10 Reviews

my recipe is similar but instead of buttermilk i use poppyseed dressing (the white one not the yellowish tinted one) and i use dried cherries .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamakoole July 07, 2013

A chicken salad that all 3 of my boys enjoyed, so it gets 5 stars from us! I used maybe 1/3 cup low fat mayo 2/3 cup light Miracle Whip, and it had a great taste. I made it without pecans, as I didn't have any in the house, but I think they would add a nice flavor. This will definitely go on our regular menu!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichMom April 03, 2011

A very tasty salad to compliment our wonderful dinner. I did leave out the celery, but the tangyness from the buttermilk made this recipe a winner. An enjoyable salad, that is easy to prepare. This one is definately going in my cookbook for the future. Made for PRMR tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker February 28, 2009

Great chicken salad for lunch! I served mine atop shredded iceberg lettuce in a low-carb tortilla (wrap). Although I had dried cherries, I grabbed the dried cranberries by mistake and went with it! I also took the reviewer's suggestion to use salad dressing instead of mayonnaise and now am curious what mayo will taste like! Thanks, Jess! Made for PRMR Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees January 26, 2009

we enjoyed this salad, I used leftover cooked white and dark chicken and also added in a pinch of garlic powder and omitted the pecans as I did not have any, thanks for sharing Jess!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz December 30, 2008

This was a hit in my house. I did leave out the celery for personal preference. Next time, I think I'll shred a rotisserie chicken to speed it up and add a touch more mayo. The buttermilk added a nice tang to it. Very good on ciabatta bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scfl76 December 25, 2008

I used a whole cup of dried cherries & half a cup of the nuts & enjoyed this recipe immensely! I think, for me, the great & final touch was the use of buttermilk & the tarragon! Definitely a keeper of a recipe in my house! [Tagged, made & reviewed in 1-2-3 Hit Wonders]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 05, 2008

I made it with Miracle Whip and the flavor just popped! Joan Loof

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joan Loof loving Seattle October 18, 2008

This was awesome! Joan Loof

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joan Loof October 01, 2008

Interesting recipe...you either like it or don't! I had reservations, wife liked it, hence the 3 stars. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Shadows June 27, 2008
Festival Cherry Chicken Salad