22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Bravo! We now have the PERFECT cottage fries recipe thanks to you. I used three potatoes, and didn't add any additional butter or oil,may use even a little less next time. I seasoned lightly with salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, dried minced onion and some Penzy's pasta sprinkle.I microwaved for 4 mins., stirred and microwaved for 4 mins. again before browning. I received the highest praises from Hubby who loves fried potatoes. They browned up perfectly and were light and fluffy inside. Thanks so much for sharing this keeper recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview January 09, 2013

We like potatoes without peelings. I allow the potatoes to cool, then peel, slice, and brown in butter in a skillet. I usually season with salt, pepper, or some seasoned salt. Even a little cayenne is good sprinkled on while frying. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe that I have used for years.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mountainbaby January 02, 2013

A keeper
It works

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovegymnasts January 01, 2013

Easy and fast just about says it. I enjoyed these with a bit of cumin, basil, oregano, thyme, garlic salt and pepper. Used a bit less oil and butter. BF enjoyed it too. Had it with a salad topped with cheese for a vegetarian dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend January 13, 2011

I just realized I have not reviewed this. We enjoy this shortcut.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephanief August 24, 2009

Loved LOVED these! AWESOME method! We only seasoned w/salt after cuz i knew my little girl would want some. Thanks for the great breakfast/dinner food!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cass and sam April 10, 2009

Very easy, I made this last night for the unexpected hordes of youngsters who descended on me! I did cube them, and cooked as directed, I could have done to crisp them more but the youngsters were hungry! Delicious! Thanks, Anme!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth December 17, 2008

WOW: all the super-yumminess of panfried potatoes ready in a fraction of the time! I was making potatoes for two and followed Michelle_My_Belle's suggestion of thinly slicing the potatoes instead of cubing them. After heating the butter and oil in step three, I added two cloves of minced garlic (instead of the garlic powder) and I used all the optional herbs as well as rosemary and sage. I also couldn't resist following several earlier reviewers' suggestions of adding some grated cheese - right at the end of the cooking time. Such an easy recipe for even those nights when one arrives home really exhausted. I'll be making these often. Thank you for sharing this recipe, Anme! Made for Chef Alphabet Soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder December 05, 2008

This is so easy. Why didn't I think of it. Very tasty and quick fried potatoes. I used all the optional herbs except the parsley. DH had to have ketchup on the side. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas October 29, 2008

So easy and so good! Really great when you are cooking for two. I doubled it (just two potatoes) and it was a nice amount. Great for dinner or breakfast. A keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tess Cooks October 18, 2008
Fast Microwaved Pan Fried Potatoes