Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fast Fast Fast Soda Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fast Fast Fast Soda Bread

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2009

      This is a supper-saver! We enjoy this using only white flour and I've used blended cottage cheese in place of the buttermilk (1 1/2 cups, no vinegar or lemon juice). I make this often. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      I needed something in a hurry to serve with Stuffed Cabbage Soup (#51150) and with the cookbook search being down I couldn't find my usual go-to soda bread. I have to say that this isn't the best quick soda bread I've ever had (which could be partially my fault, as I used 1 1/2 cups each of whole wheat and white flour) but still it's pretty good, and worked a treat in a pinch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2012

      Quick, easy and delicious! DH loved this bread. I added a 1/2 t. of kosher salt, used all white flour and Anemone's tip of using cottage cheese. I didn't blend it and only used a 1/2 C. and a cup of milk with the added vinegar. Worked like a charm. I was worried it might be too hard after taking it out of the oven so I brushed it with melted butter. So delicious with our chicken noodle soup. Thanks for posting the recipe, I'll be making this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2012

      lacks salt

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Really great bread and super quick! Both hubby and I loved this! Couple small additions... I added about 1/2 cup of white sugar and about 2/3 of a cup or so of chopped dates. This turned out great! It went very nicely w/ our pot roast dinner tonight - a nice substantial bread that was quick to make w/ ingredients I usually have on hand - I love it!! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      I had to make 20 loaves of bread in a hurry. I chose to make soda bread because it's fast and this recipe is the one I picked. I made it in batches of 4 and ended up with the most beautiful looking loaves. i was absolutely thrilled with the outcome. I will be making this again and not just for crowds but for my family too. Thank you sooo much for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Here in Aus we call this damper ;-) But it is an awsome damper!!! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      Hey Ladypit, I didn't realize this was your recipe until just now! It was great! I thawed spagetti sauce for a quick dinner and realized I had no bread (and no time). Found your recipe and had beautiful bread in no time. I did add a little salt, garlic and parmesian cheese (sorry) so not perfectly authentic, but it sure was good. I think it will be wonderful toasted in the morning! Thanks so much Cheri

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      Easy. I made it with soy milk and vinegar. Of course, I have had better tasting bread. However, for the time it takes to make, this bread it definately worth making.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2007

      i made this today and the kids just loved it. I liked it and probably will make it again. I didnt use any whole weat flour though and i used milk with the viniger. it turned out pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      Oh Miss Ladypit, I hate to give a poor rating to this bread, given the other ratings, other people do like it, but I am afraid it doesnt suit our tastes. I was very excited to try this, but it turned out not like I had hoped. I used the version with the skim milk, and lemon juice, and maybe that is part of the problem. I do think I will try it again with real buttermilk, but it might be a while before I do this. My daughter kept saying it tasted like fish to her, and to me it smelled like cornbread. It was also yellow, which I was surprised by because I didnt think that the lemon juice could have added that much coloring to it..... I am sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      Wonderful! Amazing! Superb! What else can I say? This bread came together really nicely. Then it baked up beautifully! I used all white flour as my finace doesn't like whole wheat anything. I don't think it detracted from this bread though! I used real buttermilk as it was a good price at the store. ;) We all decided that we want to try it a little flatter next time. That way there will be more crust! And the crust on this bread is so fantastic! Thank you so much for this great keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2005

      The proportions were just right to make bread with a hearty crust and a tender interior with almost a cakelike texture. So the chemistry of the soured milk worked fine. It didn't add the same flavor that buttermilk does, though, and the ingredients here are so simple that it didn't have enough tang to help camoflage the taste of the baking soda. I plan to try this again with buttermilk or with watered-down yogurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2005

      This bread was very easy to make and had a great texture. I added some herb-salt to it for an interesting flavor, and baked it in a loaf pan. It was delicious with butter and spaghetti sauce. This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2004

      This was a very good, simple bread. I used 1% milk with cider vinegar, and it worked fine. I think next time I might put a pinch of honey in, but that is my preference. It was extremely simple to make, which I always appreciate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2004

      This bread lived up to the description in the header. Very easy to put together and cooked in exactly 40 minutes. I always use buttermilk powder and water instead of having the fat-free buttermilk on hand. Works well when baking. It is a nice hearty bread. Something I plan to do again. Thanks ladypit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fast Fast Fast Soda Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 147.2
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    72%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 181.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fat-free buttermilk

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites