21 Reviews

We absolutely loved this recipe. I added a lot more cajun seasoning than the recipe called for but that's the way we like our food. DH wanted the chops very brown, but unfortunately when you do that it overcooks the chops after baking it in the oven. I'll have to change up the cooking process a bit in order not to overcook the chops. I only used 4 chops and had leftover potatoes but we just served the potatoes as a side dish for the next two meals. I will probably add some minced garlic to the potatoes next time. But all in all an excellent dish.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luby Luby Luby October 14, 2012

Good quick homey food. I microwaved the spuds for 10 min. so that I didn't have to bake the chops so long. Mine are generally done in 30 min. I also scaled the recipe back for 2 as it was just us two for dinner. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama January 06, 2009

Marvelous way to do pork chops. Dh particularly loved the potato's. I took Lori mama's lead and put the potato's in about 15 mins before the chops (mine are about 3/4" thick). It all came out very well, the spuds were tender and the chops cooked but still moist. I used smoked paprika as the Mr. isn't a spice lover. Pure comfort food at it's best.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia January 11, 2013

The sauce should be a little creamier. Next time ill add cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wrightmc October 17, 2012

Great dish and very clear instructions - thank you. I made half of the recipe and there was a good portion for each of the 4 of us. Another nice thing about this is that it works great with 1% milk for the white sauce! Really nice, flavourful dish for this cool fall night! We enjoyed this with a salad. Made for Went To The Market tag game. Thanks LifeIsGood! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif October 14, 2012

Wonderful just be careful not to over cook the pork!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaKroll September 11, 2012

What a yummy meal- we really enjoyed this recipe. The pork chops were perfectly cooked, and the potatoes were so delicious- 5 stars for flavor! However... as with pretty much all Paula Deen recipes, it will have to go in the occasional comfort food category. I wasn't crazy about the pools of grease on top of the potatoes from the pork chops. I'm going to make this again and try to lighten it up with chicken breasts and skim milk for the white sauce. Also will use this recipe for just the potatoes as a great side dish. Thanks for a keeper recipe, LifeIsGood!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzTheQ September 11, 2011

I first made this recipe on August 28th.,2007.And I have to tell you, it is just as good now as it was then.As I did then, the recipe was cut back to just serve two.
Here is my original review:
First I must say that I'm very pleased to be the very first one to review this wonderful recipe.Second,since there was only my SO and I,the recipe was scaled down to feed just us.I cut out the step to cover the sliced potatoes with cold water,I just peeled,sliced and placed them into a baking dish that was sprayed with butter-flavored cooking spray.I used a very small vidalia onion,thinly sliced and seperated into rings and placed over the potatoes.I really didn't know what to do with the remaining amount seasoning salt after cut the recipe down, so I just sprinkled it over the chops as I was browning them.Since I had cut the recipe down,I finished baking them for about 30 minutes and that seemed like the perfect amount of time.Served with Buttery Bread Machine Rolls and peas & carrots,made a perfect "comfort meal".This will be a definite repeat at our home.Thank you for posting and "Keep Smiling :)"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � July 29, 2011

This one is a keeper. The chops were tender and the potatoes were soooo goood!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazz Lover December 29, 2010

This was a big hit with my family! I can see making just the potatoes for a great side. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Moon July 23, 2010
Farmer's Pork Chops