18 Reviews

WOW! Super easy, super delicious and no clean-up! I popped my own popcorn and used 2/3 cup of kernels as that's what fits in our popper. I also added 1/8 t kosher salt to the syrup. I'll never make caramel corn the old way again. Thanks so much for a true keeper Ultima Mommy. Made for the I recommend tag game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup January 10, 2008

Delicious! Easy! I made a couple minor modifications. I use butter. 2/3 of cup unpopped popcorn, added a pinch of salt and a dash of vanilla extract prior to adding baking soda. I also opted to place popped corn in a large bowl rather than a paper bag as I've read that paper bags are not food safe and can ignite. My kids love it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fitchefsusie May 14, 2013

Can I give this 10 stars please?? So easy, and such a hit. We only had butter, so used that, and it was so delicious! We used a grocery bag, and it worked perfectly, then spread it out on 2 cookie sheets to cool, and it was crunchy and perfect (ours wasn't chewy at all)! We may add some peanuts at the cooling stage next time. You definitely want to use something to toss the popcorn and caramel that is disposable...it becomes a gooey sticky mess! I almost used a tupperware, and I'm glad I didn't. This will be requested for many future events! (Note: I have found it works better to make this in 1/2 batches, so the corn has more room in the bag to shake around. The initial cooking time is more like 3-4 minutes though otherwise it starts to taste burned with the smaller amount cooking).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jswinks February 12, 2012

Wanted something sweet and super simple, with next to no ingredients and this fit the bill! I can't believe HOW quick and easy it was to make! I added 1tsp Vanilla and made the ooey gooey mixture in a saucepan on the stove - took just a few minutes to melt and mix to the popcorn. Didn't have a brown paper bag so we used an empty cereal box - worked like a charm! The taste is sorta like a popcorn ball. I will definitely be making this more often. I love that it utilized microwave popcorn bags rather than a certain by-cup/quart measurement. SIMPLE!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momofweethree January 23, 2011

Amazing! I used butter. I didn't have corn syrup, so I used maple syrup (the kind that's corn syrup anyway). I was still short on that, so I added a tblsp of real maple syrup to get the full amount . Added a little butter, caramel, and vanilla flavoring with the baking soda, and a cup of peanuts to the popcorn. Also, didn't have a bag of any kind, mixed it all in a glass baking dish, and that worked out fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 26, 2015

Absolutely delicious. ***TIP: separate the un-popped seeds from the popped corn before pouring the caramel sauce! I was so excited to make and eat this that I didn't even think of it so my first batch was hard on the teeth! Also I found that using a large bowl is more effective than trying to mix it in a bag. So tasty though & unbelievably easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nlopes83 April 27, 2015

This was so simple and delicious! I was in a hurry and needed caramel corn - STAT! So, I used two bags of microwave popcorn, added a pinch of seasalt and 1/2 tsp of vanilla to the caramel. Also, I melted some chocolate, snipped the tip off of a sandwich bag and drizzled fine chocolate stripes over the cooling corn once I spread it onto a baking sheet. This was my first every caramel corn and it was delicious and perfect. This recipe is wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jade L. April 01, 2015

I wish I could give this more than a 5 star rating, it's amazing! I used pop secret "homestyle" popcorn and butter instead of margarine and it was the best caramel corn I think I've ever had! I had never made caramel corn before, and this recipe was a breeze!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQSooner February 08, 2015

This was a SUPER recipe!!! Great for quick gift giving. I followed added 1/2 tsp of vanilla and used plain old fashioned kernel popcorn, but popped in microwave. So, there was no salt or butter or other additives in it. I did add some salt to the popcorn once I dropped it in the grocery sized brown bag. I sampled some myself (couldn't give it as a gift if I wasn't sure it was good, LOL!). I hope my mail carrier and trash & recycle guys like it!!! Kids are begging me to make some more. I absolutely will, it is soooo easy to do and takes really no time at all. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julie.b December 20, 2012

This is a winner! I halved the recipe used butter instead of margerine. Our microwave seems to run hot so next time I'll cook the caramel 3 mins and put the tossed popcorn back in for only 30 seconds. This recipe will make our movie nights even more fun. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview January 27, 2012
Fast and Easy Caramel Popcorn