Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Favorite Pecan Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Favorite Pecan Pie

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 04, 2009

      I live here in Texas where we are known for pecans and pecan pie. I myself have two pecan trees in my yard and use them to make pecan pies. I am always searching for the best pecan pie recipe and without a doubt have no found it. It is absolutely the best pie I have ever eaten. It is creamy and not to sweet and bakes up beautifully. After 1/2 hour of baking I do use the pie crust shield to prevent the edges from browning. A+ to this pie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      A thunderous applaud from my squeaking sofa springs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      This is a really good pecan pie recipe. I've never made pecan pies before, but I recently started experimenting with them. I've tried 4 recipes so far, including one from Cook's Illustrated, and so far this is the best one. Excellent flavor! The only thing I changed was that I toasted the pecans for about 8 minutes, and then chopped them a little bit before adding them directly to the filling mix. I find that while this doesn't look as fancy, it is much easier to cut and serve with the chopped pecans. Also, toasting nuts does amazing things to the flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      This is the same recipe learned from my mother (some 60 years ago) and this is the first time I have ever seen it in print (other than hers) - cook the syrup and sugar, no brown sugar, no dark Karo, it is the best and always requested at family reunions - thanks for printing it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      This is one of the best Pecan Pie receipes I have ever tried. It is so easy to make, once set it isnt running, and it is just FANTASTIC. Other recipes have often been far too sweet, but this recipe is PERFECT. If you have any reservations about giving this a go, throw them out the window, because this is as good as it gets!! Welcome to HEAVEN!!!!

      Update - This has become a recipte that I cook at least once a month - for a variety of occasions. I have found that if I prepare 2 larger pie crusts, then add more nuts, the caramel filling will spread across 2 pies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      I love this recipe. I used to make it years ago and have been looking for it so I can make the pie again. Thanks for posting it. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      I am so glad I found this recipe. It is in my cookbook (SL) at home and I am not at home. I made this pie for a pie auction once and the man that bought it made his wife call me and ask for the recipe because he said it was the best he ever ate. I think she was a little offended because she is an excellent cook and had been making pecan pie for him for over 40 years :) Anyway, I recommend this recipe to all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      I recently lost one of my Southern Living Annual Recipe books (from the 1990's) containing this recipe. Thanks so much for posting this one as it is without a doubt the absolute best pecan pie in the world. Beautiful to look at and great to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      This was pecan pie at its finest! I didn't change a thing and pie was done in 55 min. I do use a pie shield around 30 min. to prevent over browning of the crust. This was my first time using 4 eggs and it is the way to go! I could not believe the butterscotch flavor and my filling was "to die for" texture. I also arranged my pecans and my pie looked beautiful. You can't go wrong with Southern Living. It's a favorite cookbook of mine. Thanks LonghornMama, for posting my new favorite pecan pie. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2006

      mmmmm-mmmmmm good. I made this for Thanksgiving and it didn't last long. DS and DD couldn't wait for this pie. They loved it, as did the rest of us. Thank you for such an easy recipe for a favorite in our house....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      Go mama go....this one was so easy and so good! The only change I made was to use vanilla, butter and nut flavoring instead of plain vanilla flavoring. To me, it just gives it a richer flavor! THANKS for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

      This was a really easy pecan pie to make. Flavors blended together well. Texture was perfect. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Favorite Pecan Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 555.6
     
    Calories from Fat 273
    49%
    Total Fat 30.3 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 10.7 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 123.5 mg
    41%
    Sodium 353.0 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.9 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 37.0 g
    148%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites