Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fast and Easy Coconut Custard Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fast and Easy Coconut Custard Pie

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2003

      I know this recipe as Impossible Pie and it is my absolute favorite - no holiday would be complete without it. It truly does make it's own crust and this custard always comes out just right - never watery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      Pretty darned good. Came out a lot flatter than some of the photos, but I'm thinking my pie pan was a little small. I filled it to capacity (and then some) and it almost spilled over in the over. I did, however, use up the leftover mix that wouldn't fit into the pan and microwaved it as I've read others have done. THAT WAS AMAZING! Next time will not be so impatient (and greedy) and use a larger pie plate. Been trying for decades to get this kind of a crust for custard pie, using a regular pie crust...duh. Too easy. Next time will make plain custard w/o the coconut for my mom who can't have coconut. Thank you so much for this recipeUPDATE - made this again but used hand mixer instead of blender, and it came out more separated, like quiche as others stated. Made again with the blender, no problem. Perhaps the blender mixes or emulsifies things better? Hope this helps

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      at this moment, my pie is cooking in the oven, however, i did have about a cup and a half of filling leftover that wouldn't fit into the pie plate... i stuck it in a mug and put it in the microwave for a minute and a half (my microwave is very hot) and it came out perfectly cooked and delicious!!! nice little treat while i'm waiting for the pie to cook!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2004

      Tasted like coconut quiche instead of custard. I came back to the recipe to see if I had forgotten to write down some sort of sweetener, but there is none listed. I don't eat very sweet foods, but this could have benefitted from even just 1 teaspoon of sugar. Very eggy and buttery. I will be the only one who will eat this. Sorry to be negative.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      Toooo oily. Too wet. Good flavor. Would be better using no butter and using half and half for the milk. Very eggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2013

      Great recipe! Followed exactly and came out perfect. I added a bottom pre-cooked crust. I pricked the crust before baking and let it shrink half way down the side then poured the custard in and baked it. Came out awesome! So glad I found it. Just made it tonight and only 2 slices left. :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      Hands down this is the best coconut custard pie I've ever eaten. I love the fact that it's quick, easy and thrifty. I had all the ingredients in my pantry and used whole milk instead of skim. I too cooked the leftover liquid that didn't fit in the pie plate in the microwave for a minute for a quick and tasty treat while waiting for the pie to cook. I will be sure to make this pie again and again as it was a big hit with my family. Thanks ladypit

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2012

      Tasted more like an omelet with sugar. Not "custardy" as I had anticipated. Felt it was too greasy with all that butter. Very disappointing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      Wow, what a hit! So good that my non-baking friend asked to borrow my pie plate and the recipe!
      Lucky for her, it's as easy as it is tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      OMG Ladies, simply brown your crust. Get a store bought crust or your choice put a few beans at the bottom if you prefer for weights (toss when finished) as it may bubble a little and cover the edges with thin strips of foil. Just the edges, no it wont fit perfectly but it is necessary so the edges wont overcook because remember you still have to bake the pie so this browning process isn't extremely long, maybe 15min. or a bit longer but not too long, set your timer so you wont over do it to 10min. & gage it from there. Allow it to cool a few min. the foil needs to remain on the edges during the baking process as well or simply replace them if they fall off then bake your pie. 10min before the pie is ready check your crust if you need to remove the foil if it still isn't brown enough but I doubt you will have that issue, leave it on. This is the way my grandmother taught me to bake all pies to ensure you don't end up with a messy crust or burnt edges... ENJOY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      This coconut custard pie really is fast and easy! Not to mention, delicious! I made the recipe exactly as written. I ate my piece warm with whipped cream. Took a piece over to my parents and they loved it as well. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Wonderful! This was really yummy and so easy to make! One thing I want to comment on regarding the review about the crust being a doughy mess. When I was reading the recipe and got to the part about dusting the pie pan with flour, I very nearly interpreted that as using the 1/2 cup of flour in the ingredients list. But it's a separate dusting of flour, and then the 1/2 cup goes in the blender. I wonder if that's what went wrong! Another thing; the first time I was so eager to eat the pie (it smelled so good!) that I pulled it out when the custard was done. But the crust was still pretty soft. The next time I made it, I put it on the second lowest rack in the oven and let it cook for the full hour. That did the trick. The crust is still soft - you can't expect a regular pie crust - but you just can't beat the simplicity of it. Oh, and the second time I made it, I put in an 8 oz. can of tidbit pineapple (well drained) and reduced the coconut to 3/4 cup. MMMMM!! Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      Just finished making this pie and it is fantastic! Not only is it a budget friendly recipe, it tastes great too! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      This was awesome. Loved it!!!!!!! I followed the recipe per instructions...this is a keeper. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      I made this pie exactly the way it was written. The bottom crust did not cook, so it was a doughy mess. The custard was very thin and the top was too brown. All in all, not a very good pie. I think I will stick with the regular version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      Wow!! That is my next "Party" pie....so easy and wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      I love coconut pie and when there is no crust it's even better. Less work and less fat I presume LOL I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and it was perfect. I love it. Thanks Ladypit. Made for Cookbook tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      I dont really care for custard but this was pretty good. The no crust is great for me because I make horrible pie crusts! I did use the skim milk and think that is what I will stick with. UPDATE: My mom loves this pie and I have made it several times for her. She now makes it for herself too since I printed the recipe for her.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      We loved it, some other reviews say its also known as Impossible Pie. Well, the immpossible pies I have had were OVERLY sweet. If you like a little bit of sweet with a custard consistency, this is it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      I was really impressed with how this turned out - all I did was mix seven ingredients in the blender! My husband really wanted to know how I made the top crust and I honestly don't know the answer. Thank you for a great recipe for my afternoon sweet tooth!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fast and Easy Coconut Custard Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.0
     
    Calories from Fat 138
    46%
    Total Fat 15.3 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 117.1 mg
    39%
    Sodium 178.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 23.9 g
    95%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites