Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fig Newtons (Homemade) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fig Newtons (Homemade)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2009

      Very tasty (please see how I rate)! The dough was difficult to work with (like working with wet sand), and reminded me of a crumbly pie crust dough. Chilling the dough helped, and I think a tad more flour would help even more (like 2 cups total). What worked best for me was to divide the batch into four pieces and roll out each piece with lots of flour on a piece of parchment paper, while keeping the rest in the refrigerator. I decided to make strudel shaped cookies: I rolled out a rectangle, spooned the filling down the center and lifted the sides of the rectangle to cover the center (using the paper base came in handy). I placed the shaped logs in the freezer and when firm enough transfered to the baking pan seam side down. Also, I would suggest working with relatively narrow dough rectangles (ca. 3 inches) as the logs flattened and expanded while baking. Two pounds of fresh figs made a lot of filling, way too much than for the strudel shaped cookies, maybe layering like in the recipe would use up more filling, but it still seems that there is A LOT of fig preserve (which will be great for breakfast!).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      The dough was too difficult to work with. Too many other recipes to try. Had to piece dough onto filling. Won't make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2012

      These are delicious! I used two pounds fresh figs and my fruit layer was much thicker than in the pictures. The cookie dough is not easy to work with. I found it easiest to use my fingers to press the first/bottom half in the dish (not on sides, just bottom). For the top layer I rolled the dough between two layers of waxed paper, generously floured. Baked 40 minutes. I may also try this with some of my fig jam, only enough to cover the first layer as the jam is much sweeter. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      These turned out pretty well. Yes, the jam does get thick. Yes the dough is a bit difficult to work with. I haven't a pastry cloth, so I patted half the crust in the bottom of the pan, and attempted to roll the other half between 2 sheets of plastic. I wasn't able to get it to completely cover, but it still worked out ok. I chilled for more than 1 hour, which really made the dough too stiff. Everyone who ate them enjoyed them, but not everyone agreed that they tasted like commercial fig newtons. I sprayed the pan with Baker's Joy, which is essential to keep the figs from sticking. (Regular PAM or oil would probably have been fine.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      We loved the fig bars. I did, however, make a couple of changes. I used dried figs and did not add any extra sugar to them - just ran them through the food processor. I used a half cup of white sugar and a fourth cup of brown sugar in the crust and upped the amount of flour to two cups of mixed white and whole wheat flour. The bottom crust I just patted into the pan. I chilled the upper crust and rolled it out between two pieces of parchment. I'll definitely be making this recipe again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      Great tasting....so much better than store bought! The dough tastes good but needs some tweeking on workability. So while not pretty, very tasty, with a prolific amount of figs on my tree this year I will be making these again and again! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2010

      Way to much filling for the amount of dough. The dough was also very loose so I added more flour. I also replaced some of the sugar in the dough with brown sugar. Cookies were very tasty though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      This recipe was a total disaster. The dough wouldn't roll out. It ripped and stuck. The fis and sugar never formed a jam like consistency. Everything, like this recipe, went in the trash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      YUMMMM!!! I added the seeds from one fresh pomegranate from my yard to the fig mixture and it gave it just the right amount of tartness. These are incredible! I am bringing the pan to work tomorrow because I have no self control.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      it is to oily. I used guava paste instead of figs and tastes good. But overall it is a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

    • on August 18, 2007

      I picked up some fresh figs at the farmers market yesterday. They were probably a little more ripe then should have been sold to me. :| I wanted to use them all quickly. I too had to half the recipe. I also used self-rising flour instead. Don't get me wrong...these were not at all like factory made fig newtons that you would find in the grocery store but they were VERY yummy and satisfied my hankering for figs and sweets. I would recommend this recipe to anyone with some extra figs and extra time on their hands. I told my daughter she was very lucky, as most moms wouldn't take the time out to bake, from scratch, fig newtons for their kids. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2006

      I had 8 oz dried figs, so I halved all the other ingredients and used a smaller pan. Delicious. I will definitely make again. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fig Newtons (Homemade)

    Serving Size: 1 (103 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 315.2
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    25%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 37.2 mg
    12%
    Sodium 204.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.1 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 41.3 g
    165%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites