16 Reviews

I was very unsure about this, but thought I would give it a try. It was amazing! I used the Rotel with cilantro, and I loved it. I sent some to my bf's work today for a coworker that I always send food for, and have already passed on the recipe to 3 friends! Thanks for the quick and great recipe, I will be making this a lot! Also, forgot to mention, I didn't drain the corn or beans, just threw it all in, juice and all.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meg. July 10, 2009

Very tasty, I added 2 cans rotel and 1 can beans, plus 1/2 tsp each of cumin and oregano for more flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Borealis Beegirl January 31, 2008

Should have read the recent reviews before making instead of just looking at the number of stars. If I had read the reviews, I would have known that most of the people who gave it a high rating altered the recipe. I made it following the original recipe and we were disappointed with the result. It really didn't have enough liquid to be considered a soup. It was ok, but kind of bland. More like a starting point for a great recipe than a delicious recipe all on it's own.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom November 04, 2015

This is very similar to my taco soup recipe...but I didn't have any taco seasoning packets so I tried this. I took some other suggestions and added black olives. I added 3 cans of tomatoes (w/chipolte; garlic; stewed) only 1 can of kidney beans so added 1 garbanzo beans (sad cuz I love black beans...which is why I was out) and then seasonings that I could find (garlic, cumin, etc). Had some meat to be used up so made some meatballs and threw in. It was the hit of the after sledding soup party! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazy2day January 02, 2010

WOW! I now have a go to when I am in a hurry. I went out to my pantry and grabbed ingredients, put them in the pot and let them simmer for about 45 minutes. I also added a can of chicken broth, and cilantro. In addition I added some italian seasoning, pepper, a dash of tabasco, garlic powder, cumin and a can of white meat chicken. I had to leave out the corn because I didn't have any, so I substituted a can of black olives. It was delicious and my kids and DH loved it! Thanks for this great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sconehead December 14, 2009

I think this is the fastest soup recipe that I have ever made. I added a can of chicken broth to make it a little more soupy. I also added some shredded chicken because I needed to use up a leftover chicken leg quarter that I had made a couple of days ago. I threw in a little cumin and cilantro and topped it all off with some shredded cheddar cheese. I was all out of sour cream, but that would have been a tasty addition to this soup. I also crumbled some crushed tortilla chips into the soup. Yummy! I will be making this often whenever I have some leftover chicken that needs to be used up. Thanks for another great recipe, mama! Made for January, 2009 Bevy Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 January 14, 2009

I agree this is pretty good. If your in a hurry this certainly will do the job. My children complained that there was no meat in it. So I went rummaging thru the fridge and found some leftover chicken. I added that a quart of tomato juice and chili beans with sauce, some chili powder and some others and now they are happy. Thanks for the recipe it was very good. Made for bevy tag nov 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barefootmommawv November 19, 2008

Life doesn't get any easier than this! Perfect for a last minute meal when you know you shouldn't go out for another fast food run. Very tasty with lots of creative opportunities. I added a half cup of home made chicken broth to make it a bit more soupish. Made this for the 2008 August Bevy Tag...Beat the Heat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cucina Casalingo August 27, 2008

Delish! Wow - this is as fast and easy as it gets. Even my grandson loved this. I used a can of corn with red and green peppers which blended nicely with the other veggies. To the leftovers, I added a little bit of minced jalapenos for a bit more of a kick. Thanks Hope for a great and simple recipe. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme June 10, 2008

This has to be the fastest soup I have ever made and it is a really fast way to feed your family a healthy meal. It is packed with goodness from all the veggies and the beans. I don't think we have rotel tomatoes over here. So, I used two cans of chopped tomatoes that had onions added and then I chopped up a green chilli and added it myself. Then I added a bit of cumin just to lift it up a bit. I think this is a really good base that could be adapted in many ways.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne April 01, 2008
Fast Fiesta Soup