9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

great recipe! I did half the recipe, the whole wheat version, and replaced the shortening with olive oil. I also just added a pinch of sugar rather than 1/8 c. I do think I would lower the salt next time as well. Just a personal preference, but I felt it is a bit salty. thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GertieGirl April 22, 2010

Made the whole wheat version - it was really great bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen March 27, 2010

This is the first yeast bread I have ever been successful with! If I can do it anyone can. Be sure to grease your loaf pan before baking. It is not written in the recipe but sure does help!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbrandy February 13, 2008

Absolutely MARVELOUS! I cut the recipe in half and worked out well. Tonight I made my 2 loaves again, this time I used just 1 cup water and 2/3 cup soy milk...MUUUCCCHHHHH better; so light and fluffy! A definite winner in my home. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan Rainer February 12, 2008

The only problem with this recipe is that my husband complians if I buy store bought bread! I let it rise twice before putting it in loaf pans, I also cut the salt in half. it was great texture a wonderful all-purpose bread, even for pb&j!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twinkie456 September 18, 2007

Delicious and easy! My family loved this bread. My son asked if I put a secret ingredient in it to make it taste so good! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah04 October 15, 2006

I tried the wheat version of this recipe yesterday. It's gotten rave reviews from friends and family I fed it to. Delicious! :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samiam1972 February 01, 2006

Very nice homestyle bread, light and soft inside with a lovely golden crust. Thanks for posting this Tammie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Pixie* December 15, 2005

Very good basic bread. I made the whole-wheat version, and it turned out great. I was glad to find a recipe that yielded more than one loaf of bread. You get four loaves of bread for pretty much the same amount of work that it would take for a single loaf. The recipe is very easy to follow. I did substitute Smart Balance for the shortening, and the bread still turned out great. I'll definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen November 18, 2005
Farmhouse Bread