Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fiesta Cucumber-Corn Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fiesta Cucumber-Corn Salad

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on February 23, 2004

      This was a wonderful refreshing salad we enjoyed for dinner tonight. The only change I made was to use fresh lemon juice instead of vinegar and I used 3 fresh tomatoes(large) instead of stewed ones. I didn't use any garlic in this. This recipe is a keeper!! Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2014

      I will refrain from a star rating, because I changed the recipe. I really like the idea here, but I tried to make it without cilantro, because we don't care for it. And the result was a bland dish. I will try again with more varied seasonings. Serve with quinoa w/taco seasoning on the side to add protein.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      Loved it. Modified like others suggested, with red wine vinegar, lemon juice and I let it sit in the frig for an hour. I snuck in one finely chopped jalapeno and added Tajin Chili/lime seasoning. Will make often, for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2012

      Easy to make, tasty, fresh, crunchy, a great side dish for something creamy. Definitely recommend you make it and let it sit for at least 30 minutes to let all the flavors combine. I did and it made a difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2011

      Great recipe, I changed it a little because I had an extra little while. I used my bbq grill and cooked fresh corn on the cob and the bell peppers until they were slightly blackened. I then rapidly cooled them on ice and cut the corn off the cob and cut the peppers up.

      I used four cobs of corn (roasted on bbq), two cucumbers, two fresh tomatoes (seeded and cut), 1 bunch cilantro (diced), 1 and a half teaspoons crushed cumin, one green and two red bell peppers (roasted on the BBQ and diced) two Tablespoons vinegar, one and a half tablespoons of crushed fresh garlic (next time I will try to roast a few cloves instead of buying a jar of crushed garlic) and one teaspoon red pepper flakes (you may want to cut that to 3/4).

      serve with some meat BBQed, something sweet like corn bread and butter with a watermelon as desert. We had four adults, three teen agers and three kids. It was a huge hit and there were leftovers that everyone wanted to save.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      We really liked this salad. It was super easy to make and really quick to put together. I didn't have any white wine vinegar so I substituted red wine vinegar. Also I used a can of petite diced tomatoes instead of stewed. Could have used a bit more cumin for my taste, but otherwise this was perfect. I can see this being a summer staple in our house. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2010

      This is great! I was looking for a way to use a cucumber since I don't normally care for them, and this was a great recipe find. I made it pretty quickly before school this morning and have already had several servings of it. I did estimate the spices, but whatever I did worked. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      Just made this pretty salad for guests who will be here in a little while. I can't wait to eat a bowl full. I made a small addition.. will let you know if it enhanced the salad or not in a couple of hours. Thanks for sharing. Later: Edsgirl, it was a hit. Thanks so much! Since I didn't have stewed tomatoes, I just used the ripe tomatoes I had. I decided to add some chopped pears and chopped mango. Since my quantities were larger, I added some lemon juice too along with the balsamic vinegar (instead of white wine vinegar) plus 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Followed every thing else as per your recipe. I am certain I will make it again as it is easy and full of zing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      This is fantastic!! I made it for Cinco de Mayo. It's great on it's own, or on top of greens. I threw it on top of some chili. I bet it would be fabu with a burger! I also used fresh tomatoes, lime juice in addition to the vinegar and I used Trader Joes fire roasted corn which added a nice smoky sweet aspect to the flavor. A definite keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      Tried this with dinner tonight and everyone loved it! This is definately a recipe that I will make again! It was a great way to use my garden cucumbers. Thank you for posting the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      This was pretty good. Shared it with friends. A nice change from salad. It kept for several days in the fridge. Wonderful way to use up some garden veggies. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      This was so simple to make yet it has so much flavor. I too used 2 fresh seeded tomatoes. I did add 1 Tbsp E.V.O.O. and 1 tsp fresh ginger and some celery, & sub'd red wine vinegar for the white cause thats what I had. Wonderful! Everyone enjoyed it. It will keep nicely at summer BBQs. Thank you for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      Easy to make. I used one green pepper because that's what was in the fridge. It was gone before the day was over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      I agree with the other reviews. The recipe seems very simple but is greater than the sum of the individual items. The lack of oil made it fresher and healthier --- but we loved it for the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      This salad was simply delicious. The only thing I changed was that I used all red bell pepper and no green, and I added a can of drained sliced black olives. Next time I think I may add some avocado as well. We had this with fish tacos, and it was a great meal. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2006

      Mmmm! Delicious! This salad is so fresh and summery tasting--I'll definitely make it again! I think in future I'll use lime juice instead of the vinegar, as I think that will enhance the fresh flavor. I also used 2 medium fresh tomatoes instead of the stewed and replaced the green bell pepper with yellow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2005

      This was terrific and quite refreshing with corn off the cob, vine-ripened tomatoes from my garden, and some just-picked basil as well. Like a previous reviewer I used lemon juice (fresh) instead of vinegar.Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2005

      I prepared this with fresh corn cut from the cob and fresh tomatoes. I also subbed an orange pepper for the red, as that is what I had on hand. I like the combination of the fresh, crisp cucumber with the smokey cumin and the heat of the pepper flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2004

      This is fabulous! I used regular white vinegar, since I couldn't find white wine vinegar for some reason. Also, I only used half of the red pepper flakes called for. I also used only chopped green pepper. Delicious! Thanks for a great recipe! Tastes better as it ages, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2004

      we enjoyed this very much. i used 4 fresh tomatoes in place of canned and added some sliced red onion. i used an english cucumber and fresh basil.this salad will be great this summer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fiesta Cucumber-Corn Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 107.8
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    42%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 483.0 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites