Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fast Hamburger Casserole With a Mexican Twist Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fast Hamburger Casserole With a Mexican Twist

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2011

      I followed this recipe,....well, almost as written. The only changes I made were to use 16 oz. of dry spiral pasta, instead of 10. (had a lot of people to feed), and because of the extra pasta, added an ample cup of medium salsa to the mix. Poured this into a 9x13 glass corningware dish and per some other reviewers suggestions topped this with crushed stale nacho chips I had in the freezer. I covered the dish with foil, baked for 35 min, took the foil off added the remainder of the cheese, and baked for another 10 minutes. The changes weren't major ones, and otherwise, followed the ingredients and cooking method as written. I just took this out of the oven, tasted it, and it's yummy. My 2 taco loving, adult daughters, are going to love this. P.S. I added 2,finely minced Jalepeno peppers, seeds and all to the mixture, and this is really spicey, but that's the way we like it, but beware.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Just made this and we loved it! The only change we made that we felt was neccessary was the addition of crunched up Tortilla chips on top. Definatly added the perfect touch! (I did omit the corn & black olives. I added a little extra sour cream and used 2lbs of hamburger instead of 1.5). Used a 9x13 casserole dish to bake it in.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      I made this for my sons band as they practice at our house every week. For the most part, I followed the recipe but didn't follow the directions as written. I used two pounds of hamburger. I cooked the burger, onions, peppers and garlic all at one time as my onions and peppers were frozen. I then added the taco sauce, one cup of beef broth instead of water and a cup of sour cream. I missed the taco seasoning in the directions earlier so I added it now. I cooked the mixture a few minutes and then added two cups of cheddar cheese. I didn't add any of the optional ingredients. I thought this was tasty but the boys thought it was really good. This was very easy to make with ingredients I normally have on hand.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      I tried this tonight and the family loved it, my 2-year old even took a second helping. I didn't have any taco sauce on hand, so I omitted that and it still came out quite flavorful ... in fact I don't even think it needs the taco sauce. I also added twice the sour cream it calls for, so it would be really creamy - and it was great. I added a can of corn, as suggested and would recommend adding to the recipe. Definitely a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2014

      I needed a fast easy recipe to make a dish to share at a potluck, using things I had on hand. This casserole fit the bill in every way: fast, easy, delicious. Thanks for posting this keeper recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      This is soo good I?ve made it twice now. The second time I was loose with the measurements and it was too soggy. The first time however it was nirvana. Thanks to much for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

      Really delicious Mexican casserole! I used a 12oz. box of pasta twirls and it turned out just great. Thanks for posting. Made for Aussie Recipe Swap June 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      I am a huge fan of quick & easy casserole meals on a busy weeknight and this definitely fit all the requirements! I had all the ingredients on hand (except for the corn) and it turned out great! Dear BF loved it and said it was very good :) Definitely will be in my rotation for dinner. Thank you so very much for posting this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      Big hit in our house! Even my 11-yr old very picky eater ate it up without any complaint. I used a mix of pepper jack and cheddar, left out the olives and jalepenos, and took the suggestion of one of the reviews and sprinkled some crushed Doritos on top. I'm sure I'll make this again! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      This was really tasty! Next time I will add additional taco sauce. Other than that, it was a fast, and easy meal that made plenty of leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      Great way to use up leftovers. I did everything to the letter but, used a 4 cheese bag of Mexican cheeses. Anyone could tweak this to suit their tastes. Thanks for posting this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      Good comfort food. I made several changes, but the casserole still was a hit with the family. I didn't have sour cream or onions, so I substituted French onion chip dip. I had left over macaroni and cheese, and used that instead of the pasta called for in the recipe. My fussy 19-year-old won't eat olives, so I skipped them, and swapped shredded mozzarella for the cheddar. Lastly, because my family was STARVING, I threw everthing together in a skillet and heated it on the stovetop. The casserole was spicy, cheesy, and easy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      I've tried several "taco casseroles" with little sucess. This was wonderful, I now make it all the time. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

    • on September 10, 2008

      This was a terrific weeknight dish that my whole family enjoyed. I went with the cleaning out the fridge theme and added some celery that had seen better days, and a little hunk of Feta cheese that was lonely. I omitted the black olives as I didn't have any, and made it all in one pot. We all enjoyed this easy to put together meal. Thanks Peggy! Made for Aussie Swap :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      I really liked this casserole but my DH and kids just thought it was alright. I guess I get the leftovers to myself, but thats okay by me. Thx for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      This was simple and tasty. I used canned chilis because I didn't have halapenos. I substituted extra sharp grated cheddar cheese to add to the zip. We like sharp flavors. I made enough to freeze a second dish...I love doubling recipes and freezing for a really convenient meal when needed or feeling lazy. I'm going to try baking corn bread on top to give it that extra twist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      This is indeed fast and has a mexican twist. I made the recipe as written and everyone really enjoyed it. I am going with 5 stars because in addition to being inexpensive and yummy, it was EASY as can be. Thanks for the great recipe Peggy! Reviewed for PAC spring 08

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      This was very tasty! A couple details that were missing from the recipe, so I guessed... I used a 9x13 glass dish & mixed the noodles in with everything else before baking. Also, I opted to used 2lbs. of hamburger and didn't have enough taco sauce (only about 3/4 cup) but it didn't seem to matter. I loved how easy this was to throw together! I will make this again! Thanks, Peggy! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      This was fantastic! I only had 1/2 cup sour cream, but with the addition of taco sauce you would never know I was short on sour cream. I didn't add jalapeno's, we're whimps. This was easy, filling and tasty. Thanks so much Peggy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fast Hamburger Casserole With a Mexican Twist

    Serving Size: 1 (312 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 737.3
     
    Calories from Fat 360
    48%
    Total Fat 40.0 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 21.4 g
    106%
    Cholesterol 155.3 mg
    51%
    Sodium 1190.4 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    30%
    Protein 44.9 g
    89%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites