13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful bread. I also made cinnamon raisin bread by using this same recipe and adding 1/2 cup of raisins and 1 T. of cinnamon. Thank you for this quick wonderful treat.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sosocook January 06, 2010

Im not in the habit of rating another chefs favorite recipe, but in this case I had to make an exception. Have made 3 loaves in 3 days, with all white bread flour and also mixture of wheat. All came out better than any other bread machine recipe.

One caution. Your bread machine may take more than 55 minutes. Don't worry it will still be great homemade bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef taught bt Grandama's October 23, 2011

this bread was a snap-and sooo goood! will make again (and probably again, and again....) thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tngpm March 27, 2010

Bread was easy to make and took about an hour to cook. It did rise to the top of my bread macine (2lb) but the bread was too sweet to the taste. It's say's 4 tablespoons of sugar, I wounder if it should of been 4 teaspoons?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gary H. January 20, 2014

needed a good, quick, delicious recipe to go with a few Italian dishes. Added some Italian herbs to this and it was just a good as I thought it would be. I will use it often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Olha D. January 05, 2014

Just made my first white bread. It turned out light and fluffy, a big difference from the heavier grain breads I have been making. I will make this again for sure.This made 10 slices that were perfect right out of the maker with butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aday54 March 06, 2012

This was a perfect quick bread! I had forgotten to make bread earlier, and all of my fast bread recipes that came with my machine take an insane amount of yeast and make 2lb loafs, so I found this recipe and gave it a try! It was perfect! I'll definitely keep this recipe handy! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmr1120 June 02, 2009

This is a wonderful, quick bread recipe. I've already made it three times and used different variations, once made it with all All-purpose flour, once with 2 cups AP and 1cup whole wheat, once with 2 cups WW and 1 cup AP, all turned out equally delicious. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveToBake67 March 07, 2009

WOW! Used my bread machine on rapid bake - done in 59 min! I put about 3 TBS gluten in the bottom of a cup measure and filled the rest with whole wheat. I reduced the sugar to 2 TBS. I was roasting a turkey, had forgotten to start bread and knew I would really want bread for turkey sandwiches tomorrow lunch. - This is light, soft, high rising and delicious fast bread. Hope there is some left for tomorrow's lunch. May have to hide the rest from the husband.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wickedgood@Maine January 24, 2009
Fast Bake White Bread (Bread Machine)