Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Faux Ta Toes - Low Carb Mashed Potato Substitute Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Faux Ta Toes - Low Carb Mashed Potato Substitute

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 05, 2014

      I was looking for a new way to prepare cauliflower and found this recipe. I did not use a food processor to blend until smooth, but instead mashed with a Stainless Steel Pasta Ladle; it was all I had. I loved the texture. I used about 6 ounces of creamed cheese, but could have used the entire package. I added a heaping teaspoon of prepared minced garlic, a generous sprinkle of coarse salt, and pepper. The only recommendation I would make is to be sure this isn't the only thing you're having for dinner; I ate over half of the final dish, and now have a tummy ache. It was that good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      I made this tonight with a low carb salisbury steak recipe and what a perfect side dish! I also added garlic & some colby jack cheese to this recipe and it was a hit! Thank you for sharing KC !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      I was missing mashed potatoes so much, this was a great substitute. I would use a little less cream cheese next time to make it thicker. I also added some bacon bits to the recipe. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      I made this last night and I felt like it was too runny. There is another faux-tatoe recipe that calls for 3oz cream cheese and a little butter and garlic that I prefer over this. BUT it is a sub for mashed potatoes so that makes it good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

      I LOVE creamed cauliflower! I didn't use cream cheese, so it turned out a little soupier, but the taste was fantastic, especially with a pinch of nutritional yeast for a cheesy taste! This is a great way to get in your veggies and still feel like you're having your comfort starches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2004

      This is a great substitution for mashed potatoes even if you aren't watching your carbs. It's quick and easy and very tasty. We loved it. For variety, you can add some garlic although it was perfect for us just as it is. Thanks again, KC Cooker, for sharing another great dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2004

      YUMMY, YUMMY! I just loved this simple, tasty dish! I added some fresh garlic as well, but otherwise made it as printed, and whipped until smooth as my daughter doesn't like "chunks". Thanks so much for posting a great low-carb alternative recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2004

      Very tasty, but I wasn't that crazy about the texture of the shmooshed cauliflower. I guess I will have to stick with mashed potatoes. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2004

      Yummy. Not too bad for a low-fat sidedish that only has 73 calories. I added garlic and low fat shredded cheddar cheese and whirled everything together in the food processor. Very easy to put together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Faux Ta Toes - Low Carb Mashed Potato Substitute

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 155.8
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    76%
    Total Fat 13.2 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 41.5 mg
    13%
    Sodium 140.6 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes