9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh boy it sure is, I made this the other night using the other recipe as a guideline and the smells in my kitchen alnost made me faint. LOL. I love curry. The only thing I would change is I won't add the nilk at the end because it really changed the entire taste and texture of the sauce. as a thickening agent I will use some potatoes that were cooked alone ine the sauce. All in all an amazing combination. Tarra

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarra1 April 27, 2007

I made this recipe during the last RSC to use as an ingredient for another dish...and I must have forgotten to review it. I have since added this spice to so many dishes. It is absolutely fabulous on home fries! This is a wonderful blend of spices, and I agree try to grind the spices from their whole state rather then using the ground spices..... I love this blend... you could market this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper June 18, 2006

I made this today and was really impressed. I liked it alot. It is mild, sweet, and with just a hint of heat. I think this will replace the one I have been purchasing from a mail order supplier. The smell was heavenly as the spices were grinding. I did have to sub a bit of anise for the fennel as I was out. I also only used 1/4 t of cayenne as I was after a milder curry powder. Wonderful recipe Femmes! =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D March 04, 2006

SUPERB! If we could out 5 + stars I would. I like this not too hot and yet goves a distinct spike in the thermostat. The blend of spices is great. My kitchen during the grinding was mmmmm mmmmm good.Thanks for a great recipe, making an extra jar to take to daughter on visit. Her, I will double the cayenne as she likes HOT.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie March 02, 2006

This is Absolutly Fantastic!!! Everyone loved it, I actually made two, one as following the recipe for the mild-medium lovers, and a Very spicy one for dh and myself. Oh so good, will use this forever, can't wait for the rest of the family to try this one!! Thanks Femme for the great rub!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bradshaw Brood March 01, 2006

5 Stars!!!! Warm and spicy just like the tropics, a little heat, a lot of flavour and a great mix of wonderful aromas that will tickle your tastebuds and delight your senses. This is as close as you are going to get to the Caribbean without packing your bags.... Dreaming of that tropical holiday? make this and bring the Caribbean to your kitchen :) Thanks !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch March 01, 2006

This is a DELICIOUS curry mix that I can highly recommend. I used a lot of whole spices and ground them. The flavour is fantastic. Such a quality cannot be bought in a supermarket. Thank you Femmes' Revenge for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigerduck March 01, 2006

Fabulous curry mix. Perfect as is for a mild to medium curry. Easy to ratchet up with the addition of more cayenne or other chilis. You're an artist--and what great timing given the Caribbean theme of this RSC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate March 01, 2006

Wow is all I can say! Femme (whoever you are), you really outdid yourself. This combination of spices is FABULOUS and will be the stock curry in my pantry from this moment on (always made in small quantities with whole spices to guarantee freshness). And just in time for the RSC contest, too! How can I thank you?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens February 28, 2006
Femmes' Revenge Caribbean Curry Mix