8 Reviews

I thought about not giving a review on these brownies at all, they were the worst brownies we have ever tried. the texture was rubbery,the taste awful. I made them just as the recipe states,but left out the walnuts. the cook time says 35 minutes,it was more like 15 minutes. we wach tried one then threw them away.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ebrbetty February 16, 2004

This was exceptional....It really does need baking powder and i added a mashed banana...thank you for the reviews

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amanda_g July 27, 2010

The first time I've made them, and they taste delicious! I used all the suggestions from Steph82. But I think the batter fell, beause they still felt ever so slightly rubbery. Next time I wil put 1/4 teaspoon of baking powder to make it fluffier, and I will substitute the 1/2 cup of water with skim milk to add further richness. Excellent substitutions, Steph82!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
croatian.chick3 June 16, 2009

I liked this recipe. I made a couple of changes though. Instead of the applesauce, I used fat-free plain yogurt. I then needed to add about 1/2 cup water. From reading the other reviews, I decided to add 1/8 teaspoon of baking soda. The texture is fudgy and tastes very chocolaty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steph82 August 16, 2008

Definitely terrible. I think they need baking soda or baking powder!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kayty999 February 28, 2006

This must be missing an ingredient, like baking powder. They were horrible.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jangibson January 19, 2006

I personally have never been pleased with Woodruff so I haven't personally tried this particular brownie. However try using a fruit puree instead of the apple sauce such as prunes or apple blueberry or the like. Also Woodruff recommends if the texture leaves a lot to be desired add a tablespoon or two of Lecithin granules. Since you are removing the fats you need to whip the daylights out of those whites and fold them in very very gently because the air you would get from adding the fat isn't there. Just some hints for anyone who really wants to try this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drhousespcatcher July 04, 2005

Flavor good, texture AWFUL. Needs baking powder?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
controlledfreak June 28, 2005
Fat Free Brownies