Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fig Jam Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fig Jam

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 23, 2009

      I am rating this 5 stars based on the second time I made this. Both times I used the ingredients as listed however the first time I cooked it for an hour but I use a wide saute pan which must evaporate at a higher rate because it cooled as hard as a rock - could hardly get a spoon into it. The second time I used a candy thermometer and took it off the heat when it hit gel point at 221 degrees (after 25 minutes) and it is a perfect consistency. Also, I didn't like the waste of peeling the figs so the second time I just removed the stems and sliced the figs and just before adding the walnuts I used an immersion blender and amazingly it just pulverized and incorporated the skins into a beautiful coloured jam but amazingly left the fig seeds whole. A very lovely looking and tasting jam. Thanks PaulaG!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      Great recipe. So easy to make and the jam was delicious (even though I forgot to add the nuts). I poured some over a block of neufchatel cheese, sprinkled with walnuts and served with sesame crackers. It was a huge hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2013

      Literally just signed up for a Food.com account to rate this recipe (and I've been using Food.com for over a year for recipes). This is THE BEST jam!!! Make it (it's so easy), don't change a thing and enjoy on everything (I even eat it straight off a spoon for a quick snack)! Thanks so much to PaulaG for sharing her wonderful recipe for us fig lovers. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2012

      Love it! Figs, honey and walnuts. I did not peel the figs and left everything in bigger chunks. Will have it dolloped on greek yogurt and along with cheese board.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      This was my first time making jam, and it was so easy. It really tastes great, another friend made fig jam with sugar instead and it wasn't as good as this one. I was worried about the walnuts, but the blended into the jam that no one would even know there were there and they added a nice flavor. Tasty thanks,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      So many figs so much jam to make….I decided to make this recipe based on the honey. Very Glad I did, love the combo of honey/figs, adding the walnuts just equals an Excellent jam. The cooking time for me took longer to get the right consistency, which was not a problem. I’ll be putting these little gems in holiday gift baskets:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2006

      Very good! Yum...! -Anita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      Darling wife says v.v.nice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      I used a bit less honey and a bit more lemon--nd then tasted before I added the nuts--and it tasted so wonderful I decided to skip the nuts. Now that the jam is cooled, the texture is lovely, the taste is wonderful. I can't wait to make a tart--a "pasta flora"--and use this fig jam as the filling. Thanks, Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fig Jam

    Serving Size: 1 (825 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 708.2
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    24%
    Total Fat 19.0 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 144.2 g
    48%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 140.1 g
    560%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    figs

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites