14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow! These are so good!! It's the first recipe I've tried from this site, and if the others are like this, I have found a winner site! My kids and my husband loved it! We had it over rice with some green baens and a salad. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NickandSally October 29, 2002

This is soooogood....every bit as good as Sarah says it is. I served it with brown rice, for we like the chewy texture of it. It will most definitely become an often used recipe of mine.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoSpringChicken October 29, 2002

I've been using this recipe for a few months now to make "hamburger steaks" of sorts. (I use a 1/4 pound patty maker to shape them.) My husband I really like it; and the gravy is awesome. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ransomed by Fire September 19, 2011

Boy oh boy were these great! The sauce could've been a little bit thicker (according to my hubby) but the flavor was great! I didn't think this was a fussy recipe at all. I did cheat a bit. I used pre-frozen meatballs so I could just skip that step. Great dish all around!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama_Jennie June 08, 2008

Delicious! Although for our family this really is more like 10 servings than 6. I used equal amounts of pork and beef and I served this with homemade noodles...yum! Thanks for the awesome recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JacquelineS July 02, 2006

I agree with another reviewer who said this was a "high maintenance" recipe, but worth every bit of the effort. The juice didn't thicken with the first amount of corn starch so ended up doubling the amount and then the "gravy" was great. The taste of this dish is very scrumptious. Served over buttered noodles. Will definitely make again. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnetteMarie September 12, 2004

If you prefer your meals with a little more flavor, add some more spices, and perhaps garlic to this recipe. Before I make this the next time, I'll practice making meatballs. This was the first time for me and I over processed them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChicagoCatLady August 08, 2004

After all of the wonderful reviews I was so anxious to try this recipe. I'm sure the brand of broth can make a difference, but we weren't very excited with this recipe. We found it to be rather bland. I may try it again sometime using homemade broth and further seasoning of the meatball mix. I'm sure that will perk this up some. I won't give up on it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura in Texas March 13, 2003

This is a bit of a high maintence recipe in my book but every bit worth it! My family devours these meatballs every time. I've made it with both the mashed potatoes and the rice - I think I prefer the potatoes, but both are excellent. Thank you for this awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathleen Talbot March 07, 2003

This dish was a HUGE hit with my family! I halved the meatball recipe,using 1 lb. ground beef and omitting the pork. I served the meatballs over mashed potatoes. I will definitely be making this recipe again! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. December 26, 2002
Favorite Meatballs and Gravy