32 Reviews

I know this recipe as Impossible Pie and it is my absolute favorite - no holiday would be complete without it. It truly does make it's own crust and this custard always comes out just right - never watery.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl November 12, 2003

Pretty darned good. Came out a lot flatter than some of the photos, but I'm thinking my pie pan was a little small. I filled it to capacity (and then some) and it almost spilled over in the over. I did, however, use up the leftover mix that wouldn't fit into the pan and microwaved it as I've read others have done. THAT WAS AMAZING! Next time will not be so impatient (and greedy) and use a larger pie plate. Been trying for decades to get this kind of a crust for custard pie, using a regular pie crust...duh. Too easy. Next time will make plain custard w/o the coconut for my mom who can't have coconut. Thank you so much for this recipeUPDATE - made this again but used hand mixer instead of blender, and it came out more separated, like quiche as others stated. Made again with the blender, no problem. Perhaps the blender mixes or emulsifies things better? Hope this helps

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gretchin' January 12, 2013

Wonderful! This was really yummy and so easy to make! One thing I want to comment on regarding the review about the crust being a doughy mess. When I was reading the recipe and got to the part about dusting the pie pan with flour, I very nearly interpreted that as using the 1/2 cup of flour in the ingredients list. But it's a separate dusting of flour, and then the 1/2 cup goes in the blender. I wonder if that's what went wrong! Another thing; the first time I was so eager to eat the pie (it smelled so good!) that I pulled it out when the custard was done. But the crust was still pretty soft. The next time I made it, I put it on the second lowest rack in the oven and let it cook for the full hour. That did the trick. The crust is still soft - you can't expect a regular pie crust - but you just can't beat the simplicity of it. Oh, and the second time I made it, I put in an 8 oz. can of tidbit pineapple (well drained) and reduced the coconut to 3/4 cup. MMMMM!! Thank you for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMama October 13, 2009

Tasted like coconut quiche instead of custard. I came back to the recipe to see if I had forgotten to write down some sort of sweetener, but there is none listed. I don't eat very sweet foods, but this could have benefitted from even just 1 teaspoon of sugar. Very eggy and buttery. I will be the only one who will eat this. Sorry to be negative.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizdg63 February 05, 2004

at this moment, my pie is cooking in the oven, however, i did have about a cup and a half of filling leftover that wouldn't fit into the pie plate... i stuck it in a mug and put it in the microwave for a minute and a half (my microwave is very hot) and it came out perfectly cooked and delicious!!! nice little treat while i'm waiting for the pie to cook!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindseyloo222 February 28, 2009

This was awesome. Loved it!!!!!!! I followed the recipe per instructions...this is a keeper. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raspberry lemonade December 23, 2008

Excellent pie!!! So easy to make, it's a breeze. I used whole milk instead of skim milk. This is a keeper in my recipe files!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen V. February 10, 2016

This dessert is beautiful in appearance with a wonderful pie crust like shell, but taste wise it turned out very bland. I expected more sweetness. Also the filling was not custard in texture but more like a "Budin" ( a Spanish dessert made with old bread that has a fruit cake type of center but softer) I did made a change to the recipe since we have our own coconuts growing in our property. I substituted the sweet coconut flakes for fresh coconut shavings, but to compensate for the lack of sugar in the natural coconut I added more sugar, so this shouldn't have been as dull in flavor. I followed all instructions in the recipe with the above exception.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EarthFoodie November 27, 2015

I didn't like it. I thought it was too eggy and the crust wasn't very "crust-like." I give it three stars because my (very picky) children gobbled it up, saying it was the best pie ever.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggi Lynn June 11, 2015

Pie was exactly as described. Didn't need a crust it made its own. I made it exactly as followed except I used 2% milk, I did also add 1/2 a teaspoon of imitation coconut but it did not need it. I've noticed shredded sweet coconut and flaked to be about the same. I was able to get all of it in the pan and cooked it the full hour. (When a knife inserted in the center comes out the top). Would make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hailey W. January 05, 2015
Fast and Easy Coconut Custard Pie