Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fettuccine Alfredo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fettuccine Alfredo

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2012

      I also cut the butter down to 1/4 cup and sprinkled in some garlic powder and ground nutmeg, per others recommendation. AMAZING! I will not make any other alfredo sauce ever again! Tossed in some veggies and made garlic bread on the side. Big hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      This sauce was delicious and easy and quick to make! My family loves alfredo sauce and this one was very tasty! I did use a little less butter(about 1/2 cup) and added about 4 oz. of cream cheese for the other 1/2 cup of butter. I used light cream instead of whipping cream, because that is what I had on hand and it still thickened up nicely and was good and creamy. It must be to die for with whipping cream! This also works well with leftover chicken. I added leftover roast chicken breast to the sauce and my family devoured it-everybody had seconds! This recipe works well with bowtie pasta too. I used Adobo garlic seasoned salt instead of regular salt. I will definitely make this again. Thanks Denise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      My ABSOLUTE favorite meal is fettuccini Alfredo & let me tell you this is the BEST i've ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2012

      I have been making Fettuccine Alfredo this way for as long as I can remember. I found this recipe in a (If I can remember correctly) small paper back edition of McCall's. It's an easy, delicious recipe and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a recipe for Fettuccine Alfredo. I have seen many recipes for this, some using cream cheese, others using milk. None will satisfy you like this recipe. Great job Denise!
      Just a recommendation: I keep an oven-proof bowl in the oven on low to medium so that when you are ready to serve, just pour the contents of your pan into the waiting bowl. It will keep your cream and butter from separating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      I've followed a recipe similar to this for 25 years, from the Sebastiani Family Cookbook. It calls for 1 cube of butter , 1/4 cup whipping cream, and 1/2 cup grated Parmesan for 1 lb. of pasta. The butter and cream are creamed, the cheese incorporated a little at a time and no heating is required at all, so it makes it a little easier in that respect, and the sauce can be made ahead if desired. (And I see no reason to heat it if piping hot pasta is tossed into the sauce, the pasta coats very nicely that way). I add salt, pepper, nutmeg and granulated garlic for spices. After seeing the review about not caring for crab added to this recipe, I was hesitant but I used a good guality lump crabmeat for last night's birthday dinner entree and everyone thought it was excellent. I used maybe a cup of crab and then served more on the side for those guests who desired it. Most thought it was the right amount of crab but some did top with extra. I think it is essential to use high quality crab for good results. I have also often added cooked chicken, and also cooked salmon, and both are excellent (it's an excellent way to use leftovers). I have not tried adding bay shrimp, but this is the basic recipe I use for shrimp scampi, with the addition of large shrimp sauteed in roasted garlic olive oil, white wine, garlic and lemon juice. Actually, I do often scale down the fat calories of the basic recipe using fat free half and half and cream cheese for the cream, and Smart Squeeze for the butter, for a much healthier version, but absolutely nothing beats the real deal for a special occasion. It is hands down the best alfredo sauce that I have ever eaten (and the simplicity is just another big plus)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      Lovely, easy & quick sauce - added garlic & grilled chicken

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      This is a great easy simple sauce for pasta. I used the base of this but for a twist I added some little cooked Prociutto and Gorgonzola cheese. My family went nuts and had seconds.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      I've been making fettuccine Alfredo like this for years. It is delicious. I was shocked by the amount of butter though and only use about a 1/4 cup, and it has always been a fan-favorite at my house. I also add garlic powder when I season. Add some roasted asparagus and you have yourself a meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      I forwarded this to my granddaughter and since she can cook, I will be waiting to hear from her. In the meantime, I loved the recipe exactly as written. I ALMOST had ''thirds!" Yum-O! Roz

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      Yum! I love fettuccine alfredo and this version is very simple and delicious. Thanks Denise for sharing. Made for Cookbook Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      I've been trying out several fettuccine alfredo recipes and when I found this one I stopped the experimenting. I love it! It is so easy and foolproof! For my liking, I find I can make a half batch of the sauce and still coat around 12 ounces of fettuccine. If I'm adding chicken or veggies than I do need more sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2004

      This made such a creamy sauce and the flavor is just wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2004

      I could go nothing less than 5 stars with this recipe. Until now, I have not met an Alfredo I cared for. I went back for seconds of this recipe. It was rich creamy and not over powering with Paarmesan Cheese. An excellent blend of flavors. I added 4 oz of popcorn shrimp to the sauce. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      The family loves this! It's so good I made it for the second time this evening. The next time I make this I will add some cut up chicken to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      This is almost exactly like my recipe! I use about 1/2 the butter and actually cook sliced or cubed chicken breasts in it (with garlic salt and pepper). Then I use the aforementioned 1/2 cream 1/2 milk. I like a little cracked black pepper, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      The sauce was wonderful, if I had left it alone! I added some prepackaged crab and baby shrimp. If I had not done the crab I would have been much happier. It wasn't the sauces fault I decided to mess with it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2004

      I hate to be different but my daughter and I found this to be very bland. As I made the sauce I tasted it and then proceeded to add garlic, nutmeg, salt and some other herbs and we still did not enjoy this very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fettuccine Alfredo

    Serving Size: 1 (109 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 556.4
     
    Calories from Fat 366
    65%
    Total Fat 40.7 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 24.8 g
    124%
    Cholesterol 161.2 mg
    53%
    Sodium 806.5 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 14.7 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites