Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fennel Spice Rub for Turkey (Michael Chiarello) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fennel Spice Rub for Turkey (Michael Chiarello)

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2011

      This is fabulous flavor spice combination!! I used it on our turkey ...that we bbq'd today on the rotisserie! No particular spice stuck out...we couldn't identify them...but wonderful flavors!!
      I can't wait to use the left over spice on something else!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      This is fabulous on leg of lamb-I really rubbed it on in the AM put it in the fridge and roasted the lamb in the normal way. it is heaven! Thanks Mean chef for sharing this recipe. I am storing the remainder it in a sealer in the freezer. As said the recipe makes apprz 1 1/2 cups I used about 4 tbsp on the lamb Additional comments 15 March- I rubbed the lambchops with the fennel spice in the morning, pan fried them for supper 5 minutes each side and when I flipped the chops put 1 tsp of Lingonberries on each. Fabulous flavour combination 11 April 08 Try this on a sreak - great flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      Magical spice mix! Used this in Mean Chef's Pork Tenderloin with Fennel Spice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      I used this spice rub on a pork tenderloin for Pork Tenderloin Pita Sandwiches. It was very flavorful and produced a great tenderloin for the sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      mmm rubbed this on pork tenderloin...seared it in a pan then finished cooking it in the oven. delicious. next time tho i'll add more of the rub since i wasn't sure what to expect i kind of just "sprinkled" it. i even tried this on shrimp. marinated shrimp w/ the spice rub over night in a zip lock bag and threw it in a pan w/ buter and garlic and mmmm. i actually thought i burned it since i got held up w/ something but was left w/ tasty bits instead. will definately be using this rub on alot of things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      I made about half of this and grind just a bit at a time, keeping the rest frozen. I have used this with chicken salad, egg salad, tuna salad, scrambled eggs - it really adds a lovely flavor. I will have to try it on something roasted too, one of these days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      Outstanding on Bergy's Pork Loin Rib/rack of Rib for Two. A most unusual but enticing exotic fragrance fills the house when I'm toasting this in the skillet,grinding up in the blender, and roasting on a roast in the oven! And what a delectable result! Thanks for your posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      The mini food processor didn't work. The electric coffee grinder did a great job. A friend has one just for spices. This was great on turkey and really good, but a bit strong, on chicken breast. The flavor is really good and unique. I'm thinking of more foods to use it on. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      Yum, yum yum!! I made up a half quantity, unsure if we would like it, but I have used it on barbecued pork loin, griddled chops and sautéd chicken breasts. I even travelled on holiday with a small jar of it- used it once and then donated it to my friend to jazz up the pork loin she was cooking the day we visited!! Fortunately she loved it too! Thanks! Off I go to make a second batch...!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2006

      Me too! We loved this on pork chops, and on a pork loin roast...it was everything previous reviewers have reported... the meat was flavourful and moist..wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      This is excellent. I was a little concerned that the fennel would overpower, but the flavors came out very well balanced. I actually used this on pork tenderloin, as recommended in another recipe, and it was wonderful. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2005

      Great recipe. The whole house smelled like licorice after toasting the seeds. It tasted quite different when cooked, though. The blend is fabulous on pork tenderloin. Since I first reviewed this recipe I've tried it in numerous ways, and just love the seasoning. Most recently I brined a three pound pork loin for several hours, dried it off and rubbed it with olive oil and this seasoning. Then I grilled it over indirect heat (after searing over the flame til brown on both sides) until the internal temp was 145 (about 40 min). Let it rest under foil for 10 min before slicing. WOW! Best, juiciest pork we ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2005

      This tasted great on some fried eggplant I had. I'm looking forward to trying it on other dishes. Thanks Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2005

      This is rapidly turning into one of my favorite seasonings.I've used it in a bean soup, which was delicious, and it turned a rather mundane grilled cheese with sourdough into something special! A keeper, that's for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2005

      Very good seasoning to have on hand. I used a touch of this in my Italian bean soup gave it a nice flavour change.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2005

      I was afraid this would have an overly licorice taste but fortunately it did not. My husband and I loved this. We used the rub on a whole roasted chicken. The skin, which we usually discard was crispy and delicious. Looking forward to testing this rub on other meats and vegetables as suggested by reviewers. We have already planned a meal using the fennel rub on pork. I cut down the recipe by 3/4 but yet have enough remaining for other meals. My friends will be happy to have samples of this spice rub to try. Thanks for sharing a great recipe, MEAN. CG ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2004

      Delicious! I completed the first three steps. I didn't grind it. I placed it in a jar and froze it. When I need some I stir it up and spoon enough into the spice mill, and grind it fresh. Stir in the proper amount of salt and it's ready to go, at full flavor, as if I'd just made it. Grilled tenderloin chops liberally crusted with this is the stuff of sagas. Thanx for posting this great recipe. Pierre

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2004

      I'm addicted to this stuff... there isn't much I haven't tried it on. I've put it on pork roasts, beef roasts, roasted veggies, and I even added some to scrambled eggs! This recipe makes a lot, so I've given some away to friends (and gotten rave reviews!). Thanks again, MC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2003

      This is just what I've been looking for, "all-purpose", MeanChef. I used it several times during the holidays - super - and have passed it on. Great with pork ribs and chicken thighs especially. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fennel Spice Rub for Turkey (Michael Chiarello)

    Serving Size: 1 (13 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 30.9
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    40%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1751.4 mg
    72%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white peppercorns

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites