Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fig Preserves Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fig Preserves

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on July 25, 2010

      Delicious! I didn't follow the recipe exactly, instead, melding suggestions from other readers. I cut the figs in half and used lemon juice only so that I wouldn't have to process the figs. It turned out beautifully. Had it on toast with cream cheese, and will use it for a pork loin stuffed with goat cheese and fig preserves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      This is a perfect southern fig preserves recipe although instead of water I used the juice from the lemon. I left mine whole too. I just love mashing the whole figs into a hot buttered biscuit. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2005

      I'm posting another review, though it's not from me, but from the entire town of Butternut, WI, where it won 1st place in the county fair. I sent several jars home with my uncle who was visiting Louisiana from Wisconson. His wife just called to tell me she had entered them and they had won. Now that's a review!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2013

      This is an excellent recipe! I grew up in the south eating fig preserves so when a friend gave me a 4 lb bag yesterday, I offered to make preserves with them. I have never made them before so paid particular attention to the reviews for this recipe. Here is what I changed. I cut the stems off and sliced each fig in half. Then I sprinkled a tbsp of baking powder over them and let them sit for about 10 minutes. I covered them with cool water, per the recipe. I used 1 cup of sugar per pound instead of the recipe amount. I had 4 lbs. so I used a large lemon, quartered it and sliced it very thin. Made the sugar water and added the figs and lemon plus 1 tsp of double strength vanilla. It did take about 50-60 minutes to get the mixture to the right consistency but I would used the recommended amount of water in the future because the extra cooking time melds the flavors together. Let the mixture sit until cool before putting in a food processor- that is common sense kitchen safety. I would definitely make this recipe again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      So good. I read several recipes and reviews and I decided to go with this one since it seemed fairly easy. I used figs from my yard, decreased the sugar to 2 cups, like many other reviews suggested and added a tsp of vanilla. It was delicious! i put on waffles, ice cream and chicken. I froze some too, not sure how it will be, but was hoping to use it when my family is here for the holidays.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      This has just brought back some memories that are older than I care to admit. This is another Alabama reference. I can't speak for the lemon and the figs weren't chopped but preserved whole. OMG, it was heaven and a true treat. I've not had them in many, many years. Will have to scare up some figs and make this. As good as these will probably turn out to be, they will not be able to touch the ones from long ago. Thanks for the trip down memory lane.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2004

      these were delicious. I had been looking for a fig preserve recipe with a low yield because figs are hard to come by around here & this one fit the bill. Reminded me of what my grandmother used to make in Alabama..scrumptious on biscuits or just spooned straight out of the jar lol..thanks for this one DiB's!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2013

      This is a simple recipe and very good. I gave it only 4 stars because I feel it's too sweet. I only added 2 cups of sugar and it was still on the sweet side, but preserves are supposed to be sweet so it was expected. I halved the figs after soaking and then continued with the recipe as instructed. I did find it necessary to let it simmer an additional 15 minutes and even with the extra simmering, it was still runny. Since I wanted the figs to remain whole and not puree them, but also didn't want figs in syrup, I just pureed half in hopes it would thicken and it did. The reason I didn't just let it simmer longer to thicken is because I've learned from experience in making preserves that after a certain point of cooking they take on a very "candy-like" flavor and tend to loose the fresh fruit taste. Before putting in jars, I added 1 tsp of vanilla which I think I will reduce to a half next time since it robbed the preserve of some of the delicious lemony taste. All in all, very good recipe and fun to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2013

      Thanks for a great recipe. I only used 2 cups of sugar and cut my figs in quarters. My family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2012

      I have three fig trees in the yard that had a great supply of figs this year. I used this receipe and used the reviews to perfect it. It was delicious. Great receipe and easy to use. I like it better without the vanilla. Use 2 cups of sugar and less water. I also cut up the figs into quarters and cook about 1 1/2 hours on a low simmer. Yummy stuff!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      This is a great recipe! I did follow some of the suggestions like cutting back the sugar adding vanilla ang cutting figs in half and everybody loves them! This was my first time making preserves and it was sooo simple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2011

      This is a great recipe for the huge bounty of figs we have this year. Like other reviewers I agree this turns out a VERY VERY sweet preserve. I will probably cut the sugar down next time, but my DH still loved the taste even if it was a bit too sweet for me. I ended up using the juice from a whole small lemon(about 2 Tbsp) and zest from that same lemon too to try and cut the sweetness. We had to double the recipe since we had so many figs and ended up with 5 pint jars. I gave it 4 stars for the overwhelming sweetness, but it's still a great recipe. UPDATE 8/30/11: Made a single batch of this last night and changed it to add the sliced lemon and cut the sugar to 2 cups. This was much more to my liking and was the perfect amount of sweetness without being too too sweet like the first batch. I could really taste the lemon to which gave it a nice flavor. It made 2 1/2 pints total. I'll definitely keep this recipe for years and years. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      I also left the figs in halfs rather than blending them up. They are pretty good, but VERY sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      These were wonderful! I tried another fig preserve recipe prior to this. This recipe called for leaving the figs whole. My father used to make them this way. I also left the stems on as he used to do. My husband wasn't crazy about my first try. He really didn't care for the stems on the figs. However, he loved this recipe. I've now found the perfect fig preserve recipe to use for my fig crop.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Oh My Goodness! These are awesome! I was raised in the country but never liked fig preserves because they were too sweet. These are perfect! I left mine whole and canned them... my kids have eaten them all and are begging for more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      While this did not have an unpleasant taste, it was a tad too sweet for our liking. Also I would have liked more of the texture of the figs to be left. After blending it was more like a gelatinous seedy substance. Given that, I would suggest zesting the lemon (I would have added more lemon also) and cutting up the lemon fruit. To get the lemon suitably ground up, I ended up losing the fig texture. I just wanted more of what I think of preserves...visible fruit spread. With the figs I used, it came out a lovely amber color and taste not unlike honey... It is good. Just not what I was looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      This is an easy fail proof recipe; delicious. After adding the figs; I cooked the syrup to 226 degrees. I left the figs whole instead of grinding them in the blender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      love this recipe- was really easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      This was so easy to make and was totally scrumptious. I liked that I did not have to peel the figs. Fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      This recipe came out delicious. I had several bags of frozen figs from last year I totally forgot about until I found this recipe the other day. The preserve came out with a very delicate flavor. Not too sweet. I could of cooked it a few minutes longer but I like it loose. Made 3 half pints plus 3 1/4 pints. Thanks for posting this easy-to-do fig preserve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fig Preserves

    Serving Size: 1 (1774 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1000.7
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    45%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 258.9 g
    86%
    Dietary Fiber 9.0 g
    36%
    Sugars 249.0 g
    996%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites