Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Faux Ground Beef Stroganoff (Turkey) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Faux Ground Beef Stroganoff (Turkey)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2009

      We added a can of cream of mushroom because it turned out dry, but absolutely delishous! We loved the dill in it! We had no leftovers. It was quick on a weeknight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2011

      I really loved this easy recipe. So good and easy to prepare. Why didnt think to make this earlier?
      Had all the simple staple ingredents on hand.
      Also added some white wine, beef bullion,some Gravy Master, and sub'ed ricotta for sour cream and served it with mixed leftover pasta which I had in the pantry (penne and egg noodles. )
      A huge hit with the hubby. I also added green peas.
      Made a good amount for leftovers.
      Thanks for posting, dgpat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      Absolutely delicious! This tasted so much like beef. DH loved it as well. I used extra-lean ground turkey, brown gravy mix, and fat-free sour cream. I added onion and peas as well. I also added a crushed beef bullion cube for extra beefy taste. The long simmer really makes the flavor wonderful. I served this over toast. Thank you dgpat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      On top of being easy to prepare, this meal was very yummy. I mixed in a can of green peas and cup of of cooked rice when the sauce was done, which made for an awesome one skillet meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      This recipe was amazing! Instead of a packet of brown gravy mix, I used reduced sodium turkey gravy, and I added chunks of fresh garlic while cooking the ground turkey (I love garlic). I would have added onion and peas as well, but I didn't have them on hand. This was the perfect stroganoff recipe for my husband because he doesn't like mushrooms at all unless they are hidden by lots of pizza toppings. He loved this meal so much he had two huge helpings of it. Also, I used whole wheat egg noodles (the Catelli brand). All in all, it was a successful recipe that I will definitely be using again. Thanks dgpat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      I really enjoyed this yummy, inexpensive comfort food. I used only 1/2 pound of ground turkey and just under 3/4 cup sour cream in order to stretch my food budget. I sliced and cooked 1/2 package of mushrooms and 1/2 onion with the turkey. I served it over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      I wrestled for days over how to rate this recipe. I discovered in making it that I truly do not like ground turkey, and despite the description, this recipe did not do much to change that. However, the recipe did turn out somewhat flavorful, and the meat was as moist as it ever is, I guess. I discovered I didn't have dried parsley, so I used about 1 T of fresh, used the 1/2 tsp. dill, and ended up using about 1 1/2 c. of sour cream in order to use up what was in the fridge. The other two eaters liked it, and I was also able to enjoy the leftovers with some added salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      Wonderufl dish!! I'm eating dairy-free, so I added dairy-free sour cream and my DH didn't even know. What a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      This was definitely simple for a newbie like me and good overall. I added fresh cut onions that I sauteed before adding the turkey. I didn't have sour cream so I substituted Greek yogurt and I substituted canned turkey gravy instead of brown gravy mix. I also added in a little Onion soup mix (I wouldn't do that again). Overall, I found that I needed to add quite a bit of pepper to give it a kick otherwise it would have been much blander. I forgot to mention that I added in canned sweet peas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      I didn't bother with the gravy mix and I added a good splash of white wine! This was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      This was simple and quick to do, and the kids loved it. I thought it was grainy and kind of 'off' and didn't finish mine, but anything that the kids ask for seconds on gets bumped up a rating, lol. I may play around with the idea for future last-minute meals. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      So easy and healthy and tasty. My kids loved it. I left out the dill b/c I don't like it. I added some onions and it was great. I used ground turkey breast, which only has 1 gram of fat, and I used fat-free sour cream, and it was still yummy and so healthy. Even more nutritious than the orig. recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      This was pretty good, we had it last night. Easy, too! I think it would be great, though, with the onions and mushrooms, mainly because I LOVE mushrooms. Thanks for a good recipe, this one will be going into my recipe box for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      I tried this to use up some frozen ground turkey and the whole family loved it! I didn't use the dill(don't like it) and all I had was canned gravy and it turned out great. This is so "comfort food", especially served over mashed potaotes!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2006

      I tried this recipe because I had to find some way to use the ground turkey in the freezer, and I was very pleasantly surprised! I will save this and make it again and again. This was comparable w/ stroganoff made w/ beef-In fact, my hubby and son didn't know it wasn't made w/ beef NOR the fat free sour creme. KUDOS for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2005

      This is really good. I was a little unsure at first, but it tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Faux Ground Beef Stroganoff (Turkey)

    Serving Size: 1 (217 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 406.9
     
    Calories from Fat 248
    61%
    Total Fat 27.6 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 12.2 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 144.5 mg
    48%
    Sodium 613.0 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 32.3 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes