Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Faux Febreeze Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Faux Febreeze

    Average Rating:

    188 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 188

    Sort by:

    • on September 25, 2003

      I've been using this for about a week. My couch smells good, but I wanted a little stronger smell, so I put in about 4 tablespoons of Downy in a 32 ounce spray bottle. My house smells fantastic and the cost is outstanding compared to Febreeze. I just used this on white pillowcases, and it didn't stain. And the price can't be beat! I'll be using this from now on instead of expensive Febreeze. Thanks, B!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2003

      This is right on the money! Pun intended. Make sure to use a spray bottle with a mist setting or your furniture will take forever to dry. This is great! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2003

      I loved this! Not only does it work great, I feel so economical & "house-ly" knowing that I made it. Edited to say I used 4 tbs per Denise's suggestion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      First off, I love Febreeze, but sure don't like the price. This is just as good and so much cheaper. I'm on my second bottle. I can't wait to try different scents of fabric softner. Thanks for an awesome recipe. Somebody said not to spray on microfiber furniture. Does anybody know why not? I did it before I read that, but can't see that it hurt the furniture any. Thanks. Just wanted to add - I vacuumed one cushion on my microfiber couch and it still left dog hair, so I sprayed another cushion with Faux Febreeze, let it dry a bit and vacuumed. Not a single dog hair remained and didn't hurt the couch at all. This is one awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2004

      Do you know how much imported Febreeze costs in Israel? If you can get it at all? Wine is cheaper! I'm so pleased to have found this recipe. I'm overly-paranoid because we have a dog in the house, and I don't want my house to have that pet-smell. I used some locally-made laundry softener in orchid scent and spritzed the whole house. I'm going to invite all my friends over just to come and smell my house! Thanks Bethany!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2010

      In the winter you can lightly spray this on your carpets and it reduces static. I also spray our fabric car seats so we don't get "shocked" getting out of the car.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      Hi I wanted to pop over and say that I have been using this for about two years now. I adjust the strength a little (4 oz) to use this as a de-wrinkler. I have used it for de-wrinkling clothes that I forget to take out of the dryer long long before they started marketing what you see in the stores now for the same purpose. I hardly use it for febreeze but it's great in the car for that purpose. My latest discoveries are this: It's a great softener for pesky hard to remove wallpaper. Use this stuff, a bit stronger than 4 oz BEFORE you go buy any expensive chemical..use the tiger blade thing that perforates the paper up, then mix this recipe with boiling water and spray on, then scrape with a stiff putty knife or other scraper. Works well on really old wallpaper! But, there's another great use...I used this to clean old grease film off of my upper cabinets and oven hood and vent screen. I just used a 4 oz strength, sprayed it on and used a double sided sponge scrubber to wipe it off. Also works well with magic eraser for soap scum in the bathroom. Also, softens stuck on burnt food or stove liners if you spray it on thickly and let sit overnight. It wont get burnt food right off, but it does soften it and makes it easier to remove! This stuff has pretty much replaced a lot of my old harsh chemicals and it smells so much nicer too! As an added bonus, my hands are softer after using this stuff. So, thank you so much...it's saved me a bundle. By the way, it has to be ultra downy. Snuggle or regular concentrates really don't do as well, for some reason. P.S. I send this to the military overseas and they really appreciate it because they are in smelly situations often. I have been able to send it travels well through the USPS, at least to the APO address I've been sending to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      works great , smells great and CHEAP (like me) to make. I also make my own laundry detergent and fabric softner. Yes I also use a solar powered cloths dryer AKA outside clothsline.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      Awesome! I haven't used it as Febreeze yet as I still have some in my bottle. I put 4 oz. in with the water and used it as de-wrinkler. I think it works better than the store bought stuff. I am sold on it already. I bought distilled water and tested it on a shirt that I didn't have to keep(in case it messed up the shirt). If you decide to try this, make sure you read through several o the reviews because you will get more suggestions and ideas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Made this to eliminate the odors in my son's dorm room while we were moving him out....worked wonderfully! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      Thank you so much for this "recipe"!! I made it with Downy White Lavender and Sandalwood fabric softener and it smells amazing!! I used 3 tbs and then filled a recycled febreeze bottle (27 oz) pretty much to the top. I've been spraying it everywhere!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      This stuff is awesome! I will never buy Febreeze again. When I went to the store to get the fabric softener, I saw they had Febreeze on sale...for $5 a bottle! :-O I used 4oz. of downy april fresh(I didn't like any of the other scents of fabric softener) with the 25 oz. of water and sprayed it around the house. Several hours later the scent is still detectable and the house smells wonderful. Thank you so much from a mom of a very stinky football player!! This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      I have been mixing fabric softener and water in spray bottles for years. I have serious allergies and I spray the air with this mixture to keep the dust, dander, etc. down to the carpet and vaccuum it up! Word of caution.. DO NOT spray on microfibre furniture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      I decided to try this because I used febreeze like it was going out of style. For clothes it wets them more then the real stuff even though I am using the same bottle, but I can deal with spraying them a little sooner then I normally would. As someone suggested I did a test on my carpet. I initially vacuumed and got 1/2 a bag of dirt. I sprayed then vacuumed again and got another 1/4 of a bag. The anti static properties of this really does make a big difference! From now on I am spraying before every vacuum! And it smells great to boot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2004

      This definitely doesn't need another review!! *LOL* But I had to tell you , not only does it work great for what it's actually FOR , but found another use for it , quite by accident! I keep it under my kitchen sink. Well, tonight I was doing dishes and afterwards the suds wouldn't go down ... I grabbed this and sprayed 3 or 4 times and BOOM , suds were gone and the sink smelled maaaaaaahvelous ;) Great recipe! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2011

      thanks so much for this! forgot to review, have been using this for about 2 years. works great to spray on clothes to refresh and de-wrinkle. perfect for travel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      I have been putting off buying febreeze for months, but I miss it. So happy I found this. I had a smaller spray bottle so just used way less ingredients! Wow this is perfect!! I just finished cleaning and then sprayed this and Wow I can relax and my house doesn't smell like cleaners!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      This is great as both a fabric refresher and as a wrinkle release spray! We always have it on hand! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      Amazing! I used Method brand fabric softener (water lily and aloe vera scent), making it practically all-natural and free of animal products/animal testing. It smelled way better than Febreeze. I was compelled to spray it on every fabric surface in my house, so I will definitely make this again. There is an almost-identical recipe (No-Iron Wrinkle Remover) for a wrinkle remover. I found that it worked really well for both purposes, which makes me love it even more! Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2004

      Just a FYI, I use this in a different way. If you spray your carpet as you vaccum, the anti-static properties make it easier to get pet hair out of the carpet. The smell is just a bonus! Anyone who has a pet like my sheltie will absolutely love this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Faux Febreeze

    Serving Size: 1 (709 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 21.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fabric softener

    spray bottle

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites