12 Reviews

A big hit at a Mexican themed party I had. I used these baby sweet peppers (red, orange and yellow) that you can get at costco, so they were bite-size. I sliced them lengthwise and stuffed them. I used Mexican chese instead of chedder, but I think next time I'll use cheddar. I broiled them for 15 minutes. They were so beautiful...

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gay Gilmore February 12, 2002

This was delicious. We substituted vegetarian ground beef (seitan) for the black beans. Will definitely make this one again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suemodikoane June 26, 2010

I had an overload of garden green peppers and was looking for a different recipe for stuffed peppers. Your's caught my eye. I'm glad it did. It's a "Keeper" for us. Your stuffing ingredients made more than 4 peppers for me. Based on some reviews, I added 1 egg and 1 Cup chedder cheese to the mix. This held the mix together. Also, I added 1 Tbl. cumin more to the mix, plus 1 diced hot pepper and 1 red pepper to the onions, when I sauted the onions. I stuffed whole raw peppers. Filled a 2 qt. glass dish. I wanted some juice in the dish and added a 14oz. can of diced tomatoes with the juice in the dish. Baked in the oven at 350 degrees until the peppers were almost tender (still had some crunch) I then sprinkled the last cup of monterey jack pepper cheese on the top and put the dish back in the oven until the cheese melted. "Oh My God"! It was awsome! Leftovers tasted better. Had some for the freezer. Defrosted those - They were good too. This is fantastic recipe. Thank you for a "favorite".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gypsygal November 30, 2012

I cut this recipe in half, and used canned corn. This was easy to make, and the filling was very tasty. As another reviewer said, it was a bit difficult to eat, just because the beans/corn aren't as smooth as say, a meaty mixture would be. I did grate my onion, because I didn't want to dirty a pan to saute them. I put the oil in the same bowl with everything else, then sprinkled the spices on top and mixed it all up, and then to layer, I put a little cheese, bean mixture, cheese. I did kind of wish I had blanched the peppers a bit, because they were so crunchy still (I didn't mind, I like red bell peppers, but wishing I had for my husband). The filling is really good, and I might use it in enchiladas or something. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 July 25, 2011

Alright, it maybe against the theme of this recipe but I put lime chicken into this and it was just, great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger's Place June 07, 2011

I thought these were pretty good. They were good and spicy and easy to put together. My bf's only complaint was that the beans made this difficult to eat. He finally settled on just picking it up and eating it versus trying to cut it with a knife and fork. I used fresh corn and cooked it for a bit with the onion. This is something I would make again if I had an excess of bell peppers. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie September 08, 2009

I made these as the recipe stated except I used green onions, I doubled the garlic and used only monterrey jack cheese. I baked them at 400 degrees for 10 minutes, then topped with the cheese and baked another 5 minutes. They were perfect with the pepper still having a nice crunch in contrast to the softer filling. I loved these! I also had some seasoned hamburger so I made a couple with a meat filling topped with cheese and my DH liked them also. Thank you for a delicious recipe that will continue to show up on my dinner table!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junebug September 16, 2007

I was a little wasn't too sure about this recipe when I picked it out, but it ended up being good and filling. We had it with tortilla chips for dinner and it was filling and just enough all on it's own. My boyfriend liked it too and claimed the leftovers for his lunch the next day. The corn gives the dish a nice sweetness so it's not too "beanie" and the cheese makes it hearty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lt. Amy June 21, 2007

These were really good and easy to make. I like the suggestion above to use small peppers. I might try that sometime.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lacey's mom May 26, 2003
Fiesta Vegetable Stuffed Bell Peppers