Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Favorite Croutons Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Favorite Croutons

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on February 26, 2013

      I like this and will make again. and, yes, watch that they don't burn. I burned my first batch! Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Excellent recipe, Jim. This recipe has many possibilites, and soooo much better than a box of croutons that will break you teeth. I had 4 small hamburger buns in my freezer. I don't like frozen bread, but hated to throw them away, so I made this recipe with the best results! I made this recipe but the only change I made was to substitue Italian Herbs for the Basil (not in my pantry). Wow! Good Stuff! The garlic and oil worked their magic on the light, airy buns. Thanks, Jim for sharing your recipe. I will be using it again on those 2 bags of hot dog buns I have in my freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      Made these for a luncheon for my godmother to go on a spinach salad and there were rave reviews! Her and her company enjoyed the slight garlic flavor of these croutons. I, of course, had to try one and I thought they were delicious as well! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      I love homemade croutons! I used 2 Kaiser hamburger buns and diced them up and added some greek all purpose seasoning along with the ingredients in this recipe. The croutons were YUMMY on my salad :) Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      Very easy and tasty- thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      Perfect! I used French bread, including the crusts. I cut my bread fairly large and it was very fresh, so I ended up baking it for about 25 minutes. Crunchy, flavourful, so MUCH better than bought. Used in a Caesar salad, the seasoning was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      I LOVE this recipe. I'll never buy croutons again. I did add 2.5 tablespoons of butter, 1/2 tsp. of garlic and a dash of onion powder and 2 T of parmesan cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2006

      These are delicious, and so easy, too! My only problem was that quite of few of them disappeared during the baking process. Better double the recipe next time. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2006

      I will never buy croutons again. Wow, these are soo good. I made them with a low carb, multi-grain bread I had on hand and even forgot to throw in the salt, they were still great. The distinct flavor of homemade makes them well worth the 20 minutes or so it took me to make and bake them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      We love these croutons!!! Why buy store-bought when you can make your own...these were so easy and so good. I used them to top a big bowl of tomato soup. Great combination of flavors. I highly recomend these to everyone. Thanks for sharing, Jim in Washington.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

      I loved these! They were excellent. Instead of tossing them in a bag I brushed them and then cut them. It worked like a charm. I also added italian seasonings to the as well. Everyone asked me to give them a bag to bring home... I guess I will have to make more.!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2005

      Made these croutons and used French bread. They got just a little dark since I got a phone call in the last 5 minutes after turning but they were still really good. Served on a Caesar salad with chicken and the dressing by Mille #15913. Excellent! Put the remaining croutons in a large zip-lock freezer bag to keep fresh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2005

      These are great Jim, thanks for sharing..after all these years this is the first time Ive made my own croutons.I used canola oil, garlic powder and served them on top of a hearty soup. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2005

      Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out Excellent! Thanks Jim in Washington....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2005

      These were excellent - I actually combined this recipe with Spicy Croutons and added 2 Tbsp parmesan cheese as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      Ah, very good! I really like the little bit of extra 'kick' these croutons have. I added a bit of thyme and rosemary to mine as well. Dried French bread cubes were perfect for this. I love how the extra spices add depth and complexity to even a lowly salad. I even crumbled some of the croutons up over the top of pasta, feta, and olive oil; wonderful any way you try them. Thanks! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2004

      Easy nice light flavor. I used dried basil that I put through my mini blender to get it very fine. My process was a bit different-I removed crusts from the bread, mixed together the oil & spices then I painted both sides of the bread slices, cut into apprx 1"x3/4" cubes and continued as per your instructions. I find that the oil is very evenly distrbuted when I paint it on. Love croutons with my salad Thanks Jim for an excellent crouton recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2004

      Jim, these are the first homemade croutons I've ever made. So easy to prepare and yummy, too! Not being in a cooking mood last night I just threw a garden salad together and added your croutons, topped with my Homemade Ranch Dressing/Dip. Made a delicious salad! Thanks for sharing. ...txgammi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Favorite Croutons

    Serving Size: 1 (13 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 55.3
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    69%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 105.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites