9 Reviews

I am rating this 5 stars based on the second time I made this. Both times I used the ingredients as listed however the first time I cooked it for an hour but I use a wide saute pan which must evaporate at a higher rate because it cooled as hard as a rock - could hardly get a spoon into it. The second time I used a candy thermometer and took it off the heat when it hit gel point at 221 degrees (after 25 minutes) and it is a perfect consistency. Also, I didn't like the waste of peeling the figs so the second time I just removed the stems and sliced the figs and just before adding the walnuts I used an immersion blender and amazingly it just pulverized and incorporated the skins into a beautiful coloured jam but amazingly left the fig seeds whole. A very lovely looking and tasting jam. Thanks PaulaG!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ronalynne August 23, 2009

Great recipe. So easy to make and the jam was delicious (even though I forgot to add the nuts). I poured some over a block of neufchatel cheese, sprinkled with walnuts and served with sesame crackers. It was a huge hit.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2FrenchCats September 07, 2010

Literally just signed up for a Food.com account to rate this recipe (and I've been using Food.com for over a year for recipes). This is THE BEST jam!!! Make it (it's so easy), don't change a thing and enjoy on everything (I even eat it straight off a spoon for a quick snack)! Thanks so much to PaulaG for sharing her wonderful recipe for us fig lovers. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tastybrunch August 28, 2013

Love it! Figs, honey and walnuts. I did not peel the figs and left everything in bigger chunks. Will have it dolloped on greek yogurt and along with cheese board.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare September 08, 2012

This was my first time making jam, and it was so easy. It really tastes great, another friend made fig jam with sugar instead and it wasn't as good as this one. I was worried about the walnuts, but the blended into the jam that no one would even know there were there and they added a nice flavor. Tasty thanks,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heatherlkwatson September 30, 2011

So many figs so much jam to make….I decided to make this recipe based on the honey. Very Glad I did, love the combo of honey/figs, adding the walnuts just equals an Excellent jam. The cooking time for me took longer to get the right consistency, which was not a problem. I’ll be putting these little gems in holiday gift baskets:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Antifreesz September 13, 2008

Very good! Yum...! -Anita

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WonderMima August 30, 2006

Darling wife says v.v.nice

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AshyBrian April 29, 2006

I used a bit less honey and a bit more lemon--nd then tasted before I added the nuts--and it tasted so wonderful I decided to skip the nuts. Now that the jam is cooled, the texture is lovely, the taste is wonderful. I can't wait to make a tart--a "pasta flora"--and use this fig jam as the filling. Thanks, Paula!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate September 26, 2005
Fig Jam