Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Farro, Apple and Pecan Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Farro, Apple and Pecan Salad

    Average Rating:

    6 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-6 of 6

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2009

      Great combo of flavors. My Farro was cooked perfectly after only 15 minutes. . .first time using Farro and I love it. I added the pears (uncooked) at the end in addition to the apple and I highly recommend using both. I used sweet yellow onion in place of the red onion for a more mellow onion flavor. Next time I will leave out the oil and vinegar and serve it warm as a side dish which I am SURE would be 5 stars!!! My mind is racing with other versions of this recipe already! Thanks for posting! Made for Veg*n Swap Dec 2009.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2012

      This is a very nice and hearty fall salad. I added chopped dried cranberries to add a little sweetness and did not sautee the apples. I would have added some feta cheese if I had any on hand. This could be easily adapted with whatever ingredients you have on hand. Sunflower seeds, walnuts or pine nuts could be used in place of the pecans. Shallots or green onions could be used in place of the red onion. Dried cherries or apricots would also be nice additions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      Excellent!!! This is only the second time I've had farro and I think I'm in love. I loved everything about this version....the apples, pecans, thyme (I used dried), red onions and of course the farro. The combinations were perfect and flavorful. I loved the sauteed red onions but next time will leave my apples raw. My farro was tender and ready with about 15 minutes of cook time. Thank you for posting this Whole Foods recipe. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      Hello, farro! Where have you been all my life?!? This was my first foray into farro and it was truly fantastic! Like other reviewers, I chose to serve this room temp/warm instead of chilled and it was so very yummy and gobbled by all ages. I used one T of oil to saute the onions/apples, then completely forgot to add more and it still turned out fine. I also used walnuts instead of pecans, and slightly fewer since I was emptying a bag that needed to be finished. I would like to try the options other reviewers have mentioned (goat cheese, pears, etc.) but as written this is still a wonderful dish! Thank you so much for a recipe that left my 3 year old saying "mommy, I love farro!" :) Made for Veg Swap Sept 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      Loved it! I didn't have apple cider vinegar so I used seasoned rice vinegar. Also added a handful of dried cranberries to the apple saute. Was really good. Tasty way to get your whole grains. Kept it warm and served with roasted chicken. Delightful! Will try with goat cheese next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      Oh wow, this salad is amazing! LOVED it! The flavours of the tangy onion with the sweet apple, the nutty farro and pecans with just a hint of vinegar (I used a little less than called for) and thyme is sooo good! Mmmm! I will certainly make this salad again and plan on honey-roasting my pecans next time. Maybe some goats cheese would be a nice addition as well. There are so many possibilites with this lovely salad.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing another keeper with us, partner.
      Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap February 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Farro, Apple and Pecan Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (57 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 149.0
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    85%
    Total Fat 14.1 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cracked farro

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites