Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fesenjan (Iranian Special Occasion Dish) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fesenjan (Iranian Special Occasion Dish)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 24, 2009

      Please omit the garlic, it does not go in this dish. Only north iranian dishes include garlic. I know only to use salt, pepper, cinnamon on this dish and I think saffaron is a waist on this dish unless you use it to decorate the rice.This dish and Khoresht-e-Ghorme-sabzi will always be served when you visit an iranian family. It is a special dish just like our american potroast for example.Those iranian dishes used to be quite labor intensive. Today we can buy many ingredients ready and have a food processor. Imagine shelling and grounding walnuts in your kitchen. As someone mentioned before if you think the dish is too sour add more sugar.There is no right or wrong way to cook it too sour or too sweet. Every iranian has a different opinion about this dish in regards to and sour or sweet. So eat it the way you like it. Serve it with a sugar bowl on the table for those sweet toothed folks.Cook it slowly over medium heat long enough ( ca. 2 hrs or more) until the oil seperates from the sauce and swims on top. Yes this is a heavy dish. I usually cook it in cooler month.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2005

      This is a very easy dish to make and tastes just like what you order at the restaurant. If you are unable to find pomegranate syrup, you can use pomegranate molasses (same thing), but make sure it does not say "sour" or you will have to add a lot of sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2004

      One of the best persian traditional foods. Garlic, nutmeg, cinammon, or cardamom, and black pepper are not essential, you can cook it without them too. If you don't like it sour you may not add lime juice or add more sugar to taste or even dried plums as they are sweet in the U.S. Make sure to let it cook on very low heat for some time (2-4 hours) for the walnut's oil to separate.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2012

      only thing i would recommend as a persian is do not finely chop the walnuts, the give a burnt taste after that long of simmering, you whatever method to get the walnuts into 1/4in pieces/

      besides that its a good recipe from the looks and also i want to say for the persian grandma comment that you sound more arab than persian. grandmas is the best and grandam doesnt share with grandchild...that sounds like no persian culture i know. the owner sharing the recipe with the guest review is the persians i know. this does not deserve one star by any means.

      also i would like to thank all non persians for trying out persian food which seem to always bring people closer, if youre open minded and hearted.

      cheers for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      soooo good. i only had real fesenjan once, 8 years ago, but... this is good food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

    • on March 04, 2010

      This was soooo good! I did omit the garlic though as it really isn't authentic to the dish. The leftovers today were even better! I had the pomegranate syrup in the house and hadn't used it yet in a dish. I am so buying more syrup so I can make this again! I also don't think the saffron is necessary as the other flavours are so bold they drown out it's delicate influence.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      Nice recipe! To rooster1108 - not sure where you are but all supermarkets in the UK stock these ingredients...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      Having never cooked anything like this before just finding all of the ingredients was a challenge! However, my Iranian guest was very impressed and so was I. Thanks, will be trying some more Iranian food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      blech! nothing compared to my grandma's, but she wont give me the recipie :( I guess its different because she grew up in northern iran (tehran) and they make it better there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      My husband and I used to go to a wonderful Persian/Italian (really Persian) restaurant near our house. We moved, mourned the loss of our wonderful restaurant, and used to stop by anytime we were within an hour of the town it was in. A couple of years later, a restaurant opened in our city, run by the same wonderful people, and we were happy again. Sad to say, the restaurant didn't make it, but the owner gave us a recipe for Fesenjan, which we lost when we moved again. Much sorrow -- until we found this one on the 'Zaar!!! It's the same dish!!! It's perfect!!! We haven't been able to find pomegranate syrup or molasses anywhere here, so we substituted the cranberry juice concentrate and used pure pomegranate juice as the liquid in place of the water or stock. The recipe is fantastic, the directions easy to follow and very clear. The only thing I would do slightly differently next time is to see if I can find unsweetened cranberry juice concentrate, and probably add a little more lime juice -- we like it really tart. The other thing I have to do is see if I can find a way to reduce the total sugar in this (I'm prediabetic) and maybe a way to skim off some of the walnut oil (not all, but those walnuts really produce a lot of oil through the cooking process). It is fabulous, fabulous, fabulous, and completely perfect with properly cooked basmati rice, saffron, and a roasted plum tomato -- just the way our favorite restauarant served it up! Thank you so much KerryBnTx!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      This is the best Fesenjan recipie I have ever come across.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fesenjan (Iranian Special Occasion Dish)

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 432.8
     
    Calories from Fat 368
    85%
    Total Fat 40.8 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1165.6 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pomegranate syrup

    stock

    poultry

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes