34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

4 stars for the original recipe, but 5 stars with reviewers' suggestions. I used about 3/4 cup Splenda; doubled the natural applesauce and added 2 shakes of cinnamon. I upped my convection oven to 325* and baked the dough in a glass pan for 45 minutes. The end result was a large, moist, yummy bread that we will enjoy many times.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick May 31, 2009

Love this! Never used applesauce as a 'fat' before, but I'm hooked. Used Doves Gluten Free flour but as recipe otherwise. Great with Nutella & strawberries as a decadent but not too sinful dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MellifluousMel November 30, 2014

My favourite low fat sugar free cholesterol free banana bread for SURE.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arianalongley July 01, 2012

I like it. I did make a few changes. I used a fresh apple grated, and used 4 bananas, I also added 1 extra teaspoon of baking powder. I did large muffins and they were a little dry I think next time I will do more grated apples and one more egg white. Overall we love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kim57buck April 01, 2011

This was really nice alternative to other banana breads. I really enjoyed it though my DH was a bit disappointed (but he's not the one watching his calories lol). I was really happy with the consistancy. I made a few changes because of the ingredients I had in the house. I used all whole wheat flour. And I only had regular (sweetend) applesauce. So I decreased the splenda to 3/4 of a cup. And I added 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1 tsp of vanilla butter nut extract. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PeanutsMamma April 20, 2010

I doubled this recipe and cut back on the Splenda by 1/2 cup (do a little taste test to your liking). Using four VERY ripe bananas, and all other items as stated, rather than loaves, I made 1/2 ounce mini-muffins. The double recipe made exactly 8 dozen muffins. Although the taste and texture was excellent, and muffins just lightly browned, I found them to be a bit dry. (No complaints from my wife, who enjoyed four or five with some sugarfree cranberry jam we make.) I baked in a commercial convection oven at 275F for about 10 minutes. Will bake again when the next batch of bananas are VERY ripe, except increasing the egg substitute to at least 1-1/4 cups, milk to 6 - 7 tablespoons and the applesauce to 1-1/2 cups for a moister batter. Should make a nice improvement. I also highly recommend mixing the wet ingredients separately from the dry, and then combining the two. This is not a batter that mixes easily by hand at all, let alone mixing everything together at once as stated, and I had to switch to a hand mixer shortly after I began. Increasing the liquids as indicated above may help a little. Loaves following the recipe as-is should be OK if not overbaked. I would test frequently beginning at about 25 minutes or as soon as I see the top beginning to brown ever so slightly -- the minute a skewer comes out clean and dry, take it out of the oven!! The mini-muffins were probably done just as the tops began to brown at about 7-8 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D'Oily Boid Catering December 17, 2009

This receipe is right up my ally, being a Diabetic I have to watch everything I eat, every once in awhile I do have the carving for something sweet, and this is perfect for me. I did however add in some walnuts about 1/2 a cup, a dash of cinnimon and nutmeg. It was absolutely WONDERDFUL. I will be making this receipe often, thanks for the great receipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia #3 June 01, 2009

I love this recipe. I read the reviews and decided to use double the applesauce. I did not have any nonfat milk so simply substituted water. I also used all whole wheat flour instead of one cup of all purpose flour. I baked the recipe as muffins at 350 degrees for 15 minutes The recipe made 16 nice size muffins . I will be sure to pass this recipe along to my family and friends that are interested in healthy living. This will be a weekly addition to my baking. Thank you for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hildy152 April 19, 2009

Great Guilt Free Bread.....You may think think wiith all that Free it woudl be Flavor Free as but you would be wrong...It is GREAT Falvor is Smooth and Bread is moist....I used only Whole Wheat Flour and and added some Cinnimon...Turned out very good. I also found taht the cooking time is off...it took about 55min to cook and I cheched it every 5min....I will split the batter nect time into two pans...I was also thinking of muffins. Highly recommend

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tammylynn #2 February 26, 2009
Fat-Free, Sugar-Free & Cholesterol-Free Banana Bread!