Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Farmhouse Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Farmhouse Bread

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 22, 2010

      great recipe! I did half the recipe, the whole wheat version, and replaced the shortening with olive oil. I also just added a pinch of sugar rather than 1/8 c. I do think I would lower the salt next time as well. Just a personal preference, but I felt it is a bit salty. thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      Made the whole wheat version - it was really great bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      This is the first yeast bread I have ever been successful with! If I can do it anyone can. Be sure to grease your loaf pan before baking. It is not written in the recipe but sure does help!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Absolutely MARVELOUS! I cut the recipe in half and worked out well. Tonight I made my 2 loaves again, this time I used just 1 cup water and 2/3 cup soy milk...MUUUCCCHHHHH better; so light and fluffy! A definite winner in my home. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      The only problem with this recipe is that my husband complians if I buy store bought bread! I let it rise twice before putting it in loaf pans, I also cut the salt in half. it was great texture a wonderful all-purpose bread, even for pb&j!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      Delicious and easy! My family loved this bread. My son asked if I put a secret ingredient in it to make it taste so good! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      I tried the wheat version of this recipe yesterday. It's gotten rave reviews from friends and family I fed it to. Delicious! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2005

      Very nice homestyle bread, light and soft inside with a lovely golden crust. Thanks for posting this Tammie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2005

      Very good basic bread. I made the whole-wheat version, and it turned out great. I was glad to find a recipe that yielded more than one loaf of bread. You get four loaves of bread for pretty much the same amount of work that it would take for a single loaf. The recipe is very easy to follow. I did substitute Smart Balance for the shortening, and the bread still turned out great. I'll definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Farmhouse Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (2454 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1366.1
     
    Calories from Fat 201
    14%
    Total Fat 22.4 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3501.3 mg
    145%
    Total Carbohydrate 252.3 g
    84%
    Dietary Fiber 9.1 g
    36%
    Sugars 13.3 g
    53%
    Protein 33.6 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites