10 Reviews

I haven't made the salad yet, but I too, am giving it 5 stars for the story! Thanks for making me LOL and make tears run down my face!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meekocu2 August 08, 2011

I haven't tried the recipe yet but it sounds great. I am giving 5 stars for making me laugh out loud at work. This was too funny.......now I can show my friends and family your story so they won't try to trick me on that monster wheel at the State Fair.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Equusjoy July 21, 2008

Very good and easy to make. It makes a nice lunch for me with more leftover for another day. I added a little chili powder as well. I also enjoyed the story!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 January 15, 2008

Boy, howdy---I think I liked the story better than the salad, which is saying a lot! Yarn spinners abound in the Lone Star State, but you should inaugurate a storyteller's event -- betcha you'd ribbon big! Anyway. Recipe's great; used Roma/plum tomatoes instead as that's what I had and they're easy to de-seed, so salads are less watery. Also left out cumin, cause family isn't partial to it, but recipe still rocks! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamom in Illinois August 15, 2007

I made these today for my mother to take to work. She just called raving about this recipe, and how this has to be her new chicken salad recipe, and I MUST give her the recipe. 10 stars from my mother, which is really 1,000 since she never likes anything!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme April 25, 2007

Not sure of which I enjoyed more...the intro or the recipe! Both were five stars. I did "tweak" it slightly. I only had two avocados, so I chopped those and added some hearts of romaine (to increase our veggies!)I also added some Anaheim chile powder to the dressing but after tasting the salad---it was so yummy neither one of us used any dressing! I'll save that for tomorrow (but it will have to be for another salad cuz there are NO leftovers!) Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta April 12, 2007

Yummy texmex style salad! I thought it needed little extra something and threw in 1 tbs of fajita seasoning and topped it all with some crumbled nachos from the bottom of a bag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare November 24, 2006

Yes this is a winner, blue ribbon winner at the fair! Well, tomorrow was a good month away but I finally got around to it. Thanks@

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song July 09, 2006

Suz, I made your recipe exactly as written. I twirled around my kitchen w/the dressing & shredded the chicken then as well to save time. Your SIL wasn't here, so I knawed on 1 of the cats during the shredding. After I disposed of the no-longer-usable chicken the cat knawed on out of fright, I decided to make a 1/3 version. I never saw Las Vegas, but I did take some Dramamine & a 2-hr rest to settle my stomach b4 I tasted the chicken. It was TDF! The recipe is perfect, but the prep is just a little challenging. Oh, I see what I did wrong. I got your intro & the prep reversed! Love the chicken, but FYI ... toothpicks don't work very well on cat fur!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis June 17, 2006

Tried it...the recipe, NOT the ride! I hate heights....the story was GREAT, so I had to try the salad. It is a new favorite for me and I will be making it all the time, I'm sure. I did have to fight my little brother out of it, so I know it's not just MY opinion. That darn little piglet only left me about 1/4 of it! Thanks for the great story and for the great recipe....I'm so glad us southern girls have such a good sense of humor about stuff!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherrybeth June 13, 2006
Ferris Wheel Chicken Salad