26 Reviews

Delicious! I didn't follow the recipe exactly, instead, melding suggestions from other readers. I cut the figs in half and used lemon juice only so that I wouldn't have to process the figs. It turned out beautifully. Had it on toast with cream cheese, and will use it for a pork loin stuffed with goat cheese and fig preserves.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenGossip July 25, 2010

This is a perfect southern fig preserves recipe although instead of water I used the juice from the lemon. I left mine whole too. I just love mashing the whole figs into a hot buttered biscuit. Thanks for the recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephanie s. July 20, 2010

I'm posting another review, though it's not from me, but from the entire town of Butternut, WI, where it won 1st place in the county fair. I sent several jars home with my uncle who was visiting Louisiana from Wisconson. His wife just called to tell me she had entered them and they had won. Now that's a review!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deely August 21, 2005

This is an excellent recipe! I grew up in the south eating fig preserves so when a friend gave me a 4 lb bag yesterday, I offered to make preserves with them. I have never made them before so paid particular attention to the reviews for this recipe. Here is what I changed. I cut the stems off and sliced each fig in half. Then I sprinkled a tbsp of baking powder over them and let them sit for about 10 minutes. I covered them with cool water, per the recipe. I used 1 cup of sugar per pound instead of the recipe amount. I had 4 lbs. so I used a large lemon, quartered it and sliced it very thin. Made the sugar water and added the figs and lemon plus 1 tsp of double strength vanilla. It did take about 50-60 minutes to get the mixture to the right consistency but I would used the recommended amount of water in the future because the extra cooking time melds the flavors together. Let the mixture sit until cool before putting in a food processor- that is common sense kitchen safety. I would definitely make this recipe again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jechamp July 05, 2013

So good. I read several recipes and reviews and I decided to go with this one since it seemed fairly easy. I used figs from my yard, decreased the sugar to 2 cups, like many other reviews suggested and added a tsp of vanilla. It was delicious! i put on waffles, ice cream and chicken. I froze some too, not sure how it will be, but was hoping to use it when my family is here for the holidays.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anneconnell October 26, 2011

these were delicious. I had been looking for a fig preserve recipe with a low yield because figs are hard to come by around here & this one fit the bill. Reminded me of what my grandmother used to make in Alabama..scrumptious on biscuits or just spooned straight out of the jar lol..thanks for this one DiB's!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanetB-KY June 27, 2004

I have used this recipe for three batches of preserves. I added rosemary to the first batch. It's a spread I've used on pork loin, and friends raved. Also good on sandwiches with brie and turkey, or apples and Havarti...use spread sparingly. Second batch I used less water and less sugar. Last batch is on the stove now. Everyone I've given a jar to has called to say thank you and delicious! I will use the recipe only in years to come.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeannega July 21, 2014

This is a simple recipe and very good. I gave it only 4 stars because I feel it's too sweet. I only added 2 cups of sugar and it was still on the sweet side, but preserves are supposed to be sweet so it was expected. I halved the figs after soaking and then continued with the recipe as instructed. I did find it necessary to let it simmer an additional 15 minutes and even with the extra simmering, it was still runny. Since I wanted the figs to remain whole and not puree them, but also didn't want figs in syrup, I just pureed half in hopes it would thicken and it did. The reason I didn't just let it simmer longer to thicken is because I've learned from experience in making preserves that after a certain point of cooking they take on a very "candy-like" flavor and tend to loose the fresh fruit taste. Before putting in jars, I added 1 tsp of vanilla which I think I will reduce to a half next time since it robbed the preserve of some of the delicious lemony taste. All in all, very good recipe and fun to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anp626 August 29, 2013

I have three fig trees in the yard that had a great supply of figs this year. I used this receipe and used the reviews to perfect it. It was delicious. Great receipe and easy to use. I like it better without the vanilla. Use 2 cups of sugar and less water. I also cut up the figs into quarters and cook about 1 1/2 hours on a low simmer. Yummy stuff!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beachy10815_11229180 September 07, 2012

This is a great recipe! I did follow some of the suggestions like cutting back the sugar adding vanilla ang cutting figs in half and everybody loves them! This was my first time making preserves and it was sooo simple!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Icedkofe July 26, 2012
Fig Preserves