13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Please omit the garlic, it does not go in this dish. Only north iranian dishes include garlic. I know only to use salt, pepper, cinnamon on this dish and I think saffaron is a waist on this dish unless you use it to decorate the rice.This dish and Khoresht-e-Ghorme-sabzi will always be served when you visit an iranian family. It is a special dish just like our american potroast for example.Those iranian dishes used to be quite labor intensive. Today we can buy many ingredients ready and have a food processor. Imagine shelling and grounding walnuts in your kitchen. As someone mentioned before if you think the dish is too sour add more sugar.There is no right or wrong way to cook it too sour or too sweet. Every iranian has a different opinion about this dish in regards to and sour or sweet. So eat it the way you like it. Serve it with a sugar bowl on the table for those sweet toothed folks.Cook it slowly over medium heat long enough ( ca. 2 hrs or more) until the oil seperates from the sauce and swims on top. Yes this is a heavy dish. I usually cook it in cooler month.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texasgal #3 July 24, 2009

This is a very easy dish to make and tastes just like what you order at the restaurant. If you are unable to find pomegranate syrup, you can use pomegranate molasses (same thing), but make sure it does not say "sour" or you will have to add a lot of sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodLover! November 11, 2005

One of the best persian traditional foods. Garlic, nutmeg, cinammon, or cardamom, and black pepper are not essential, you can cook it without them too. If you don't like it sour you may not add lime juice or add more sugar to taste or even dried plums as they are sweet in the U.S. Make sure to let it cook on very low heat for some time (2-4 hours) for the walnut's oil to separate.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
benahayat December 04, 2004

only thing i would recommend as a persian is do not finely chop the walnuts, the give a burnt taste after that long of simmering, you whatever method to get the walnuts into 1/4in pieces/

besides that its a good recipe from the looks and also i want to say for the persian grandma comment that you sound more arab than persian. grandmas is the best and grandam doesnt share with grandchild...that sounds like no persian culture i know. the owner sharing the recipe with the guest review is the persians i know. this does not deserve one star by any means.

also i would like to thank all non persians for trying out persian food which seem to always bring people closer, if youre open minded and hearted.

cheers for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
norcaljohnny April 22, 2012

soooo good. i only had real fesenjan once, 8 years ago, but... this is good food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akj123 March 27, 2011

delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephanie beach January 10, 2011

This was soooo good! I did omit the garlic though as it really isn't authentic to the dish. The leftovers today were even better! I had the pomegranate syrup in the house and hadn't used it yet in a dish. I am so buying more syrup so I can make this again! I also don't think the saffron is necessary as the other flavours are so bold they drown out it's delicate influence.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bluemonkey March 04, 2010

Nice recipe! To rooster1108 - not sure where you are but all supermarkets in the UK stock these ingredients...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knitforbrains December 13, 2008

Having never cooked anything like this before just finding all of the ingredients was a challenge! However, my Iranian guest was very impressed and so was I. Thanks, will be trying some more Iranian food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rooster1108 August 15, 2008
Fesenjan (Iranian Special Occasion Dish)