Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Farmhand Flax Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Farmhand Flax Cookies

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 09, 2010

      I LOVE THESE COOKIES! I was a bit skeptical... considering I never like cookies unless they are riddled with chocolate, but these really were great! I ground the flax, and used whole wheat flour. Added a few sliced almonds as well as a bit of almond extract. I only made 1/3 of the recipe this time, thinking 108 cookies would be too many. That was definetly a mistake and next time I will make much more to freeze. Thanks Leslie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      I finally got around to making these, and DH and I just love them. Think when I bake the other half of the dough I will press an English walnut half into each one before baking as I am confident the flavors will meld well and still be healthy. I coarsely ground the flax seeds. Thanks, Leslie O!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      Surprisingly delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      Absolutely Great. Really easy and delicious. There was a TON of dough left over so i just rolled them into three logs and put them in the freeze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      So good! I cut the recipe quite a bit to make only 36 cookies. These are very good and I'll definity make them again. They could use somthing to give them a little spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2005

      Made these last night instead of dinner since no one wanted to eat! I used my small cookie scoop and made 5 1/2 dozen cookies. They turned out the right size for my crowd. I did need to add a little sprinkle of water to make them hold together a little better. The family loves them the way they are but I think I would decrease the sugar a little or just use use brown sugar to keep them soft. I did use the golden flax and they look just beautiful! Thank you for a great recipe Leslie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2005

      I also made 1/3 of the recipe as well as used wholewheat flour. I found the dough crumbled when I tried to cut 1/4" slices so I just rolled it out and cut it diagonally to form diamond shapes - it yielded almost 4 dozen cookies! Might use a little cinnamon next time! Crisp and nutty - a wonderful "healthy" cookie. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2004

      I made only 1/3 of the recipe (36 cookies) because 108 cookies is just a few too many for only BF and me! These are really tasty- they're crisp and have lots of flax flavor, which gives them an almost cracker-like feel. Like Steve_G said- a nice nutty flavor. I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose, substitued Sucanat for the white sugar and used golden flax seeds. I made 2 rolls and have 2 more in the freezer for future use. Thanks for a tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2004

      These cookies are delicious! I make them for my family and to take into work at least once a month. People start asking I\'ll be making more if I don\'t make them often enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2003

      I originally tried this recipe after my doctor recommended adding flaxseed to my son’s diet. My kids (aged 1 ½ and 4) and my husband all love the cookies. It’s difficult to keep them in the cookie jar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2002

      The flax gives the cookies a great nutty flavor. I cut the cookie logs into about 1/4" thick slices (step 8) and it seemed to workout fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Farmhand Flax Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (2069 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 83.5
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    44%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 11.8 mg
    3%
    Sodium 55.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes