10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I followed this recipe exactly. The homefries were DELICIOUS! My mother and I both thought they tasted a bit like pot roast, which is EXACTLY WHY I WILL BE MAKING THEM AGAIN. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
estan86 March 25, 2013

Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherry1246 December 24, 2012

This was great! I am not a low-fat cooker or eater but the reviews were so compelling I had to give it a try. My stubborn nature did add about 2T of olive oil, oh well. These were the best homefries I have ever made. The right texture, taste . . . and not too oily! This will be one of my go-to breakfast recipes. Thank you Sarah Jayne for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma Dukes May 28, 2011

These were really great! I used sweet onions instead of scallions; I just sliced them thin and threw them in with the potatoes. They got cooked down to almost nothing, but the flavor was fantastic. I loved the texture of these, too. They are just like the fried taters at my favorite greasy spoon, only far less greasy :). I know I'll make this again! FWIW, I'm pretty sure the nutrition facts are way off. The detailed view calls for something like 4 lbs of potatoes! I used 4 regular size spuds and we had leftovers. Made for Veg*n Swap, Oct. 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian October 11, 2009

I've never done potatoes this way before. I thought they were great and I was happy that they were more on the healthy side, too! The seasonings were well balanced and added interest. Thank you for a new way to cook potatoes! ~Made for Oct. Veg*n Swap~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood October 07, 2009

What an amazing (not) fried potato recipe! We thought they tasted like potatoes cooked in butter - without the grease, of course. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe with us. We'll be making it again and again. Sherry

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry MS September 16, 2009

Thank you for a healthy breakfast side. Scaled it down for one. Added a shallot instead of scallion. Served with a poached egg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarteausucre June 14, 2009

Tasty potatoes, can't believe there was no oil or butter in this recipe! I used 2 large russet potatoes and sliced them very thin; I had a hard time getting all the slices browned, even in my 12-inch skillet. So I will play with this some more, as there are only 2 of us to feed. The seasonings were balanced well. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Sarah-Jayne, I'm on a diet, too, yet I still enjoy some potatoes, too. Made for April 2009 Veg*n Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL April 27, 2009

These home fries were quite tasty. I only used half of the chicken stock. My Mother really liked these and wants me to make them again. Thanks for this great recipe and healthy at that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4-H Mom April 08, 2009

This was easy and tasty. I only used half the amount of chicken stock. Thanks for the healthy recipe! I served it with Nif's Broiled Guinness Pork Tenderloin. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif February 28, 2009
Fat Free Skillet Home Fries