62 Reviews

Wow! REALLY good for a fat-free chocolate cookie! We were really surprised and pleased with both the appearance and texture, to say nothing of the good chocolatey flavor. Even though there's no oil, the cookies have a little crispiness on the outside, and a moist "brownie" texture on the inside. Great combination - and good even without frosting! Just made our second batch - baked them for the full nine minutes this time. Delicious! Baked them on parchment paper instead of using a non-stick spray and they came off quite easily. This recipe is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy McNeil September 06, 2012

Sorry, but these e low fat. They are very sticky after baked. Okay, but wouldn't recommend or make them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 May 22, 2012

I have made these twice now, and had great results both times. The first time I followed the recipe exactly. The second time I used half splenda/sugar, and I used about a T or more (eyeballed it) of honey when measuring out the 1/2 cup of syrup. So together the two made the proper amount. Both times I simply sprayed a nonstick cookie sheet well with cooking spray and had no issues at all with sticking. The dough is a little hard to work with as some have mentioned, but it's definitely not impossible. The resulting cookie is reminiscent of those snack wells cookies in my opinion with a nice firm outside and fudgy middle, and though they are not particularly strong in flavor they are a very nice little treat for so little calories/fat. I used light karo in mine, but would like to try them with dark sometime too. I also meant to add vanilla both times, but forgot, so maybe that would be a nice addition as well. Or perhaps even some flavored syrups like used for coffee drinks. In my oven 7 minutes is just right and you definitely don't want to overcook these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryExplorer January 28, 2012

I have made these twice and I think they are so good! Just DON'T over bake! They won't really look done but they are. Also both times mine held their shape, didn't spread out at all, so I flattened a little bit before baking. Even my teenage boys like them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fancyfrancy July 21, 2011

These cookies are very good! No problem getting them off the cookie sheet, and just the right amount of chocolate to satisfy the craving! Will definitely make them again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissaL41 July 14, 2011

For being fat free and not having any butter in the recipe, these turned out surprisingly good. However, I do think the cookies taste a little bland and I could taste the flour in the cookies. But they were chewy and soft and can probably still satisfy one's sweet tooth!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vinophile June 19, 2011

Very good. Surprisingly fudgy and tasty for non-fat cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Artemis March 19, 2011

I suppose that for a fat free chocolate, these are quite good, but I found the original cookie to be quite flavorless. I'm not a real fan of plain chocolate cookies, though, so if you are, these are probably right up your alley. I ended up adding 1 c. craisins and 1/2 c. chopped walnuts to make them interesting enough to eat. I also followed JenniCat's advice and changed the eggs to 2 egg whites and 1 full egg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EatVegans April 22, 2010

These are wonderful! I can't believe they are nearly fat free. The dough does seem very dry and stiff at first but keep at and use your hands if you have to, it works out well in the end. I got exactly 30 cookies and I thought I used more of a tablespoon then teaspoon of dough. Chocolately and almost brownie like - YUM! Thanks for sharing the recipe, I will make these again soon :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. December 31, 2009

These cookies are the greatest! I have been doing Weight Watchers and was looking for good recipe that would be few points and these are it! One WW point. I read the reviews and to solve the problem some were having with getting the cookies off the cookie sheet I used parchment paper. When I took the cookies out of the oven I moved them paper and all to the cooling rack and once cool I removed them with a metal spatula. They came off great. I also used Splenda in place of the sugar and they were fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SassyNan July 12, 2009
Fat-free Chewy Chocolate Cookies