14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this isn't the real thing. It has dill seeds, coriander seeds, caraway seeds, minced garlic, minced onion, black pepper and coarse salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jasona77 March 01, 2013

Excellent! Easily as good or better than the packaged stuff, and a heck of a lot cheaper to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dolly_Domestic January 20, 2012

Better than the real deal! I prefer making my own spice mixes, since hubby & daughter have migraines I try to avoid preservatives. This is very handy, and made the BEST BURGERS tonight. Thanks a ton!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thedixongang June 03, 2011

Made for Gluten-Free Recipe Tag. Gluten-free has always seemed something of mystery and intrigue. This was great! ...going off to be thankful now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng May 08, 2011

I had just finished making my own montreal seasoning from eyeing a sample of Grillmate Montreal Seasonng when I found this recipe. I identified all of the seasonings listed on Marta's recipe except from oregano and mustard seed. I'm sure these additions only improves the flavor. The Grillmate recipe seems to have some oil added, but I decided not to add it to mine since I tend to spray my steaks with olive oil so the seasonings stick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L1nah November 06, 2010

More potent and far better than store-bought. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
threeovens December 25, 2009

Excellent rub!!! Thanks for the recipe. So good I'm having it again tonight. I'd recommend making a larger batch to have some on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jabbo000 August 30, 2009

I have been using a recipe similar to this one for years. This is the only seasoning I use for steaks and hamburgers! Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl August 04, 2009

I dont know what Montreal rub is suppose to taste like..But,we had this tonight on ribeyes and it was great..I will make this again..Thank U for this recipe...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potluck January 29, 2009

I am going to agree with one of the previous reviewers. This isn't Fake Montreal, but in the words of my husband, "It's GOOD!" I am however still giving a big (triple batch) jar of this to my father, who is convinced that Montreal is the best thing on earth. I figure if my husband, who salts his salt, doesn't think this recipe needs more salt, my dad will love this. And so will my mom (who doesn't like a lot of salt) for a change. :) (edited for spelling)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout January 02, 2008
Faux Montreal Steak Rub Seasoning Mix - Substitute