20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I followed this recipe,....well, almost as written. The only changes I made were to use 16 oz. of dry spiral pasta, instead of 10. (had a lot of people to feed), and because of the extra pasta, added an ample cup of medium salsa to the mix. Poured this into a 9x13 glass corningware dish and per some other reviewers suggestions topped this with crushed stale nacho chips I had in the freezer. I covered the dish with foil, baked for 35 min, took the foil off added the remainder of the cheese, and baked for another 10 minutes. The changes weren't major ones, and otherwise, followed the ingredients and cooking method as written. I just took this out of the oven, tasted it, and it's yummy. My 2 taco loving, adult daughters, are going to love this. P.S. I added 2,finely minced Jalepeno peppers, seeds and all to the mixture, and this is really spicey, but that's the way we like it, but beware.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arroz241_11561377 October 26, 2011

Just made this and we loved it! The only change we made that we felt was neccessary was the addition of crunched up Tortilla chips on top. Definatly added the perfect touch! (I did omit the corn & black olives. I added a little extra sour cream and used 2lbs of hamburger instead of 1.5). Used a 9x13 casserole dish to bake it in.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
revcassiewilliams January 17, 2009

I made this for my sons band as they practice at our house every week. For the most part, I followed the recipe but didn't follow the directions as written. I used two pounds of hamburger. I cooked the burger, onions, peppers and garlic all at one time as my onions and peppers were frozen. I then added the taco sauce, one cup of beef broth instead of water and a cup of sour cream. I missed the taco seasoning in the directions earlier so I added it now. I cooked the mixture a few minutes and then added two cups of cheddar cheese. I didn't add any of the optional ingredients. I thought this was tasty but the boys thought it was really good. This was very easy to make with ingredients I normally have on hand.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol August 14, 2008

I tried this tonight and the family loved it, my 2-year old even took a second helping. I didn't have any taco sauce on hand, so I omitted that and it still came out quite flavorful ... in fact I don't even think it needs the taco sauce. I also added twice the sour cream it calls for, so it would be really creamy - and it was great. I added a can of corn, as suggested and would recommend adding to the recipe. Definitely a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reagan's Mama January 08, 2007

I needed a fast easy recipe to make a dish to share at a potluck, using things I had on hand. This casserole fit the bill in every way: fast, easy, delicious. Thanks for posting this keeper recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin mimi August 16, 2014

This is soo good I?ve made it twice now. The second time I was loose with the measurements and it was too soggy. The first time however it was nirvana. Thanks to much for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vsgardner October 15, 2013

Really delicious Mexican casserole! I used a 12oz. box of pasta twirls and it turned out just great. Thanks for posting. Made for Aussie Recipe Swap June 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linguinelisa July 02, 2013

I am a huge fan of quick & easy casserole meals on a busy weeknight and this definitely fit all the requirements! I had all the ingredients on hand (except for the corn) and it turned out great! Dear BF loved it and said it was very good :) Definitely will be in my rotation for dinner. Thank you so very much for posting this delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda Mariko December 11, 2012

Big hit in our house! Even my 11-yr old very picky eater ate it up without any complaint. I used a mix of pepper jack and cheddar, left out the olives and jalepenos, and took the suggestion of one of the reviews and sprinkled some crushed Doritos on top. I'm sure I'll make this again! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie in Greenville March 17, 2011

This was really tasty! Next time I will add additional taco sauce. Other than that, it was a fast, and easy meal that made plenty of leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookie Princess February 14, 2011
Fast Hamburger Casserole With a Mexican Twist