18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I like this and will make again. and, yes, watch that they don't burn. I burned my first batch! Thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toni in Colorado February 26, 2013

Excellent recipe, Jim. This recipe has many possibilites, and soooo much better than a box of croutons that will break you teeth. I had 4 small hamburger buns in my freezer. I don't like frozen bread, but hated to throw them away, so I made this recipe with the best results! I made this recipe but the only change I made was to substitue Italian Herbs for the Basil (not in my pantry). Wow! Good Stuff! The garlic and oil worked their magic on the light, airy buns. Thanks, Jim for sharing your recipe. I will be using it again on those 2 bags of hot dog buns I have in my freezer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie January 03, 2009

Made these for a luncheon for my godmother to go on a spinach salad and there were rave reviews! Her and her company enjoyed the slight garlic flavor of these croutons. I, of course, had to try one and I thought they were delicious as well! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerysummersun July 20, 2008

I love homemade croutons! I used 2 Kaiser hamburger buns and diced them up and added some greek all purpose seasoning along with the ingredients in this recipe. The croutons were YUMMY on my salad :) Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. May 04, 2008

Very easy and tasty- thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Munchkin Mama December 16, 2007

Perfect! I used French bread, including the crusts. I cut my bread fairly large and it was very fresh, so I ended up baking it for about 25 minutes. Crunchy, flavourful, so MUCH better than bought. Used in a Caesar salad, the seasoning was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paja October 21, 2007

I LOVE this recipe. I'll never buy croutons again. I did add 2.5 tablespoons of butter, 1/2 tsp. of garlic and a dash of onion powder and 2 T of parmesan cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buckeyemom4life January 22, 2007

These are delicious, and so easy, too! My only problem was that quite of few of them disappeared during the baking process. Better double the recipe next time. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao May 29, 2006

I will never buy croutons again. Wow, these are soo good. I made them with a low carb, multi-grain bread I had on hand and even forgot to throw in the salt, they were still great. The distinct flavor of homemade makes them well worth the 20 minutes or so it took me to make and bake them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefTraylee May 07, 2006

We love these croutons!!! Why buy store-bought when you can make your own...these were so easy and so good. I used them to top a big bowl of tomato soup. Great combination of flavors. I highly recomend these to everyone. Thanks for sharing, Jim in Washington.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot February 19, 2006
Favorite Croutons