Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Faux Montreal Steak Rub Seasoning Mix - Substitute Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Faux Montreal Steak Rub Seasoning Mix - Substitute

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2013

      this isn't the real thing. It has dill seeds, coriander seeds, caraway seeds, minced garlic, minced onion, black pepper and coarse salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      Excellent! Easily as good or better than the packaged stuff, and a heck of a lot cheaper to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      Better than the real deal! I prefer making my own spice mixes, since hubby & daughter have migraines I try to avoid preservatives. This is very handy, and made the BEST BURGERS tonight. Thanks a ton!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      Made for Gluten-Free Recipe Tag. Gluten-free has always seemed something of mystery and intrigue. This was great! ...going off to be thankful now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      I had just finished making my own montreal seasoning from eyeing a sample of Grillmate Montreal Seasonng when I found this recipe. I identified all of the seasonings listed on Marta's recipe except from oregano and mustard seed. I'm sure these additions only improves the flavor. The Grillmate recipe seems to have some oil added, but I decided not to add it to mine since I tend to spray my steaks with olive oil so the seasonings stick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      More potent and far better than store-bought. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Excellent rub!!! Thanks for the recipe. So good I'm having it again tonight. I'd recommend making a larger batch to have some on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      I have been using a recipe similar to this one for years. This is the only seasoning I use for steaks and hamburgers! Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      I dont know what Montreal rub is suppose to taste like..But,we had this tonight on ribeyes and it was great..I will make this again..Thank U for this recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      I am going to agree with one of the previous reviewers. This isn't Fake Montreal, but in the words of my husband, "It's GOOD!" I am however still giving a big (triple batch) jar of this to my father, who is convinced that Montreal is the best thing on earth. I figure if my husband, who salts his salt, doesn't think this recipe needs more salt, my dad will love this. And so will my mom (who doesn't like a lot of salt) for a change. :) (edited for spelling)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      I used this on sirloin steaks and found it very different from Montreal seasoning. I do think I might try to use the rest of the mix on chicken. It still won't be montreal seasoning, but the flavor is nice and we will now know what to expect. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2005

      This was great! I rubbed this into steaks and then threw them into a large freezer bag and into the freezer. I defrosted them overnight and then grilled to perfection. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2004

      By far, the best rub for steaks. I've made this a few times now (using top sirloin) and you could also turn this into a Montreal marinade by mixing 1/4 cup olive oil and 2 tablespoons Soy sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2003

      Marta, I think you are dead on with the mixture of these seasonings! I added some crushed dill seed to the mixture but that is because I love dill!!! Thank you for solving the mystery of the Montreal Steak seasoning.....now I can always make it at home!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Faux Montreal Steak Rub Seasoning Mix - Substitute

    Serving Size: 1 (54 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 27.7
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    20%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1747.4 mg
    72%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes