the world...I will make it this way from now on, the stilton puff pastry and steak went together so well, and again the timings were spot on!! thanks again wildflower

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      Absolutely fabulous. I did a "dry run" of this dish last night in the hopes that it would be a winner for my upcoming dinner party. Is it ever! You're right - almost too pretty to eat. Used muenster cheese and cooked slightly longer (we like our filet medium). Can't wait for my dinner party now!! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2005

      Fantissimo! Made this for Christmas Eve dinner. Smash Hit. Huge results for such little effort. I followed the recipe to the tee, except that my meat was cold when I started, so I cooked it 2 minutes longer in Stage 1. The Horseradish sauce is the perfect complement.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      Speechless - AMAZING! thank you so much for this recipe. I will ask for it again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2005

      Beautiful and Wonderful! This made our dinner so special! What a wonderful recipe! I cannot believe how easy this was to make! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Filet De Boeuf En Croute

    Serving Size: 1 (320 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1226.5
     
    Calories from Fat 900
    73%
    Total Fat 100.0 g
    153%
    Saturated Fat 41.1 g
    205%
    Cholesterol 213.7 mg
    71%
    Sodium 602.3 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.5 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 22.4 g
    44%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    filet mignon steaks

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites