Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Feta (Marinated) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Feta (Marinated)

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2010

      I was SO busy adding bay leaves (for the Herb of the month in the French forum, yes, it is BAY!) to this recipe that I forgot the thyme!! LOL! I did not miss it when I ate this, but the excess feta cheese that I put in the fridge DID have a sprig of thyme added! Phew!! Absolutely delicious and devoured with olives and a slice of fresh toast for supper last night! I used ALL of the ingredients and I cannot wait to have the rest today or tomorrow! Merci Andi, made for BAY, as you will all know by now, the herb of the month in the French forum! FT:-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      Yum! I've just tried it after three days of marinating and already the flavors have blended beautifully. The olive oil plays a big part in the flavor so I think it's worth using a really good quality one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Absolutely lovely! Simple to make, as well - this would be a perfect gift for a foodie. I can't wait until this has marinated long enough for us to try it on toast with ripe tomatoes. The only change I made was to use an organic extra virgin olive oil with herbs. Thanks so much for the recipe, Andi! And thanks breezermom for putting it in your Best of 2010 recipe book so I could tag it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      Very nice! I don't currently have a food processor (it broke recently) or a mortar & pestle so I put the dry spices in my spice grinder and just chopped the garlic & capers with a knife. I found that once this was in the fridge, the oil turned completely solid - don't know if it's the nature of oil or just my fridge temp (it is an old fridge and runs very cold). When I wanted to try some (after waiting impatiently for the full two weeks!) I had to scoop some out into a dish and microwave briefly to re-liquefy the oil, which also warmed & softened up the cheese a bit - but that was kinda nice, actually! :) I mixed in a few halved grape tomatoes and ate with slices of whole wheat baguette (toasted). Thanks for sharing this recipe Andi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Wonderful, just wonderful Andi. I actually let it sit for one week, what restraint. Sooo good. I smashed everything with my motar & pestle. My mixture resembled a thick, tasty paste. The flavor is out of this world, just perfect with light toast and sweet grape tomatoes, this made a wonderful lunch today. I plan on having the rest tomorrow in a lovely green salad with sweet onions and cherry tomatoes. Kudos on a great recipe that i plan on sharing with my friends. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Posted a photo a while back before the marinating started, but now I'm back to give an amazing "WOW" review to this fabulous feta cheese recipe. The flavors just permeate the feta....I really thought I might be eating a peppercorn...prepared to break a tooth....but no, the feta just absorbed the flavor! This is absolutely delicious! Scrumptious! I thought I had my dinner planned for tomorrow, but now I'm going to have fresh pita bread with this wonderful marinated feta, with a few kalamata olives thrown in....thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      Made a double batch of these. One will be as a gift for anyone who might drop by over the holidays or if I visit somewhere. They are both sitting in the fridge aging. They smelled so wonderful when I was making them. I did steal one to sample and it sure tasted really good. I used a mortar and pestle to crush the spices. Can't wait till they are fully ready. They keep looking at me when I open the fridge. Thanks for sharing Andi. Made as a thank you for your great hosting for Holiday Tag '09

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Okay, so I've been keeping this like a secret in a fridge in a storeroom!! This is great, Andi. The same type of thing, but not as flavourful, is sold in shops at a high price. I was generous with your flavour additives ... !! I didn't measure, just eyeballed!! Although I used maybe more of your spices and flavours, unfortunately I did not have bay leaves and used some thinly sliced lemon zest instead. It might show up on the photographs and some might wonder what it is! Thank you for a great, simple, delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      I have made this, but the taste test will only be next week! We are having friends for lunch, and this will be gracing the table. So easy to put-together, I was generous with the marinating ingredients! Now its 'hidden' in the fridge.... Really looking forward to tasting what I can see is going to be a regular..... DH has been Forbidden to taste in advance! I'll be back.......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      Superb feta recipe that beats paying a fortune for this at the supermarket. Made exactly as written and done as a video for Zaar World Tour. Thanks Andi for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      This was just too easy - and it looks & tastes so gourmet. Andi, you're a genius. Like Ma Field I believe that it is physically impossible to keep this for two weeks before opening, unless you store it in a fridge in your friend's house who lives 4 hours away then go back & pick it up - but I betya they would've eaten it. I am going to make this for Christmas gifts. I used a fresh bay leaf as this is what we have in our garden, the flavours were just yummy. Thanks for posting, made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      Dont know about warm toasts, but how do you keep it around for the two weeks???? My feta was 8 ounces but I left the ingredients stand, since you can't have too much garlic, etc... MAde for ZWT4 Zingo/ Daffy Daffodils.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      I just could not wait to try this! It has been marinating for about a week now and it is fantastic! Part of a mezze lunch! Delicious! *Made for Zaar World Tour 4*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      I skipped step 6 but otherwise followed the recipe as written. How could I wait 2 weeks to try this? And once I tried the feta, it was so good that it was soon consumed. This recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      What a wonderful appetizer! I made this several days ago and couldn't wait to try it. It did not disappoint! These are so good and full of flavor. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe, Andi. Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      ZWT4: Easy appy! Flavorful - excellent!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      I made a jar up this morning and can tell this is going to be so good. There is no way we'll wait for 2 weeks in my home - it'll probably be gone in the next couple of days as we eat a lot of feta. The seasoning is wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      I couldn't wait longer, it was steering at me and I had to try some. So I did and had to try more.. Oh no! I finished the bottle.. Opps I was meant to share this with Little Miss, don't tell her because I'm making another batch now. Thank you Andi for a yummy way of eating feta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      Well, I've let these tasty little morsels set for about 3 days now and have used them in a wonderful Greek salad. So tasty, I imagine they will be so good after 2 weeks! Thank you Andi! I 'preciate you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      I waited the full 2 weeks to serve this, that being said I tasted it at different points of the 2 weeks. At over night (the least amount of marinating time) it was good with a strong flavor of feta, black pepper and capers. At 1 week, it was very good the flavors softened, so by the 2nd week the flavors all came together and not one over powered the other, it is EXCELLENT. Next time I make this, I’ll toast those small round pita breads and chop a little bit of the thyme for garnish. I loved this, Thank you a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Feta (Marinated)

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 168.8
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    70%
    Total Fat 13.2 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 53.5 mg
    17%
    Sodium 757.9 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites