11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for my grandson's birthday party last weekend and it was so good. Used the mexican corn, 1 cup of chopped water chestnuts, mild salsa, fresh lime juice, and omitted the cilantro. Had to taste this with a few tortilla chips and it was addicting. :) Loved the crunch and fresh flavors. It does make quite a bit so if serving for a smaller or pot luck type gathering might want to halve the recipe. Made and reveiwed for Kitten's Recipe Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 May 25, 2010

This is delicious!I had been wanting some Jicama, love it, and the rest of the ingredients I had in my pantry except for the tomatoes. This goes with anything, or as is.It's very yummy! Thanks Sue for a winner! Made for KK's Green" forum event.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLUFFSTER March 23, 2010

Delicious salad! I only used about 1/2 cup water chestnuts and omitted the cilantro, the addition of the salsa really adds so much flavor, thank you for sharing Sue, this was made for KK's Green event

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz March 11, 2010

What a keeper this one is! Really really good, really really easy, really really healthy, really really pretty! I started the recipe without checking the pantry and it turned out my only jar of salsa was peach mango... so in it went, and it's perfect! I cut way back on the cilantro -- probably ended up using 1/4 cup chopped. I served this as a cold side salad, but I can also see it as a dip. And I think I'm also going to try it as burrito filling with some refried beans. Wouldn't that just be one filling, tasty and healthy main dish?! Can't thank you enough CoffeeB for this winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wish I Could Cook September 12, 2009

Very easy and love the colors! I did use half the cilantro and thought that was plenty, and wished I had reduced the lime juice. Both ingredients are a matter of personal preferences as I can see by the other reviews. Thanks CoffeeB for sharing. Made for Theirs, Yours, and Mine tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal September 07, 2009

This is exceptionally good! I followed this exactly, except instead of canned corn, I used fresh corn taken from the cob. After a period of time spent in the icebox, maturating, it was time to devour! I loved the use of salsa *along* with the fresh here. I used tortilla rounds and piled the salad on top of one of those, while the other tortillas were used for dipping. Perfect and thanks for sharing this recipe with us! August 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm August 30, 2009

This was very good. I did change it a tad bit: I used pinto beans, 1/2 hothouse tomato, no lime juice or cilantro but I did add some minced jalapeno and used the chopped water chestnuts. Even though I changed it, I loved the idea of adding salsa to the mixture. We loved it and is going in the keeper file! Thanks for the idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty August 29, 2009

Delish - but mine was an adaptation of this recipe by skipping the salsa and only using 2 tomatoes. Great with burgers! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ August 21, 2009

Very easy and a nice blend. Excellent with tortilla chips. I used a mild salsa, and it was very good. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews February 20, 2009

Loved it. It was so easy, the most time consuming part for me was washing the cilantro, picking the leaves off the stems, and patting them dry. Everything else went very fast. I used water chestnuts instead of jicama due to availability, Chi Chi's medium "Fiesta" salsa and Muir Glen diced Fire-Roasted Tomatoes. This was not very spicy, but it's a great party dish. The recipe made 2 1/2 quarts. Thanks for posting, CoffeeB! Made for Potluck Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL December 22, 2008
Fiesta Salad