20 Reviews

This was easy and quick. I used 1/2 bell pepper and 1/2 onion, and added some cayenne pepper. I can't get Velveeta here, so I used regular shredded cheddar. Served with some chopped avocado on top, since I needed to use it up. It was a nice meal, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LousyChef July 19, 2015

As some other reviewers mentioned, I made a couple adjustments: used one yellow and half a red pepper, used different pasta (oops, ran out of rotini), added half a chopped medium onion, added 1 tsp. minced garlic, 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper. My DH and guest loved it!! Plus, it's super easy - like home-made Hamburger Helper with no weird additives! Thanks, loof!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky December 30, 2012

5 Stars for quick and very satisfying weeknight dinner for us, who like a little spice to our food. I used Rotel "Mexican" style (with lime and cilantro) because we love that little extra zing. I didn't have a green bell pepper when I made this, so I substituted a yellow bell pepper; DH thought green bell pepper would be better in this dish. My only complaint was my ground beef from Costco, making me swear to grind my own meat without the sinew and gristle... grr. Because I have a heavy tri-ply stainless steel chef's pot, I used 2 Tablespoons of olive to brown the ground meat so it would not stick too much to the pan. I drained the browned ground beef in a fine-mesh colander before returning to the pan with the tomatoes and water. DH said the heat from the Rotel grew with each bite, but it was never very spicy. This will be in our regular rotation. Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL June 05, 2012

I'm trying to teach my son to cook, and I thought this would be a good recipe for him to try. It turned out great! I did add some minced onion and used 1/2 beef broth and 1/2 water. The Velveeta melted beautifully and gave a wonderful cheesy taste to every bite. It's something we'll be having again -- so easy and so delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester June 03, 2012

We really enjoyed this dish, and I am adding it to my "keeper" folder. It's so easy to prepare, perfect for those busy nights when time is short but you still want a tasty, hot meal on the table quickly. I liked the spicy touch that the diced tomatoes with green chilies added, especially with the added green bell pepper. Yum. I will make this again, but I think I'll do as some reviewers suggested and add a little chopped onion, minced garlic, and maybe a little oregano next time I make this. Thanks for sharing your recipe, loof. Made for the "Best of 2011" tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal January 22, 2012

Had some extra beef broth to use up so added a little water to it to come up with the 2 cups of liquid used in this recipe, & that worked just fine! Fast & easy, this recipe is & wonderfully delicious, too! Definitely a recipe to keep on hand! Thanks for posting it! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 30, 2011

Spicy, Cheesy, & Easy! I did boil the noodles separate from the meat. I added a 8oz can of tomato sauce to the meat instead of water. I blended the Rotel in a processor then added it to the sauce. Made for Ramadan Tag 2011

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh August 27, 2011

Prep so fast I had to drag my feet to stop and in my picture a snail must have taste-tested my basil. My new hobby, snail hunting. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng July 26, 2011

Good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written and my whole family enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol October 18, 2010

This is a really good, basic recipe where you can add more vegetables, spices, herbs to fit whatever you have in the fridge. I added garlic, onion and fresh parsley and used mozzarella instead of Velveeta.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini March 16, 2010
Fiesta Beef Skillet