Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Favorite Chicken Thighs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Favorite Chicken Thighs

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on July 10, 2011

      I thought I had already written a review, but apparently I didn't.
      This recipe was a wonderful surprise! I had my nieces and one of my nephews over (7,8,10) and they are the pickiest eaters ever-and they don't like the same things. I was SHOCKED when all three of them devoured these, even with the little bit of spice on it. I made them with chicken drumsticks, skin on, so the kids could pull it off and take down the spice a notch if they wanted. I made 10 total, in addition to a pizza and some roasted pork (again- pickiest kids ever- I always have to have more than 1 thing or someone will refuse to eat), and everything else was more or less untouched. More left overs for me and the hubby, but still! We also thought this recipe was great for us.

      Forced alterations, which turned out great:
      I didn't make gravy, and I substituted all spice for ginger as I discovered I was out mid-cooking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2004

      Very good. Very tasty and easy to make. My husband was able to make it, and he never cooks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2003

      My picky family really liked this recipe. We all liked the lime/ginger flavor, and we just loved the red pepper flakes. In fact, we may use more pepper next time. I will use a little less soy sauce, though, because I thought it was a little salty. I didn't make the gravy - didn't need it. Thanks for sharing, ellie2.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2003

      These were good, a little hotter than we like. Another time I would cut way down on the pepper flakes . Really like the lime flavour and I think the red pepper overpowered it. I think the garlic, ginger and cinnamon is enough, and a good combination, giving a lot of flavour. I served it without the gravy, may try the gravy next time. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2013

      I scaled this back for 1.25 serves and used 2 skinless chicken thighs which I marinated in the mixture for about 4 hours but as the ovens were full and the stove top was empty I sauted them off in a small skillet for about 10 minutes total and the DM thoroughly enjoyed just as we did our hot curry beef pies. Thank you ellie_, made for Name that Ingredient tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      We really liked this recipe. The flavor combination was unusual and not too overpowering. So simple to prepare and the thighs were tender and juicy. I'm looking forward to the leftovers. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      I'm not going to rate this, but of all the recipes I have tried here this was my least favorite. I really did not like the flavor of this dish, I took a couple of bites and that was enough. I don't see how children would like this, the flavor is so intense, children for the most part just like simple taste. My husband did say he liked it and asked me not to throw the left over chicken out, so I won't. Different taste for different people. This really is not a simple tasting dish but the chicken did come out tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      This had so much flavor! I wasn't able to eat it that day, so I just left it in the fridge and cooked it the next day. It had great flavor without the sauce, but I still decided to make it. I used arrowroot to thicken it instead of cornstarch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      This was an excellent chicken thigh recipe that My family would love me to make again. It is similar to a recipe I've used in the past stewing the chicken on top of the stove, however the ginger and cinnamon are quite an unexpected pleasure! I didn't have the red pepper flakes, so instead I added some chopped onion. I didn't bother with the gravy either, as I served it with the Baked Garlic Rice pilaf recipe, but I think it would be great if I served it with mashed potatoes. This was a great Recipe, thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      A delicious and delightfully easy recipe to prepare... I got a great deal on leg quarters at the grocery store and this recipe was exactly what I was craving... The marinade smelled heavenly when I mixed it up and as the chicken was baking in the oven, it absolutely drove my BF and I nuts!!! I only marinaded for about an hour this time but I think I will marinade it just a little longer next time... My chicken thighs were done in about 35 minutes and came out really moist and tender. I also did not make the gravy... I don't think it really needed it... the flavor was just terrific! I served it with some steamed broccoli and Baked Garlic Rice Pilaf... My BF said it was one of the best chicken dishes he has tasted... Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2007

      A wonderful and easy recipe! I cook for my stoke disabled sister and she was tired of chicken until I found this recipe. She asks for it often. Even thinks her big brother is becoming a good cook. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      Great recipe!! I got caught up in traffic so I was late getting home and didn't have time to marinate for the full hour but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and it was super! Will be doing this one again for sure. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      This was really great. Just spicy enough to be flavorful without being hot. Did not make the gravy. Highyly recommend

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      Ellie!!!!! These were DELICIOUS!!!Did you hear me?!?!?!?! SOOO Good! Loved them. Did not make the gravy, just used the juice left in the pan. I made some sauteed bok choy and rice with this wonderful dish. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      We really liked this recipe; I think taking the skin off the thighs really let the marinade infuse the meat. Who would have thunk cinnamon would add such a depth to this rather normal soy marinade! I did not make the gravy. Thanks, ellie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2006

      I prepared this on a whole chicken, injecting and and using some of the marinade on the outside (along with the lime). I let it sit in the fridge for 2 hours and baked. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      Fabulous! My DH has now asked me to make this marinade for different kinds of meat. We marinated steaks in it last night and it was even better than the chicken thighs, but the thighs were awesome I have to say! Thank you for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2006

      Even thou my son read the amount of red pepper wrong BY 6 TIMES the amount called for. It was still very good!! I liked the light taste of lime, ginger and the right amount of heat for me! I used low sodium soy sauce and marinaded the hind quarters for 7 hours. I will be using this one again!! Even with 1 Tablespoon of red pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      My husband gave this recipe two thumbs up! I made half thighs and half drumsticks and cut back the red pepper flakes to 1/8 of a teaspoon. I like a little spice but my stomach is very sensitive so I have to take that into consideration. It made a nice meal served with rice and green beans. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2005

      this sounds and looks yummy, i think i will make it for dinner tonite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Favorite Chicken Thighs

    Serving Size: 1 (174 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 420.5
     
    Calories from Fat 265
    63%
    Total Fat 29.4 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 143.2 mg
    47%
    Sodium 2141.5 mg
    89%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 33.5 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes