Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fat-free Chewy Chocolate Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fat-free Chewy Chocolate Cookies

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on March 23, 2011

      These are very good! I don't understand how anyone could have a problem with these. If you sift the flour into your measuring cup then you're not going to have a problem with the dough being too stiff or hard to work with. I had no problems with this recipe whatsoever. I used Ener-G egg replacer for the egg whites and used brown rice syrup instead of the Karo for my fellow vegans and it worked wonderfully. They're nice and soft all around. I halved the recipe and they baked in only 7 minutes. I had no issues with them sticking to the pan either. I will be making these again. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      I love these!! I don't quite know if mine are fat free seeing as you cant easily get hold of Karo syrup over here in England so I used Golden syrup and they came out amazing!! Crunchy on the outside and chewy in the middle. I've been searching for a low fat cookie recipe for ages To get past the sticking issue i used a baking sheet and they slid right off. Thanks so much!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      I followed the recipe up to the Karo syrup part. I substituted that for an internet-found substitution of mixing 1/4 cup sugar with enough water to make it syrupy. I don't know what went wrong, but I strongly recommend not using that substitution. The cookies didn't turn out bad, but they just weren't that good. Stick to the recipe. It sounds like it has been pretty successful just the way it is.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Unfortunately, these didn't turn out that well for me. Stuck with the recipe and in the final result, there are a couple of things: 1. These are REALLY sweet, almost sickenly so. I had dark Karo on hand and wouldn't use it again--imparts that "raisin-y" "0h-yeah-it's-fat-free" flavor store bought fat-free stuff has. Ick. 2. They stick to cookie sheets like crazy. I used spray AND non stick pans and still had difficulty getting them off without destroying half of them even though I let them set, which the recipe doesn't mention. They also stick to each other, making a large chuck of cookies if you stack them for storage. Overall I was really disappointed with them after the buildup. Martha Stewart has a really good fat-free chocolate cookie that you slice and bake--if I can relocate it, I'll post it--Really dense chocolate flavor. Sorry these just didn't do it for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      I used 1/3 of the recipe because I wasn't sure how good they would be. Not very sweet, but tasty considering how low in fat they are. I will make again but I'll make a whole batch next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      Oh I am SO DISAPPOINTED. After reading all the rave reviews of these cookies, I had to try them. I follwed the recipe exactly and WHAT A LET DOWN these are. All I can think is that the people who gave the rave reviews must have tried some REALLY nasty cookies before they tried these, I won't make these again.. Sorry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      These were great 5 of the six taste testers of our house loved them. Only one didn't, but to be honest I think he was trying to be difficult. I added 1 teaspoon of strong coffee and a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. I will be making these often for sure. I think next time I will try the whole wheat flour as I have seen some have done, but I want to try the dark cocoa also.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      Good cookies. I shaped the cookie dough into balls the size of small walnuts and then rolled them in sugar. I then baked them on parchment paper for 7-9 minutes--no longer! They easily came off the parchment paper. I did add some chopped walnuts for interest-walnuts are healthy for you-even on a low fat diet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      Really good and easy. Obviously they have that low-fat taste-as though they are missing something. but they are just as good anyhow. Nice and chewy. If you prefer your cookies crunchy, leave them in a container with the lid open for a day and they crispen up nicely. when they are like this, they are nice dipped into coffee or milk and they just melt in your mouth :D double thumbs up

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2012

      Wow! REALLY good for a fat-free chocolate cookie! We were really surprised and pleased with both the appearance and texture, to say nothing of the good chocolatey flavor. Even though there's no oil, the cookies have a little crispiness on the outside, and a moist "brownie" texture on the inside. Great combination - and good even without frosting! Just made our second batch - baked them for the full nine minutes this time. Delicious! Baked them on parchment paper instead of using a non-stick spray and they came off quite easily. This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      Sorry, but these e low fat. They are very sticky after baked. Okay, but wouldn't recommend or make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      I have made these twice now, and had great results both times. The first time I followed the recipe exactly. The second time I used half splenda/sugar, and I used about a T or more (eyeballed it) of honey when measuring out the 1/2 cup of syrup. So together the two made the proper amount. Both times I simply sprayed a nonstick cookie sheet well with cooking spray and had no issues at all with sticking. The dough is a little hard to work with as some have mentioned, but it's definitely not impossible. The resulting cookie is reminiscent of those snack wells cookies in my opinion with a nice firm outside and fudgy middle, and though they are not particularly strong in flavor they are a very nice little treat for so little calories/fat. I used light karo in mine, but would like to try them with dark sometime too. I also meant to add vanilla both times, but forgot, so maybe that would be a nice addition as well. Or perhaps even some flavored syrups like used for coffee drinks. In my oven 7 minutes is just right and you definitely don't want to overcook these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      I have made these twice and I think they are so good! Just DON'T over bake! They won't really look done but they are. Also both times mine held their shape, didn't spread out at all, so I flattened a little bit before baking. Even my teenage boys like them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      These cookies are very good! No problem getting them off the cookie sheet, and just the right amount of chocolate to satisfy the craving! Will definitely make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      For being fat free and not having any butter in the recipe, these turned out surprisingly good. However, I do think the cookies taste a little bland and I could taste the flour in the cookies. But they were chewy and soft and can probably still satisfy one's sweet tooth!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      Very good. Surprisingly fudgy and tasty for non-fat cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      I suppose that for a fat free chocolate, these are quite good, but I found the original cookie to be quite flavorless. I'm not a real fan of plain chocolate cookies, though, so if you are, these are probably right up your alley. I ended up adding 1 c. craisins and 1/2 c. chopped walnuts to make them interesting enough to eat. I also followed JenniCat's advice and changed the eggs to 2 egg whites and 1 full egg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      These are wonderful! I can't believe they are nearly fat free. The dough does seem very dry and stiff at first but keep at and use your hands if you have to, it works out well in the end. I got exactly 30 cookies and I thought I used more of a tablespoon then teaspoon of dough. Chocolately and almost brownie like - YUM! Thanks for sharing the recipe, I will make these again soon :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      These cookies are the greatest! I have been doing Weight Watchers and was looking for good recipe that would be few points and these are it! One WW point. I read the reviews and to solve the problem some were having with getting the cookies off the cookie sheet I used parchment paper. When I took the cookies out of the oven I moved them paper and all to the cooling rack and once cool I removed them with a metal spatula. They came off great. I also used Splenda in place of the sugar and they were fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Thanks for the recipe, for a low cal/low fat cookie they are very good. I made them gluten free and added 1/2 cup chocolate chips. I will make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fat-free Chewy Chocolate Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (19 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 30

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 55.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    24%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 65.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites